We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of The Peking Inn

The Peking Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Cookham
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Newport, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Visited with a friend on a Saturday evening, during the February floods. Troops were in the village with a large supply of sandbags!

It was a chilly evening, but the restaurant was warm and had pleasant lighting.

Service was good; John was particularly friendly and informative.

We thought the menu was extensive and had a good variety of dishes, including a decent vegetarian selection.

The food was excellent! It was freshly prepared and each course was full of flavour.

The bill was reasonable; a third of it comprised our bottle of wine.

We will definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank pwharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    55
    21
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We recently visited for the Chinese New Year celebrations but have been to the restaurant over the last few years. We have always found very good quality food and service and have never been disappointed with any visit. Despite the number of customers the restaurant has Pam and John always remember your names and are very welcoming. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Chinese by far!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I live local 'ish' to the Peking Inn - I have never been disappointed by a meal there and all of the staff are especially welcoming/accomodating! The food is consistently great and since the new management took over - It has been even better! Families, couples & business. No rush, nice selection of drinks and ambient atmosphere - You won't be disappointed

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArashP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good 'standard' Chinese”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a good but 'standard' Chinese restaurant. The service is pleasant and efficient, the food is pretty much the usual one expects. The ambience as also as one might expect. We are regulars and enjoy it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good Chinese restaurant ”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited for a family meal. The staff were efficient and helpful. We enjoyed the £20 a head set menu. Pleasingly the food was freshly cooked and well presented. The prawn toast, for example, was excellent and not greasy (as is sometimes the case in poorer venues). Family friendly for sure. I didn't see the wine list but there is a dedicated barman. Clean and tidy throughout. I would revisit.

Helpful?
Thank bobd606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peking Inn also viewed

Bourne End, Aylesbury Vale
 
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Peking Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing