We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good menu, great quality food, couldn't fault the service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown
Ranked #2 of 4 Cookham B&B and Inns
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good menu, great quality food, couldn't fault the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Bright young things serving very well presented pub grub. Menu has ham, egg & chips at a tenner as well as juicy steaks for £22. Lots to choose from, drinks served perfectly and as mentioned by other reviewers, the pace of service was spot on. I had the honey chicken breast, a generous portion for £10 and really tasty - served with delicious chunky chips in a little tin bucket, plenty of salad and the yummiest coarse coleslaw. Deserts looked good and a thoughtful range of wines. Went with friends and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch0ccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    33
    23
    18
    16
See reviews for
27
42
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Despite calling ahead in advance to advise time of arrival, we were shown to stone cold rooms. Given that it is early February in this part of the world it would have been nice to have warmed the rooms in advance. There was no heating besides a small heated towel rail in the bathroom. The only way to heat the room was to leave the connecting door to the bedroom open to allow heat to flow through.
Fortunately we were dining out and returned to a warmer room late that night.

The room had a peculiar smell which may have been because of recent flooding in Cookham but wasn't too pleasant though it did dissapate somewhat as the room warmed up.

Breakfast was served quickly and was a perfectly adequate Traditional English breakfast. Coffee was served in an enormous cup and was pretty good.

Room Tip: Tip: Stay in Unit 6 if you want to be towards the back and next to the Guest car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeen_13th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownCookham, General Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. All our rooms have a main radiator inside each room and also a heated towel rail inside each bathroom. Each radiator is individually controlled so you can adjust the temperature to your liking. Very sorry the room was not warmed up for you before arrival, it takes less than five minutes to have the rooms nice and warm. As to the strange smell, all the rooms were given a fresh coat of paint within the last week, other than that we have had no problems with flooding. Many thanks Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a great stay! Brilliant Rooms, Fantastic Pub, Superb Staff This was a real find.
From the moment I spoke to Sophie, because not for the first time Laterooms had cocked up my booking, I knew this was going to be good.
I was not disappointed. Spencer & his team really make you feel at home.
It has a young and vibrant feel, maybe because all the staff are young and vibrant!
There is nothing worse than arriving at somewhere for a week where you get the impression that the staff are just not interested. Not at The Crown. It is owned by young management and staffed by young people who take their jobs seriously and care about their guests.
Take Katie. a local girl, who knows the area and is really charismatic. Pretty & bubbly she is the sort of shining example that makes a guest want to come back. One other thing about the rooms the house keeping is first class. Fresh towels and tolietries every day something that bigger Hotel chains frequently slip up on. In the words of Arnie "I'll be back".

Room Tip: Dont book via Laterooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
280 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here for a night on a business trip. It 'feels' like a village pub with rooms rather than a hotel which I prefer. eg you have to enter the pub to get to reception. The rooms are separate to the pub, just to the side in small cottage style units. The room was fine, quite small but well decorated and clean. It was Winter when I stayed but the pub beer garden is just in front of the the rooms through a small fence- not sure if it could get noisy on warm summer nights...(Oh sorry I forgot, we're talking about England, so that would probably only apply for a couple of nights a year if we're lucky). Cookham is a nice little village with a couple of pubs and two Indian restaurants in what look like converted old pubs. The pub is on the main road through the village but its quiet enough and I didnt notice any traffic noise.

Breakfast was included in the room rate- I didnt have it but the full English looked good. The staff were young, friendly and helpful.

In summary, a decent option if you have cause to stay in this part of Berkshire.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Ate here on a Friday evening with friends. Very successful. The staff were all very friendly and attentive and the service was good and at the right pace. The food was reasonably priced, fresh and tasty. I had the tian of crab and avocado followed by the baked loin of cod, all of which was delicious. We sat in the snug by the open fire. It was very pleasant. I'm a wheelchair user. Access was a little difficult on the night due to the main wheelchair access door being stuck but ordinarily it would not be a problem. The staff were keen to help. Good value, I'll certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 300711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

OMG been in this week to try the new menu... its is AMAZING
Had the madalion.. steak ( MELT IN YOUR MOUTH ) small pie (PACKED WITH MEAT )
C u again after christmas :-) couldnt come soon enough i want that steak again :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstywirsty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

On business or 12 months so booked the Crown unfortunately they are not that concerned with customer service and will expect you to move around their rooms as they require to fit others in to make that buck. Thanks to the young gentleman who was very polite who informed me that they had let my room (that I had booked in advance) not what is expected from a class establishment will not stop at or recommend the Crown to anyone beware of what you book and get it n writing!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael in maid... j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookham
0.0 mi away
Moor Hall Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
1.0 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Property: The Crown
Address: The Moor, Cookham SL6 9SB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Cookham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cookham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown at Cookham offers comfortable, quality bed & breakfast accommodation in 8 ensuite rooms with full English breakfast. All rooms have bath and shower, tea/coffee making facilities, free Wi-Fi, Freeview and Sky, 32 inch LCD TV and radio alarm. Cots are also available on request. The Crown offers a great rural escape in the pretty village of Cookham within the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead in North-East Berkshire, close the border with Buckingamshire. Cookham lies on the River Thames with a number of walks along the Thames Path and nearby National Trust property and is one of the most popular Thameside resorts . There are plenty of tourist attractions around Cookham and The Crown provides a great base from which to explore the local area. We have travel guides to the main towns and cities in Berkshire as well as some of the villages. The Crown also offers a fully stocked bar with a wide selection of drinks to cater for all tastes including a full wine list, quality beers and lagers, a range of soft drinks and Proud To Serve Costa Coffee. We offer 4 real ales and are cask marque accredited. In addition to breakfast we offer a range of delicious, freshly prepared meals using the finest, locally sourced ingredients throughout the day and evening and the best Sunday roast in Cookham. As our dishes are cooked to order, our chefs are happy to alter dishes to suit special dietary requirements, so just ask us if we can help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Cookham, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing