We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great view”

Waters Edge Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 18 Restaurants in Hamble
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value, great view”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We ate here on a Sunday evening with friends who were using the marina. We've eaten here before which was why we'd recommended it and we were not disappointed.

It was very quiet although we learned that they'd only just cleared away after hosting 60 people for a 60th birthday party! There is a good choice on the menu plus a selection of specials. My husband reckoned it was one of the best fish and chips he's had and I was especially enamoured of the homemade tartare sauce! All the food was very well cooked, the service was excellent and the views are pretty special too.

All in all, would heartily recommend Waters Edge and we'll definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Metchick08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    27
    20
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Totton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really Good”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Really good food, a delightful setting overlooking the River Hamble and excellent service from very friendly staff made it a very enjoyable experience for two friends and myself when we payed a visit for lunch.
The Resturant is very clean and comfortable and there is a good menu choice. Look forward to another visit soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BunnyGirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, view and staff”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I arranged my dad's surprise 70th birthday celebration at Waters Edge and Nick and all the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was wonderful and the staff were fantastic. It was a wonderful setting and definitely an afternoon to remember. Nick was extremely helpful and provided lots of suggestions to make the day extra special. All our friends commented that they had a wonderful time and loved the food. I would definitely recommend Waters Edge and visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a lovely meal here, the food was excellent. The staff and service were very good, and the location is fantastic.
Would definatly recommend to anyone, will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steve1093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had very nice meal here, staff friendly, food good and very reasonbly priced, lovely setting overlooking the boats on the River Hamble.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank orac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waters Edge Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Hamble, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Waters Edge Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing