We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveler rating
515
195
56
38
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
195
56
38
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teahotel managementuniversity campussandwichesan applebrasserie restaurantnew wingold housethe main housemacaroonsmodern extensioncoffee machinegarden wingwaiting staffno air conditioningsunday lunchwalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 818 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room 201 accessible beautiful decor balcony bathroom large and accessible but why they don’t fit poly floor safety floor is beyond me. Large and comfortable to move around in double aspect windows. Hotel sits in a lovely settings with lakes,next to univer. Excellent service staff couldn’t do enough for us restaurant 1st class dinner&breakfast superb

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

We visited last year for one night, a recent 2 night stay was again, very enjoyable and relaxing, the room was very comfy, towelling robes etc. We used the bar (very extensive drinks and cocktail menu) and ate in the restaurant too (which we didn't last year due to time and other commitments) & highly recommend, the food was fabulous.
The staff here are so polite and courteous here, which is a pleasure to experience.
Very quiet due to it's location, so no noisy traffic.
There isn't any air conditioning, fans are in the rooms but personally I didn't find this a problem at all and slept for 10 hours one night! Totally recharged!!

Room Tip: Personally I prefer the rooms in the 'old' part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Our first visit to the Wivenhoe House Hotel. First impressions can be a little off putting. It is a stately old manor house in the grounds situated within the grounds of the University of Essex. The carpark looks a bit sad and there is renovation work ongoing. However a very different story inside. After a friendly welcome, we were directed to our suite, the Molson Suite. The suite is extremely spacious, very well laid out. It is decorated to a high standard with a modern feel and furniture. The ensuite was also large with a fab bath tub and large shower. The room has an Apple Mac computer used for free WiFi, TV etc.
The restaurant was excellent. We had an excellent dinner. Crab with a boullabaise, whipped goats cheese with beetroot and pickled walnuts, excellent Dingly Dell pork rib eye , a cailifour and butter bean crumble and excellent creme brulle. Breakfast was also excellent.
There's a good wine list, local beers and lots of cocktails.
All of the staff without exception were first class. They all went the extra mile to make our stay special.
The cost of the stay was also very good value.
I will definitely return to Wivenhoe House

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

If only all hotels had staff as uniformly helpful and friendly as here. There was no obsequiousness, just a simple desire to ensure that your stay was as pleasant as possible. Couple this with a great location, well appointed rooms and good food and you have a winning formula.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful house and gorgeous surroundings. Staff were friendly and the rooms were gorgeous my only minus is that the rooms had no air conditioning and in the heat it was stifling and the fans didn’t do anything. Would definitely recommend.

Lovely outside seating, peaceful and relaxing especially with a drink

Stayed: August 2018, traveled on business
Thank andreablackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews