We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”
Review of Wivenhoe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wivenhoe House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wivenhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed in the garden wing, furnished to a very high standard.
Many thanks to Craig for his knowledge on the local area and friendly approach to my husband and I.
We would stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    150
    48
    34
    11
See reviews for
118
289
10
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed in the main building in one of the suites. Room was lovely & every detail had been thought of. Bathroom was huge with a free standing bath and double shower. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. We had dinner in the brasserie and the standard of food was excellent....best mussels I've had in years!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenJParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband studied at Essex University in the late '80s and when we were invited to an evening to celebrate the History department's 40th anniversary we decided to stay at Wivenhoe House. The hotel has just been refurbished (completed on 20th September this year and re-opened by HRH Duke of Kent) and this latest reincarnation is stunning. The decor is magnificent and the building retains many original features (do take your time to look at the ceilings!) We were given a free upgrade to a suite (from a deluxe double) and found our room to be HUGE and very comfortable. It could have done with some more / bigger furniture to fill the vast space, but this didn't detract from its appeal. We had wonderful views of the lawns and the playing fields beyond, as well as the fantastic new ultra-modern wing, which is brave and bold and works wonderfully here. This really should be a five star hotel.

Above all, the staff were amazing. Their pride is palpable. Nothing was too much trouble - putting parking permits in the car, carrying our bags, booking taxis....After the evening event we were hungry and phoned from the centre of town to see if we could get some food delivered to our room for when we got back. Although a full room service menu wasn't available the staff did offer us sandwiches. In the end, we settled for fish and chips from the chip bar in town (!) and they were more than happy for us to eat our food in the room. They brought up plates, cutlery, salt, vinegar, tomato sauce, wine and water. The service was as good if not better than any five star London hotel.

The next morning we overslept. We were offered a late check out and, because we had missed breakfast, the kitchen sent up a continental breakfast to our room, plus cereals and juice as we requested. I wish we'd had a chance to eat here.

We'll definitely go back. Hopefully they will have a well deserved firth star by then.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Perfect!

Probably the best hotel experience I've had in the UK to date.

A one night stay in the modern wing. An excellent bedroom, quality furnishings and fittings throughout. Balcony, open aspect, parkland view. Pristine bathroom, no bath, large shower.

A recently completed major refurbishment of the main house with a new build modern wing; the hotel is immaculately presented throughout and an amazing place to stay.

Really enjoyed the fine dining experience in the Signatures restaurant. Fine cuisine, excellent service, good wine selection. Similar experience with breakfast served in the Brasserie. Quality food in modern surroundings great service.

If you are looking for somewhere really special. The Wivenhoe House will fill the bill!

The Wivenhoe House website is an accurate representation of the hotel, An absolute pleasure to stay somewhere offering this standard of accommodation, cuisine and service.

Room Tip: Take your pick. While you still can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

What a gem! Having heard so much about the hotel and the changes following a major renovation I visited earlier this week. None of the things I heard were exaggerated. From attention to the tiniest detail to tastefully decorated rooms all in a different style to excellent workmanship throughout. This is definitely the best I have seen in a long time. To top it all I have a scrumptious lunchtime meal at the Brasserie - Dedham Vale pave steak. It was so juicy and tender. No surprise here, the chef is one of Essex’s finest – Paul Boreman.
What is really amazing is that although this hotel is also used as a training school – The Edge Hotel School, I could not spot the students. The avant-garde new concept of blending a four star hotel with the latest cutting edge education is working very well here. So well done to all at Wivenhoe House Hotel for making me feel so welcome and giving me a fantastic eating experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elli_Constantatou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I phoned the hotel to make a reservation for dinner. Unfortunately, because of the receptionist's poor grasp of English I gave up. I asked her several questions about the menu but she could only understand times and dates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastAnglian38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe H, Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
As a four star, luxury country house hotel, we pride ourselves on having both International clientele and International staff. We firmly believe that this allows us to take advantage of our regions excellent links to the most cosmopolitan Capital in the world and our popularity as a tourism centre. We are sorry that on this occasion you were unhappy with the service you received, however we can assure that our experienced professionals are more than happy to find a member of our team more suited to your needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I visited the brasserie today for a work related meal, there was some confusion at the beginning regarding numbers attending but this was quickly sorted- even when someone turned up unexpectedly. Service was ok, drinks weren't refilled - we had to ask for another bottle of water, and noting that we were a quite large group, it was still quite slow. Food was excellent - especially the dessert - a coconut parfait - very nice. The brasserie seemed to lack some atmosphere, this might change once it is more established, but the food is definitely worth returning for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank supersonicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe H, Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
That coconut parfait is something a bit special isn't it! I'm sorry if the service was a little slow for you, i will make sure our F&B manager looks into it. The service style of the Brasserie is very much relaxed as a brasserie would be with guests allowed to pour their own drinks as they wish without a waiter 'hovering'. An informal style of eating is what we are hoping to achieve, although we do take your comments on board. I would recommend the Chocolate Brownie, Chef is deservedly known for it! For a fine dining occasion i would recommend you try Signatures for a real foodie experience, it is truly unique to our region with a style of cuisine that our Chef has gained a formidable reputation for. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wivenhoe
1.7 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
9.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
532 reviews
2.1 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
294 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
120 reviews
2.5 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 23 in Colchester
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wivenhoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wivenhoe House

Property: Wivenhoe House
Address: Wivenhoe Park | Colchester, Wivenhoe, Colchester CO4 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Wivenhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wivenhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wivenhoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-opened in June 2012 after a £10 Million refurbishment, Wivenhoe House Hotel is a 17th Century country house, which is also home to the Edge Hotel School. Students at the school work alongside professionals, as they study for their degree in Hotel Management. There are 40 rooms, 16 in the main house and 24 in the more modern garden wing. The brasserie offers breakfast lunch and dinner daily, and afternoon tea is served in the drawing room daily. The panoramic views over the wooded parkland tot he University of Essex, are stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Wivenhoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wivenhoe House Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe House England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing