We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Wendover

“Bring back the old cafe please”

Wendover Woods Cafe
Ranked #3 of 3 Quick Bites in Wendover
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 21, 2020

I visit these woods at least a couple of times a week, and in the past would have used the old cafe on most visits.

The new cafe is a real disappointment.
The coffee is awful, and I have seen that others have also made this comment. The management response is simply, we serve Lavazza so it must be fine. Maybe you should at least acknowledge the feedback and try a different brand. It could also be that the coffee making process isn't being done correctly. Whatever it is, there is definitely something wrong with the taste.

The dog policy is ludicrous. Again, I have seen some of your other feedback which advocates tying up dogs and leaving them unattended - are you for real? The old cafe would at least let you order at the counter with your dog. Why not at least have a hatch dog owners could order at? Especially over weekday Autumn/Winter times you are missing out on a huge amount of trade. You mention that there is CCTV to cover for dog theft - not sure a) that there is and its reliable, and b) that any responsible owner would still take that risk when dog theft is higher than ever.

Staff often pack up the cafe by 4pm, making it unwelcoming to go in and order. Just generally seems very non-customer focussed - even when you're the only customer it can take a while to get served.

To be constructive, why not make an area of the cafe dog friendly, or a more sheltered area outside? or implement a hatch or staff to come and take your order - especially when it is so quiet in the week? Why not try some different brands of coffee or how you use it in the machines?

I understand that the new cafe and its concept is very different to the old one, but a large reason of why the Woods is a success now is because of the efforts of that original cafe.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Aluckyescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020

Given the bad reviews, we weren’t expecting much from the new cafe but were left pleasantly surprised.

- It’s in a great setting with beautiful views.
- The staff were friendly and helpful.
- The coffee was nice (great alternative milk options).
- Portion sizes were generous and we were pleased to see a daily vegan option.

We’ve been visiting Wendover Woods for 25 years and feel that this is a great addition.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Andypose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Stunning location but cafe a HUGE disappointment. As a regular walker of the woods we were full of anticipation for the new cafe given the expense of putting up such a fine building with a great view. Cafe reminds me of the early days of motorway service stations, poorly trained servers, impersonal, poor quality food - nothing to like or make me want to go back. will take a flask of my own coffee and a sandwich next time!
The fact that the Forrestry Comm also used a Xmas Tree supplier from N London having sacked the popular local one makes me think decisions are being taken in some head office somewhere, they should get out and make a visit and listen to the locals!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank UK232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Visited on New Year’s Day with everybody else. Very busy but well organised. Staff incredibly busy but still happy to tweak the menu to fit fussy kids. Food was hot and decent portions when delivered. Given how busy the cafe was I was really impressed, particularly with staff who were really helpful.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank travelwithkids2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

Repeat visit and even worse than the last time. Coffee really is appalling - like an old fashioned motorway service station churning out sub standard coffee. Still cannot believe there’s a no dogs policy in Wendover Woods. This cafe has been set up for the convenience of the owners and the prices are simply too high for what you get. Not to mention the parking prices. Wendover woods will never be the same again. It’s been ruined.

Date of visit: January 2020
4  Thank BucksOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trip63869323801, Owner at Wendover Woods Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Thank you for your recent feedback and please be assured that we serve top quality coffee in our very high tech coffee machines within the cafe, made using the finest Lavazza beans (rainforest alliance certified) and fresh milk. We have had some excellent feedback regarding the coffee and it’s disappointing to hear it wasn't to one of your groups taste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wendover Woods Cafe also viewed

Wendover, Aylesbury
Wendover, Aylesbury
 
Wendover, Aylesbury
 

Been to Wendover Woods Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing