We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel overlooking the river.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverhouse Hotel (The Wooden House)
Ranked #1 of 12 Mae Sariang B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here after reading a TripAdvisor review, and I was not disappointed. As the name implies, the Riverhouse Hotel is located right next to the river, so each room has a lovely view. Across the river there is a magnificent view of the mountains a short distance away.

Built entirely of hard wood, the ambiance is warm and relaxing. The rooms were tastefully appointed, the beds large and comfortable, and very clean. The staff were exceptionally helpful in getting me settled in.

There is also a nice looking restaurant here that overlooks the river. Although I ate out with a friend, we did return to enjoy a few drinks and watch the river flow by.

The prices seemed in line with the other hotels/Guesthouses in this area, and considering the quality and location, I would rate this stay as a good value.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 122 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

For the price this hotel is hard to beat. B 550 for a very neat and comfortable "fan" room. Food in their restrauant is very good, staff friendly and helpful. It's a short walk to the downtown area. If you're not looking for 5 star quality then highly recommend Riverhouse Hotel. This was our second stay, the first in 2009.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the back of the hotel for a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cockerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

EVEN IN 2011 we choose to stay in this hôtel
And it worth' it!!
The floor squeaks under your feet, the entire hotel is built of wood with a beautiful view of the river, the most beautiful place in the city. You can enjoy an excellent Thai cuisine on the terrace, staff often in this country as friendly and smiling. I highly recommend it, and few rooms so booking advisable ...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Régis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent two nights at this charming riverside hotel. The atmosphere is very relaxed. We had a clean spacious room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the river. The decor is simple with nice use of wood trim and teak floors. There is an air conditioner in the room but the doors to the balcony are very well screened so they can be left open for the cool night breeze. Breakfast is included in the price. Unlike most guesthouses that serve you a standard breakfast, at Riverhouse Hotel you can order whatever you like off the menu. The restaurant is a tiered deck overlooking the river. There is nothing across the river from the hotel except trees, rice fields and mountains. Watch for the goats and water buffalo that make a twice daily trek along the far bank. Reservations are recommended as they were full on our first choice of nights.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river except a couple of rooms on the first floor. Ask for the second or third fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vhart60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

we checked in with 9people in 4 rooms, eventhough it's a guesthouse style the rooms are so lovely done, the service is friendly, they prepared us a wonderful thai meal for 10pax at the river deck, you can chose from a breakfast menu, its included in the prize and will be prepared freshly

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A nice place by the river. The rooms are really well done, pleasant stay for 2 nights in this charming guest house. The breakfast is good also the restaurant hire a good chef. Thai and a few western dishes.
The cleaning could be a little bit better in the room, always a pity to find out some long hair in the bathroom.
Some shelves or hangers for the clothes would be appreciate.

Room Tip: -Avoid the room at the corner, like room 26, as you see on the picture, there is several AC just alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank depassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Was tired of biking and suffering in the rain when I got to this place. Had the hotel almost for myself and was able to really relax in the restaurant with a very nice view of the river and countryside. And I really had a quiet night of sleep once I got into bed. And that was well worth the higher cost of these rooms.

The staff was in a good mood and welcoming. They offered me to dry my clothes and it was appreciated. Room was big, with good lighting, and bed was very confortable.

Some reviews criticized the breakfast. Quite frankly did not remember but it was not bad, for sure. Quite standard probably.

Pros : The staff. The size of the rooms. There is a big balcony in most of the rooms (I guess), the view is great and it is very clean. There is a public computer which is always useful.

Cons : Was not in the mood to shop around and save a few bucks, but I guess the price could be a little high (600 or 700 bahts). Not really a fault, but It is probably easy to find something cheaper around, but you won’t have the same quality. Saw a room before at 200 bahts that of course was nowhere close to this place.

For the city, if you want to put a few more bucks, I give this place a 5 stars rating.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bart_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Sariang hotels
0 mi away
Above the Sea Guesthouse
Above the Sea Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Mae Sariang
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverhouse Resort
Riverhouse Resort
#2 of 12 in Mae Sariang
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tamarind Grand Resort
Tamarind Grand Resort
#7 of 12 in Mae Sariang
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Good View Guest House @ Mae Sarieng
0.3 mi away
Maeloegyi
Maeloegyi
#5 of 12 in Mae Sariang
19 reviews
1 mi away
Mitaree Hotel 1
Mitaree Hotel 1
#4 of 12 in Mae Sariang
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse Hotel (The Wooden House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse Hotel (The Wooden House)

Address: 77 Lang Panich Rd | Baan Gard, Mae Sariang 58110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Mae Sariang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Sariang
Price Range: $32 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverhouse Hotel (The Wooden House) 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverhouse Hotel (The Wooden House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing