We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a lovely relaxing break. Our spa treatments were fantastic & the staff were very friendly but professional. We had 2 twin rooms (4 guests) which were spacious & clean.
Afternoon tea when we arrived was fantastic, freshly prepared sandwiches, cake & warm scones. Breakfast was also very good with beautifully presented range of fruits, cereal, meats & cheeses. Cooked breakfast was also available. Every member of staff we spoke to were polite & friendly remembering us on the 2nd day.
We felt that the hotel was a little dated, the soft furnishings very drab. A childrens playpen in the reception area does not make a good impression. Also soundproof the treatment rooms, children playing in the pool & doors slamming spoil the relaxing ambience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, the hotel is planning to undergo a refurbishment in the near future and this will include the SPA and Leisure facilities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    738
    410
    189
    94
See reviews for
571
776
30
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Brélade,Jersey.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Botley Park as a group of friends had organised a golf competition at the course attached to the hotel
Our rooms were not ready on time but the hotel is so outdated , long corridors almost like Butlins of bygone years

The staff we very helpful and friendly but the food was terribly disappointing

I understand the course is going to be demolished for houses and the hotel is to be saved regrettably I think it should be the other way round

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Govind4856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, the hotel is planning to undergo a refurbishment in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My first day here had afternoon tea which was lovely warm scones fresh cream and jam just had treatment Was perfect facial very relaxing.. Room has nice bottle of water we arrived early no problem checking us in room all ready for us.. Looking forward to tomorrow's treatments and checking out the pool! Defiantly recommend !

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lucyj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I have visited botley park previously about 6 years ago... Possibly before peppa pig even existed. Like so many reviewers before me, the sheer volume of small children ruins this hotel for the adults. We visited as a group of ladies (teachers) looking for an adult getaway during half term. The kids really are everywhere. But this really became an issue in the pool. We had been sold a "spa break package"... Never in my life have I been to a spa which allowed children in the pool and the sauna and steam rooms. Our spa treatments were fabulous but the relaxed feeling doesn't last long sitting by that pool. The changing rooms and pool area feel like a leisure centre.
The staff were amazing though 5 stars for them! And the dinner in the restaurant was also very very good.
It is with regret that I say, as long as peppa pig packages exist, I will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Channam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments I am sorry that you felt the mix of families and other guests was not what you would expect however during holidays the area is very busy with families visiting for attractions and we do limit the amount of family business we take this is not unique to Botley park .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothel, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A very pleasant hotel with a very nice restaurant, and friendly staff too.
The rooms are comfortable.. Makes for a good place to stay when going on a cruise and need a nice place to relax after a long drive.

Room Tip: No lift but help with the luggage was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Decided to go 'up market' after 3 nights camping. Room was okay, they put up 2 z beds for the kids, not that comfortable. Dinner came to £104 with wine. Was cheaper as was stay and meal deal. Would have been £122 otherwise. Sent back pigeon starter as cold. Was reheated and was then tough. Waiter gave free glass of wine for this. Later in meal coffee was very cold again apologies from waiter. Rest was cooked well but not tasty. Bit disappointed had nicer food at other Macdonalds. Breakfast was good. Spa pool was small and slippery, lockers frustrating, both me and partner told by locals to not bother locking them as the electronic locks never work, mine didn 't. Would stay at a cheaper option in future. Had N espresso machine in room which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GME1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments I am sorry that you did not have a great experience, we have very few bad comments regarding the restaurant and I am sorry for this. We will soon be undergoing a refurbishment of our SPA and leisure facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Well positioned hotel in order to reach Southampton so visited Winchester then stayed overnight, getting to Cruise terminal in about 25 minutes. Good size car park and friendly reception staff. Standard room on first floor okay but no lifts - offered assistance with luggage but did it ourselves. Comfortable enough room with view of golf course. Bed tended to slope inwards but otherwise fine. Dined in the restaurant which was perfectly fine - not outstanding, but fine as was breakfast the following morning.

Room Tip: Avoid room adjacent to fire door if possible as they can slam during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CruiseInvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope the cruise was fantastic too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
6.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Property: Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing