We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Staying at the camping in very wet weather we looked for a location to get some food. What a surprise. Even if it was rather late with no dining guest we were welcome, and we had an excellent well cooked dinner with interesting choices for a reasonable price. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    52
    24
    24
    16
See reviews for
36
84
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on the 27th June 2012. This was for a short break. The room although small was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were excellent.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stopped in for an early evening post-walk meal. Menu was interesting and varied - including hot stone cooking, and, when we were there, an asparagus-themed special menu. Vegetarians were well catered for too. Prices were mid-range, but I would say the food on offer was at the top end of the spectrum, so excellent value.

The staff were very friendly and had 'can-do' attitudes. The service was efficient, and despite the high expectations that the menu set, the food when it came did not disappoint. Would certainly visit again next time we're in the area.

The pub also had a separate bar area and a garden, and a couple of ales on at the bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here on business with a colleague in June 2012. Lydia greeted us and was very welcoming, friendly and efficient. Breakfast is served from 8o/c however when we said that we needed to leave by 7 Lydia offered to come in early to ensure that we had some breakfast before we left - I have never experienced that anywhere before.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathroom was huge, but no bath which may disappoint some.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend using The Bell if you ever have the pleasure of being in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveClev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent one night at "The Bell" at the beginning of June and I can say it has been a great experience. Our room was lovely, exactly what you can see in the pictures on their website, clean and tidy. It was quite small but it was just perfect for a couple.
We also had dinner in the pub. Their offer gluten free options if fact you can find them on Coeliac UK website. I had Leek and Potato Soup, and I highly recommend it - simply amazing! Then I had Chicken and Asparagus and it was quite good. My boyfriend was a little less satisfy with his main but he said he will choose better next time.
We had full English breakfast in the morning. It was good but I'd suggest to add some extra to the gluten free one because we cannot have the sausage, the black pudding and the bread of course and so I was still a bit hungry.
The location is perfect if you want to visit the Malvern Hills.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilla_s_Lalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Booked for a 4 night break in the Cotswolds as reviews were good (and so they should be!) and the location was central for the area. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel most welcome by management, staff and customers. Nothing was too much trouble. Food, both Breakfasts and dinners were tremendous, excellent quality, price and devine flavours. Could not fault anything and can only but recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
462 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is not just a pub(lic house). This is a gastronomic experience in which you need to participate! From Doom Bar Cornish Ale through Hot Stone cooked meats, all served in a spacious dining room set around an open fire place that is innovatively designed in the centre of the room, sending out heat in all directions. For good food in Worcestershire, don't miss it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TempleofPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
7.9 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
8.2 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Property: Bell Hotel
Address: Church St, Charlbury OX7 3PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Charlbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing