We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic business stay”
Review of Wivenhoe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wivenhoe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wivenhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel previously but not reviewed it before. Everything was as good, if not better than last time and I would definitley recommend this hotel. I stayed there for one night on business. The staff are great, the room was fantastic (I was in the modern garden wing) and the food was superb. I always know I'm in a good hotel when you get Molton Brown toiletries!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Christopher,

thank you so much for taking the time and giving us such positive and encouraging feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your repeat visit. We are continuously trying to challenge ourselves, professionals and students as a team, in order to improve service and standards. Receiving comments such as yours will certainly help boost morale amongst the entire team which I am always grateful for. Have a lovely Christmas and New Year and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Damir Terzic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Wivenhoe House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 702 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here as a birthday treat for by wife. The Hotel main building is impressive and the staff are professional and attentive. Breakfast in the brasserie was very good and the service excellent. What lets the place down is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. When we stayed in August it wasn't particularly hot outside (around 22c I think) but the room was oppressive and sleep was difficult. We asked at reception about this the next morning and they told us that they had no air conditioning because the Hotel is a listed building. Honestly? We stayed in the modern annexe. We can't see how the annexe could possibly be a listed building and shame on them for using that as an explanation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briggsie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing an online review. I was very pleased to read your overall comments about your experience during your stay back in August. Due to the very warm summer that we experienced we had upgraded all bedrooms with in-room fans. Please also rest assured that feedback with regards to air-conditioning units is being internally discussed and reviewed. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to Wivenhoe House. Regards, Damir Terzic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We treated ourselves to a one night stay in the Wivenhoe House. From the Check in which was very friendly and efficient over room service and the restaurant everything was an excellent and in details perfect. The new room in which we stayed was very modern decorated with luxury small details.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Many thanks for your fantastic comments. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback will certainly boost morale of our professionals and students alike just in time before the start of the festive season. I very much look forward to seeing you back in the near future but also in 2014. Regards, Damir Terzic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We came as a group to enjoy a Sunday afternoon tea. We had been before and the house itself is just wonderfully decorated. The service was bery warm, welcoming and attentative despite it being very busy. The icing on the cake was the live guitarist that was playing in the lounges. Wonderful idea and such amazing ambience that all in our party decided we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCliveden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such great comments about your afternoon tea experience. I am delighted your party enjoyed the experience at Wivenhoe House and very much look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Damir Terzic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Booked with a red letter days voucher. Absolutely faultless service, and food was exceptional. The buildings and surroundings were lovely and we had a fantastic afternoon sitting enjoying the November sunshine (indoors!). The staff training here should be proud of their work, very rarely is such quality so uniform throughout all the staff, and really highlights how much many other establishments have to learn. Thanks for a great afternoon.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank piblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you so much for positive and very encouraging feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. The professional practitioners will very much appreciate your comments and be greatful to hear that their hard work in the past year is being recognised by our customers. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future. Regards, Damir Terzic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I visited Wivenhoe House on business for a day and it was one of the best hotel experiences ever. It is set in a traditional English building, beautifully renovated and modern interior design, accessible, lots of light and state of the art furniture.

The staff are very kind, helpful, keen to provide the utmost service. What I also love is that many of the staff are students in training there and as I am in the education sector, it is such a good feeling that money spent is going back into education.

The food is excellent, great choice of different dishes (a bit limited but available for special diets).

It is a walking distance from the University of Essex campus and a short bus ride from Essex city centre.

The price is above average, but for such a service and setting in the English countryside, it is more than acceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lekica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such positive comments. Our teams will be delighted to read your review as professionals and students alike work extremely hard in making every guests' experience a memorable one. Our students are being educated by our professinal team on the highest level of delivering excellent service in a beautiful four star environment, the reward not just being a university degree but also customer experiences and feedback such as yours. There is nothing more I could add to your wonderful comments apart from us very much looking forward to seeing you here in Essex again. Hvala lijepo, Damir Terzic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I booked a stay for one night for myself and my husband through Secret Escapes for a change of scenery and a night away during November. We were immediately upgraded to an executive room when booking in. The deal included a 3 course dinner and breakfast for 2 people. We were told we would be in the new annex (sometimes hotel annexes make you feel a bit like a 2nd class citizen but not this time). We were on the 2nd floor with a panoramic view around 2 sides of the building with a balcony stretching the whole way round overlooking the grounds. The staff were very helpful and attentive at all times. The food was excellent and plentiful. Breakfast included coffees, toast, buffet continental breakfast and then a choice from the cooked breakfast menu. In the room there was an up to the minute Apple TV/computer, automatic coffee maker and all the extras you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. All in all, would thoroughly recommend and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damir T, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Annette,

thank you so much for your excellent feedback. I am truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and can only agree with you that we always intend to treat all our guests as first class customers. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wivenhoe
1.7 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
2.1 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 23 in Colchester
173 reviews
9.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
304 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
142 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wivenhoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wivenhoe House

Address: Wivenhoe Park | Colchester, Wivenhoe, Colchester CO4 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Wivenhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wivenhoe
Price Range: $116 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wivenhoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-opened in June 2012 after a £10 Million refurbishment, Wivenhoe House Hotel is a 17th Century country house, which is also home to the Edge Hotel School. Students at the school work alongside professionals, as they study for their degree in Hotel Management. There are 40 rooms, 16 in the main house and 24 in the more modern garden wing. The brasserie offers breakfast lunch and dinner daily, and afternoon tea is served in the drawing room daily. The panoramic views over the wooded parkland tot he University of Essex, are stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wivenhoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wivenhoe House Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe House England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing