We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,458)
Filter reviews
2,458 results
Traveler rating
680
850
545
239
144
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
680
850
545
239
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course peppa pig sauna and steam room swimming pool leisure facilities lovely hotel bar food cooked breakfast enjoyable stay a lovely stay plenty of parking an overnight stay one night stay feature room winchester restaurant new forest slippers
Filter
Updating list...
854 - 859 of 2,458 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2016

We arrived and was greeted but a full car park, which is a sign of a good hotel, checked in and got to the room, very comfortable but very dated, we found the white paint on the walls were very clinical, in our opinion needs some colourful pictures to give it a lift. There were fresh fruit, bottle of wine and some chocolates in the room which was a nice touch. We went to explore the hotel spa etc and found that there was hardly anyone around, so don't know where all,the people were from the cars in the carpark. Evening meal some of the food looked and tasted if it had been microwaved especially the desserts, there was only 10 people in the restaurant so maybe the main chef was off that night ??again could do with a bit of money spent on the decor and chairs etc as its looking very tired.
Breakfast was better food cooked to order and was plentiful.
The staff were all very nice and very helpful which made the stay more pleasant.
All in all the stay was good, but the hotel needs some money spent on it to give it a new lease of life then it will attract more customers in our opinion.
Still can't understand the carpark is full but not many guests in the hotel unless pepole have stayed over in the hotel and left their cars there for the cruises!!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2016

I appreciate your comments about the decor of the hotel and I will discuss these with owner.
We have employed a full time painter to assist with our on-going refurbishment and I will explore the improvements that we could make in the future.

In regard to the cars, we are fully booked on many occasions and we do have extensive function facilities, with many of our guests possibly attending a private event.
We do also offer Park and Cruise packages.

Please be assured that there is not a microwave in the kitchen and that all the food is freshly prepared to order.
Thank you for your feedback and I trust that you will see improvements, should you stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

Arrived Friday night. Checked in very efficiently. The check in was the most efficient and friendly I have ever experienced. A really good start to the stay. We put our things in our room and went straight to the restaurant as we had 30 minutes before it closed. We were given the menu before being seated to check it is where we wanted to eat. We were told that the bar serves burger and chips and there closing time. We stayed and ate in the restaurant and was looked after well. Food was really good. Breakfast in morning excellent. Room service on the night was not so good, but the staff were really good a resolving what had gone wrong. When I checked billing morning with reception another rooms drinks had been put on outbuildings which was promptly removed. WiFi was poor during our two night stay. The pool and steam room was lovely, clean and quiet at 7.30 am. All staff employed in the hotel are excellent. Just let down by the poor WiFi. The room service mix up understandable and professionally corrected.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lsinshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write with your comments and I am pleased to read the positive points of your stay, especially those about the staff.
I will of course, look into the shortcomings. It does seem that we had an issue with the Wi-Fi, as this is usually very good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

I stay at the botley park several times a month for work in the area. I choose this hotel as Rooms are clean and quiet and have Everything you need for a business stay. Would recommend to anyone looking for a business hotel in the area.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and I am pleased to read that your regular visits are enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

In many (most) ways a really excellent hotel which lets itself down seriously by its poor approach to providing WiFi access. One simply expects modern hotels to make this available - without pushing its customers to some data-harvesting thrid party

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2016

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and I am sorry that you feel the Wi-Fi offered is not to your satisfaction.
The Wi-Fi offered throughout all the Macdonald properties is 'The Cloud' which is usually a very good service and is free to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

Other chain hotels are better.
Credit card fees are ridiculous.
Service is slow in the sports bar and at breakfast.
Portion at breakfast was too small for something so expensive.
Breakfast was average.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 951devinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2016

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit and that you felt breakfast to be too small.
We do get many positive comments about our breakfast buffet and the quantity of food available.
I will discuss your comments about the service with the F&B team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews