We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place ”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Restaurants in Wendover
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London
1 review
“Super place ”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The red lion had a great atmosphere friendly staff and utterly amazing food the lamb melted in your mouth and the choice of beverages where superb. Overall great experience will certainly be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank Bobbilliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    84
    47
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We often have Sunday lunch at the Red Lion. The reason we return is the friendly and attentive staff, the comfortable restaurant and the good quality of the food, which is always fresh and promptly served.

We have occasionally had lunch during the week and again, have never been disappointed with our experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyB941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty ordinary food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Was disappointed with New Years menu. Starter was watery and main was over cooked. Others in my party agreed the food was disappointing. Would not eat here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stfc4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I went here with my parents soon after Christmas and all 3 of us had an utterly terrible meal. The BBQ chicken was a roast chicken leg covered in cheap, ready-made BBQ sauce that really wasn't good. The ham, egg and chips were average at best & the chips had half a pot of salt poured on them by the chef. The steak pie had really tough meat & the sauce was tangy & unpleasant. I assume the veg was left over from Christmas as it was cooked into mush & totally inedible. On top of that the tables and floor were filthy & the staff not particularly friendly. I would not recommend it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonza88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Really good breakfast, nice bar area and friendly staff. would return if in the area again and recommend to others.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucyDavies80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Hotel also viewed

Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
 
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
Weston Turville, Aylesbury Vale
 
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing