We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bel and the Dragon

Bel and the Dragon
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel and the Dragon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Cookham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $41
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of the oldest Coaching Inns in England, Bel & The Dragon Cookham sits on the village's picture postcard High Street, a short walk from the Thames Path and under a 30 minute drive from Central London.Following wholesale refurbishment, Bel & The Dragon combines 600 years of history with the best in modern British cuisine. The menu is created by award-winning Head Chef, Ronnie Kimbugwe, who previously spent 7 years with Gordon Ramsay and was most recently the Senior Sous Chef of Gordon Ramsay at Claridges. His passion for the finest seasonal fare, sourced from local & sustainable ingredients, is immediately obvious. It is also complemented by the inclusion of a rotisserie for the very best Roast Chicken, Creedy Carver Duck or the signature spit roasted Suckling Pig.And then there is the Josper Grill, which cooks at up to 600°C and is compared to an indoor barbeque- since it has transformed restaurant kitchens forever, with early converts already including Gordon Ramsay at the Savoy Grill and Heston Blumenthal at Dinner at the Mandarin Oriental.Wine lovers are warmly welcome to enjoy one of the best cellars in Berkshire, stocked with only the best vintages at extraordinary prices. The special Cellar list has been created to provide amazing value for money between £55- £95 per bottle, for some of the best wines ever produced.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ate here last night with our friends. Very impressed with both the food and the service. Highly recommend the fillet steak but to be honest everything was lovely from starters to desserts. We all enjoyed our food and thought the ambience was perfect. Some noise but mainly of people just enjoying themselves, and did not bother us at all. The tables are far enough apart and everything works well. We shall definitely be returning!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynneyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    161
    60
    37
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Noisy but nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a really good (albeit expensive!) meal here before Christmas. The food was great and the service was good, if a little over helpful. It was expensive but it was a treat meal to celebrate someone's new job so it was worth it. However it was very noisy. We were sat next to a table with a few children who continued to shout throughout the meal. This meant that everyone else in the vicinity started to talk more loudly over the noise. There are no soft furnishings so its always going to be loud.

That said, food, cocktails, wine and atmosphere were all great and I would definitely go back

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SophiaS178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well refurbished. Menu; hit & miss. Needs some improvements.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The last time I came here was about 2 years ago, and it was awful. Thankfully it has improved a great deal. Menu, this time was "hit & miss". My wife chose well (scallops and beef cheeks), I had some regrets with my squid starter which was breaded and deep fried. All I got was texture, not much taste even with the sweet chili jam (like it was deep fried from frozen). My main (Rabbit stew) wasn't bad, but didn't have me waxing lyrical. Maybe the meat was a lot like boned chicken thighs, in a cassoulet with slightly under cooked beans. Service was pleasant and capable. I remember a time when this chain had staff enthused by its menu, this place (maybe whole chain) needs to refine the menu, otherwise you may prefer "The Ferry" down the road.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2slapupgrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely place, food and drink not up to scratch.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Three of us went for lunch and, since it was a cold day we all ordered the rabbit, chorizo and bean stew. It arrived in individual clear pyrex cooking dishes; terracotta would have been more appropriate. The 'rabbit' looked and tasted suspiciously like chicken, whilst the chorizo was not the cooking one; my wife is Spanish so she should know. The wine was served in large water tumblers, I have never seen this anywhere else and hope I never do. The old pub has been nicely decorated and there is a lovely garden for the warmer weather, but for the (not inexpensive) price we paid the food should have been a lot better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gastropub with a twist.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Interesting cooking techniques resulted in great reasonably priced meal. nice atmosphere, friendly service. would recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ROgiS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel and the Dragon also viewed

Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Bel and the Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing