We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long in the tooth!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mae Sariang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northwest Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 11 Mae Sariang B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Long in the tooth!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This backpackers guest house is filthy and rundown. It needs to be kept up and cleaned more frequently. Around the entire restaurant sits 20 or so rusty rental bikes. There is a an empty fish tank under the front table that was used for the skin eating fish at one time but is now empty and sitting in the middle of the restaurant...Disgusting!

Really a bad operation.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
4
20
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stay there only 1 night. The layout of the GH is particularly intersting with romms upstairs and seats, tables on the ground floor.
Really friendly staff

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Northwest is a charming guest house, a lovely downstairs area with a casual restaurant and lots of low tables and pillows for relaxing. Up the beautiful wooden staircase are the bedrooms. We stayed in two (joined) air con rooms at the back with double beds, mosquito nets and ensuites. The beds were hard, but book a trek with Kitty and you'll have no trouble sleeping! We had no problem with noise, and the staff are all fantastically helpful. The drinks are lovely and the food is AMAZING, try the deep fried morning glory with prawn dip (soup, really), with a watermelon shake to cool down after! If I'm ever in North Thailand again, I know where I'm staying :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

A beautiful 2 storey thai-style inn located within walking distance from the bus station and is near the river. The owner, Tukta, speaks English and is very friendly. They serve the best thai food and Tukta's (from E-san) larb-tod is a must try! The rooms are very simple and clean, we paid 400B for an air-con room. They offer free wifi to guests and there is bicycle/scooter rental and trekking tours as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

The location is quite good; could be better if it was on the river, but this is easily the BEST guesthouse in Mae Sariang. It's main highlight is its restaurant which offers good service, reasonable prices, and free wifi for patrons and hotel guests. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and speak English.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearanddragonNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Nice guesthouse, clean and well looked after rooms and restaurant in Mae Sariang, reasonably priced rooms, free internet in the rooms and restaurant, good thai and western food. Scooter and motorbike rental available, local sight seeing advice, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishyouwerehere90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We came here during our world trip by car and could park it a little further down the street. Northwest Guesthouse had been recommended to us and we haven't been disappointed. The staff is very friendly, funny and helpful. We stayed in one of the more expensive rooms (400B) which had an en suite bathroom, aircon, fan, mosquito net, and a LAN-cable to connect with our own laptop. They also have cheaper rooms.
It's a characterful wooden house, that's a bit dark but the advantage is that it doesn't get too hot there. The rooms are upstairs, whereas downstairs is the restaurant, bar and all the LAN-cables. Yes, one can come to Northwest and plug in its laptop.
The atmosphere was a bit like a big family. And it's also possible to book trips from the hostel (e.g. elephant riding or Thai boxing lessons).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asfintesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Sariang hotels
0.4 mi away
Riverhouse Hotel (The Wooden House)
0.4 mi away
The Good View Guest House @ Mae Sarieng
0.3 mi away
Riverhouse Resort
Riverhouse Resort
#2 of 11 in Mae Sariang
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tamarind Grand Resort
Tamarind Grand Resort
#7 of 11 in Mae Sariang
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Above the Sea Guesthouse
Above the Sea Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Mae Sariang
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maeloegyi
Maeloegyi
#6 of 11 in Mae Sariang
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwest Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwest Guesthouse

Property: Northwest Guesthouse
Address: No.81 Mhu12 Bankad, Mae Sariang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Mae Sariang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Sariang
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing