We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
94
63
30
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
63
30
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub meal times co op blenheim palace friendly locals choice of cereals ate here three nights full english large bathroom lovely village bank holiday nothing too much trouble old building short break breakfast was delicious cotswolds
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 232 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

The Bell hotel is an interesting mix of rooms as it has been knocked into the cottage next door at some point. There are also bedrooms separate from the main building. It has a huge car park and outside smoking area. The staff work very hard trying to keep everything running smoothly.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

The mattress in my room (#10) was literally the worst I've slept on in 20 years: thin, bowing in the middle, and lumpy. One lamp was burnt out. These are things that should be checked on regularly.

Beer selection in the pub was limited. Food was good, but after we paid for our drinks, we were told it would take 30 minutes to be served. We asked why they hadn't told us before, and they had no answer. At breakfast, they were out of orange marmalade, because "it goes quickly." Then, the answer is to order more, isn't it?

The hotel itself is very attractive, in a lovely village. Staff was friendly, if not always providing the best answers.

Room Tip: Check mattress in room 10 before agreeing to take it.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Westlakeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

The Bell hotel is a beautiful place that suffers from bad attitude and very big rooms that not clean enough. The room was above the pub and we suffered from the smoke and noise. The breakfast was fine, but nothing to write about.
They charged us via our credit card without asking.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank zivz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

Double room in an annex was fine with large area and large bathroom. Room was clean, fan next to bed was a nice touch but no hairdryer. The common areas of the hotel could stand some paint touch up and a deep cleaning. This cleaning would also apply to the garden area. All glasses offered had spots etc? Breakfast was great and dinner was also fine. Would not recommend the risotto unless you like it bland but minute steak was superb. This could be a superb hotel with just a little bit of cleaning attention to detail. Great building character.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fssutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

Having stayed here before and have found the hotel never disappoints , good size and quality breakfast, good size rooms and plenty of parking , staff are very friendly, free WiFi , would stay again when in the area .

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank gordon8186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews