We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for Christmas party”
Review of Shoulder of Mutton

Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #22 of 29 Restaurants in Wendover
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great venue for Christmas party”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Good food at realistic prices in pub with super atmosphere. Friendly staff and good service. Reservations taken and good choice of food to suit all tastes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veekayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    167
    84
    89
    106
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Engaging Staff”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had our annual Christmas lunch here yesterday. having now read all the reviews below i would like to say that the staff were engaging and attentive and couldn't have done anymore to make us feel welcome. A slight issue with one of the main meals was quickly corrected.
We will certainly be going back and have started to plan our post Christmas get together !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelmfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gubblecote, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“family get together”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I think we had a table for 20, with a 60 year age span between us.
My rare ribeye steak was delicious - we all had a very good meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Please Try Harder!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have eaten here a couple of times over the months and years but this pub does not, unfortunately, live up to the expectations of the past.
Nowadays it's a place of contrasts. The Staff are warm and friendly, however the service is slow, and often mistakes are made, either when taking your order or bringing our the finished meals.
The portions, espeically the main courses are a good size and value for money in that respect, but, as has been metioned in other reviews, does live up to what has been described on the menu and you can be left feeling somewhat let down. The is realtively tasty, but will not blow you away either.
Hot meals generally seem to come out on cold plates, so your generous portion is often stone cold within a few minutes of being served. This not being fast food outlet I wished to enjoy the meal at my leisure and not have to wolf it down! This seems most prevelant with their Sunday Roasts. The staff were happy to take the plate back and were very apologetic, but it was merely stuck on a hotplate. Although this heated the plate and the food up again it also managed dry the food out. Regretably, we weren't offered a fresh plate of steaming hot fare.
I must say though the pub itself is large and the tables are well spaced, plus the garden at the back is huge and great in the summer, especially for families.
All the ingredients are there for great pub and restaurant. I'm sure with a little more focus on their efficiency, trying to get things right first time, and dedication to the finer details this could be great place once again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DGornall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear DGornall, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not the experience you were expecting. Your comments have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team ensuring no further dissapointment for our guests.
Many Thanks
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food inedible”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Ate here and ordered the "Gourmet" burger and Fish & Chips. Both meals burnt, the burger was missing the egg and field mushroom, the fish batter was as hard as a rock with bits flying off all over the table if you tried to cut into it. Everything tasted rancid as they clearly used old oil. Will never go anywhere near this place again.

Helpful?
4 Thank binkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoulder of Mutton also viewed

Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
 
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
 
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing