We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel among tea & rice field”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hang Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel among tea & rice field”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

If your holiday target is planned to stay closed to nature, this is the exactly right place to be chosen. This hotel's size is medium, most rooms are closed to nature, you can see rice & tea field from your room. The landscape and garden is nice, but it 's far from center of town ( just say to take about half an hour to reach town). Good place to take time for relaxation and clean air. Nice - decorated room with qualified cleanliness Not good for city-life lovers. Let say layout is good-designed and good place to take photos around there

Room Tip: Should choose rooms with rice or tea field view, it will give feeling of sleeping with the nature
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yimyaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review on Tripadvisor. All your comments is valuable for us and its to be development procedures onward. We looking forward to welcoming you back again.


Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    285
    81
    27
    15
See reviews for
218
423
32
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Location
It's about 20 mins away from the city and up on the hill so one better first spend 1-2 days downtown before staying at this hotel as it will save you the travelling time. The other fact is once you check-in, you probably don't want to get out until you really check-out.

Room
Excellent view. Spacious room. Big bathtub but personally don't really like bathtub in black, it makes me feel like soaking in a coffin. And that's why i didn't use it which is quite rare in Thai.

Eat
Breakfast venue is excellent with a huge variety of food options. If you sit outside you will enjoy a nice swimming pool and warm lovely breeze. The waffle is excellent.
Been to another hotel restaurant for dinner. It was just great with a nice combination of Thai and other lovely cusine. Price is so reasonable that we almost forgot we were actually in a resort hotel.

Service
Very smooth check-in. The welcome drink saved our lives in particular we had just finished a tiring city bike ride in the monring. Both front desk and restaurant staff are very friendly with fluent english and attentive to details service attitude.

Facilities
The swimming pool is nice. Unfortunately we don't have enough time to relax and enjoy it.

General
It's a resort that you should spend more time to relax, from swimming, spa, sit back for a tea, to just sleep.

Comment
Understand lizard is good tool to kill mosquitos and little insects but when you realized one in your room before sleep, it's rather terrifying than expect. We didn't ask to exchange for another room as we believe they appear in other rooms as well. Actually there were quite a lot of lizards at the ceiling of the public corridor. Maybe the management needs to think of ways to balance this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YvonneCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review on Tripadvisor.
All your comments is valuable for us and its to be development procedures onward. We also try find the way out how to balance between lizards in our property.
We looking forward to welcoming you back again.


Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is must for a romantic holiday as the estate is designed beautifully and tastefully. A good place to relax and have a romantic getaway. The staff are all very helpful and professional. The only thing is you need to be ready to stay in the hotel most of the time unless u willing to take a taxi or drive. They do provide transport out twice a day but you wouldn't want to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
3 Thank Adrlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property/business. We truly value the opinions of our customers.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Veranda the High Resort Chiang Mai during your next stay in Chiang Mai.


Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

On arriving its a real wow with the stunning grounds, all well kept and looking great. The room (jacuzzi on the patio) is huge and amazing, with a bed big enough for 5 or 6 ! Waking up early morning and standing on the balcony to hear and see the birds will be a long time memory for us, just perfect. Staff are really friendly and helpful, the infinity pool is beautiful and great views, but here is the first 'but'. We were there with about 40% occupancy and it was lucky to get a lounger by the pool, what happens when its more occupied who knows, that issue needs to be addressed, but if you get a lounger/bed then its great ! Breakfast has good choices and the staff up there are really good. Sadly when you come to dinner the restaurant is realy lovely but so few eat there so the atmosphere is really poor, its a pity. Food was good and huge portions. The big down staying here was taking the hotel day shuttle to town as it ruined one day of our short stay. Beware, unless they have changed it now, they dump you way out of Chaing Mai old town on the side of a busy busy road and say 'goodbye, see you at 2pm'. Not good at all, its a 20 minute tuk-tuk or 1 hour walking (no tuk tuks) in 35C temperature along a busy dual carriageway with fumes and exhausts. Finally you get there and the town is great but you are a sweaty mess with a sense of humour failure ! Also most of yoru time there is gone, so you end up looking at your watch and then have the tuk-tuk for 20 minutesw back out again along the busy dual carriageway. So BEWARE ! Ask the hotel where they will drop you (they may have changed this now), but hopefully now it will be nearer the city old town. the shuttle to the night market however is just great and right next to the action. So, its a lovely place but needs to just pick up a few small things to be brilliant.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi rooms are good as they are on the first floor and have a nice view across the gardens. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodyhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I came across this hotel from a Groupon deal, decided to plan a family trip 12 of us (all adults) and we are all enjoy our stay.
We're staying from Wednesday till Sunday at Valley Deluxe, Jacuzzi Pavilion and Plunge Pool Villa.
1. The check in - since it's our 1st big group family trip and 1st time trying the groupon deals, I email and make sure what I get. The airport pick up was no hassle at all, the minute we reached the hotel lobby they welcome us with cooling lemongrass drinks, I saw my e-mail print out on the receptionist table and they let us check in early (we reached around 11:30am) I really impressed with their flexibility on check in and out timing.
2. When I step into the room, it was already at a great temperature with great smell, totally great experience. They prepared our rooms with the aircon on for at least 30 min before our arrival.
3. The rooms and the spa and other places were kept clean and neat.
4. I was expecting alot of mosquitos but there's only few of them. No ants during my stay. There's some bugs outside the villa but it's very understandable since it's surrounds by the padi field and nature.
4. The food are good, the price is normal price as most hotels but cheaper compare to most resorts
5. They change the towels 2x a day.
6. The place was rather far from town (around 30 min car ride). I rent a minibus to accommodate my large group, so we never try the shuttle to town.
Anyway before I even book the place I was really prepared to be at a far place from town as the idea was a GETAWAY from a busy city. And Veranda is a perfect place.
7. Service staff are all very gracious and kind, sincere, not too much which I like it. Just nice.
8. The breakfast variety was quite good and they change some dishes everyday.
All in all I will definitely recommend this place to everyone who's looking for a getaway and serene place with great service, flexible check in and out time.
No negative thing I can find on this resort!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gitta-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very chic design and green hotel. The resort area is so green and lovely design. The room is nice with the view of garden and mountain. However, the service is limited. One concern about the mosquito repellent spay in the room that you have to pay for that extra. if you want to use it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank anuzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

If in life you can't taste the sweet without the sour,then u truly can't travel to chiang mai without experiencing a stay at "veranda high resort". The contrast between the busy city centre and the calming serenity of varanda,s incredible scenery only 25mins out of the city centre by car or bike is what truly makes this place a hidden gem.within a short period of time the tranquility,stylish design and stunning setting quickly captivate you leaving you feeling relaxed and refreshed.we found this place to be the perfect refresher after spending many days in and around the busy centre.there may be a few things that can find fault with as with every hotel in thailand,but you truly will not be disappointed by this great little escape in Chiang mai......

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlejamie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hang Dong
7.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,283 reviews
6.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
395 reviews
9.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,922 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
8.3 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection

Property: Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
Address: 192 Moo 2 | Banpong, 50230, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Hang Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hang Dong
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hang Dong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hang Dong
#1 Spa Hotel in Hang Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda Chiangmai: The High Resort, is a total Zen experience from the moment of arrival. We located in private valley with rice and tea terraces, natural ponds and orchids. Perfect retreat to relax and indulge yourself in the Spa. Divided into two zones, on one side representing the cultural heritage of the north and the other the Contemporary Veranda style. A boutique northern retreat of just 72 rooms, all guests are ensured of the best personal service, 24 hours a day from our warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Hang Dong
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Hang Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing