We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sathing Phra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

On our trip through Thailand off the beaten track, we spent a few nights in the Ao Thai Resort to explore the town of Songkhla and the nearby lake. We have been super happy with the location, the facilities, the food, and the service. From the minute we arrived, we felt like being at home. Everyone is infectiously friendly and attentive. Uwe is there to help with every request and things happens in an uncomplicated and relaxed way - the way Thailand has to be! We also liked the very personal tours offered to explore the area. I highly recommend this place, if you are looking for a laid back place in Thailand that is at the same time well run.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank th_direct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 87 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Ao Thai Resort is located around 30 minutes drive from Songkhla. Situated in Sathing Phra – a small seaside village, the resort sits on a stretch of secluded white sandy beach with gentle waves and beautiful seashells and colorful fishermen’s boat dotting the coast. If you’re looking for a quiet, private and relaxing getaway either by yourself, or with your family, this is the place to be. It is beautiful, pretty new (opened in 2011) and most importantly to me, very clean. It is run by a friendly Resort Manager - Mr. Uwe Welschinger (a German who speaks fantastic Thai), and manned by a host of friendly and courteous resort staff.

The resort is built in several phases. It opened in 2011 with a building block consisting of several hotel rooms, a library, a lobby and restaurant. The next phase are the individual bungalows facing the swimming pool, and the latest addition to the resort are several units of bungalows separated from the rest by a small trunk road. These are the closest to the seaside. All rooms and bungalows are equipped with air-condition, hot shower and is WiFi-enabled. We had the best room in the house – family bungalow #18. It faces the sea, and is just steps away from the beach and restaurant.

The family bungalow fits 4 persons – it has a separate bedroom with a King-sized bed, a living hall with a sleeper sofa bed, a bathroom and a pantry/wardrobe area. The mini bar items are free. And two units of flat-screen TV which may be of interest if you understand Thai.

For the Muslims, according to Mr. Welschinger, his restaurant serves halal meat and poultry, and cooked in separate pots and pans. He has a certificate of halal meat he can show upon request. But do note, pork is also served in the menu line-up. I have suggested to him that it may be better to have separate eating utensils and plates etc for the Muslims. Otherwise, there are several small Muslim eateries in Sathing Pra that sells beef noodles and other Thai dishes.

The resort offers very affordable spa treatments, which can be enjoyed in the privacy of your room, by the beach or on a quiet veranda up at the hotel block. I enjoyed an hour-long full body massage for only Thai Baht 300 (or less than US$10). A steal!

All in all, we had a wonderful experience in Ao Thai Resort, and will definitely be making a return. Just a note to future visitors, the resort accepts only cash upon checking-out. It does not have credit card payment facilities for some unavoidable reasons. So make sure you bring enough cash with you. Alternatively, send an email out to Mr. Welschinger at manager@aothairesort.com to discuss possible payment options i.e. PayPal before your trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semutss2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The journey took us a while, up north passing Songkhla but it was well worth it.
It was a family roadtrip in 5 mpvs... 2 family bungalows and 5 smaller bungalows did the trick.
Best to arrange for meals as nearby restaurants aren't available.
Very private resort, so it was like our own secret hideaway... with our own beach and a swimming pool that was really tempting and well kept

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoraez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We drive all the way from Malaysia (1 1/2 Hours drive from border). We booked 2 bungalow & 5 rooms all together. The place was a a bit hard to find since its not registered in my GPS. The place is situated in a very secluded area surrounding by villages.

The 1 bedroom was spacious & cosy. The bathroom was clean & well maintain. The only turn off was there is no proper drain system at the bathroom. The only drainage was at the shower area. So the toilet area & bathroom was quite flooded when my kids used it.

At the further end of the resort they have a restaurant overlooking the sea.The BBQ buffet dinner was excellent. We enjoyed our food. The breakfast also was quite nice just that on both days the food was ready quite late. Need to improve the timing!

We enjoyed our two days stay with activities in the morning near the beach & the pool. As for us with kids we need to be extra carefull since the resort was split into two by a road. Overall we love the place & the concept! Thanks to the owner who makes our stays a memorable ones.

Pro's : Secluded area & great surroundings.
Con's : Bathroom needs upgrade

Room Tip: Room nearer to the beach. But not the one beside the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Quality bungalow just on a nature beach. A small village near. You can go there walking on the beach if yo like, Food and service in the hotel is good . Easy to visit Songkha town, about 30 km, if you need something shopping or else. Very helpful and kind manager and other people in the hotel. Relaxing, beautiful sunrise, massage, swimming, nature and so on. Not for party people. We hope that we can came again there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ritva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Ao Thai for one night but couldn't stop raving about it. The German-Thai family took great care of us and everyone except party animals would surely feel at home like we did. When we arrived at the resort around 6 pm, there was a big karaoke party so we made it clear that we couldn’t bare the noise. Within an hour the group left and we could enjoy our fiery hot Southern Thai dinner in peace.

We stayed in two rooms above the restaurant and two bungalows by the swimming pool, all very clean and comfortable. Some units even had a separate living area, ideal for families. The only drawback was the resort was split into two parts by a dirt road though there was hardly any motorised traffic. Most popular were the oceanfront bungalows, away from the restaurant and the pool. They were fully booked during our stay but the owner said they were of the same size as ours.

The best “unseen Thailand” moment arrived in the morning. As we went jogging at sunrise, there wasn't anyone in sight apart from the odd local walking his cow. We managed to take a few photos of it right in front of the weather station.

In short Ao Thai is highly recommended for its tranquility. But Sathing Phra (สทิงพระ) isn’t mentioned in guidebooks so if planning to stay there for more than a few nights, let us recommend some attractions nearby.

Only 3-min away from the hotel and boasting a reclining Buddha and a circular chedi is Wat Ja Thing Phra (วัดจะทิ้งพระ) which hilariously translates to “the temple will abandon the monks.” Ask locals to explain the origin of this name; they all have different stories to tell.

Sathing Phra is best known as the birthplace of Luang Pu Thuad (หลวงปู่ทวด), Southern Thailand’s most revered monk. Thai and (Buddhist) Malaysian pilgrims follow his footsteps, paying respect to and “renting” amulets from temples such as Wat Pha Kho (วัดพะโคะ) and Wat Dee Luang (วัดดีหลวง), about 20 kms north en-route to Ranod (ระโนด). Wat Pha Kho’s Sri Lankan-style chedi offers pleasant views of Sathing Phra’s agricultural landscape, but for a perfect end of this day trip, rent a boat at Khu Khut Water Fowl Park (อุทยานนกน้ำคูขุด), only 10 mins from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PORhibido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

we had a beautiful vacation in the ao thairesort, great value for the price.
we stayed 7 days in a bungalow, very comfortabel and clean, the food in the restaurant was excellent, we loved the fresh thai meals.
the manager and staff helped in anyway, we will come again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sathing Phra
19.1 mi away
BP Samila Beach Hotel
BP Samila Beach Hotel
#3 of 29 in Songkhla
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Flora May Resort
The Flora May Resort
#4 of 29 in Songkhla
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green World Palace Hotel
Green World Palace Hotel
#14 of 29 in Songkhla
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant

Address: 63/2 Moo 1, Bo Dan | Songkhla, Sathing Phra 90190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Sathing Phra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sathing Phra
Price Range: $53 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront hotel and bungalow resort with an exclusive restaurant for sophisticated guests from all over the world, who set high value on the original Thailand off the beaten track. Far away from mass tourism we are offering individual care, suggestions and company with locals and their families. Relaxing, contact to country and locals as well as a bridge to the Thai culture and lifestyle are taking center stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing