We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked the weekend for a birthday celebration. Rooms had everything we needed tea, coffee and complimentary bottle of water.
Bed comfortable and bathroom fine.
Really enjoyed playing golf in the sun followed by a swim.
Had a good meal in the restaurant and also had bar food and everyone enjoyed the food.
Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indytv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,873 - 1,879 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for a 2 for 1 day trip to Peppa Pig World and would highly recommend this to everyone planning to visit PPW.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the chap on reception and he made my daughter feel included in the whole process - even giving her own key card to the room with Peppa Pig on (great excitement for a 2 1/2 year old!)

Nothing was too much to ask for from the staff on duty - we had to change room due to us having a double bed rather than 2 singles but again the chap at reception was brilliant and changed the room straight away and housekeeping came 10 minutes later to set up the camp bed in the new room.

We stayed on the night of the 10th of July and I cannot remember the name of the chap on reception but would be grateful for someone to pass on our great thanks for his service - he is a credit to your company and this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break at the Botley park hotel. We booked this hotel to coincide with the Goodwood Festival of Speed as we had tickets. First impressions of the hotel were excellent as you drove in as it was situated in the country, the reception staff were very helpful. We stayed in a classic room which was looking over the golf course, it was spotless, the bed was very comfortable, better than most I have slept in, we had fresh milk delivered to our room every night as well as ice which was lovely. Breakfast each morning was very good, a great selection of cereals, fruit croissants, meats, cheese, also a full english as well, lovely!! staff were very helpful, always asking if you want more toast, tea etc. We ate in the bar most nights and the food and staff were very nice. I would stay here again without a doubt. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrkdaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for business, decent size rooms, good size gym and swimming pool and OK service. Bar service was slow with a limited range of drinks, but standard for the Hotel type.

Rooms are a good size, plenty of cupboard space etc, but in my mind could do we some TLC... Note - I couldn't find a duvet per say, instead a sheet with a horrible woolly blanket!! Bathroom was O.K but on the small size... but overall as expected of the hotel range.

Breakfast was O.K.. apart from the hair on the plate which they dealt with straight away.

All in all a good stay and good night sleep... would return for a business trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just stayed here with 5 and 3 year old. Checked in about 6.15 after 20 min drive from PPW, had a splash in the hotel pool - dont expect a serious swim but great to cool off with the kids after a 30 degree plus day. Dinner from bar menu for kids and adults was about £35. Room was fine - enormous double bed and 2 zed beds for kids which were fine. Breakfast was perfect for the kids - great buffet selection of cereals, fruit, croissants, juices, yoghurt, then cooked breakfast too. Adult breakfast great - nicely soft poached eggs and all the rest. Staff largely not English, but all spoke good English and were great with the children. If we go back to PPW, this would be a no-brainer for a stopover again. Any parent will tell you happy kids = happy parents and our kids were very happy.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Alimarbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I generally post favourable reviews on TA of hotels I stay in. Sad to say I can't do so with this hotel....the good points;

waiting and bar staff were genuinely friendly and helpful but English isn't the first language of 90% of the staff so it was difficult to communicate at times.

breakfast was ok.

err..that's it

negative:

When booking we paid extra to stay in an exec room with direct views over the grounds. When we arrived we were told the room we were booked into was not ready but we had been upgraded to the 3rd floor.!! This was a room on the side of the hotel overlooking a grubby tennis court with a partial view of the grounds.

I complained strongly and although they said this was the type of room we had booked I insisted I paid extra for a central room at the rear with direct views across the grounds. We were offered another room that had an improved outlook. We had booked into dinner when I first booked and they had our room down as 207 which met the description of the room I originally paid extra for.....so I hadn't imagined it. The staff at reception were being rather disingenuous with the facts!!
nice start to our 3 day stay.

There are no lifts and corridors are long and you have to carry your luggage up stairs.

The hotel have locked down any use of wifi you may have on your phone or ipad.....you are blocked from using this. However for a fee you can purchase wifi from them. They offer free wifi in the communal areas...this lasts for a few minutes before it kicks you out and you are invited to buy their service. strangely you can't receive or send any texts or get calls.

due to large amount of club members using the car park it is difficult to find a space.

Breakfast was somewhat chaotic. staff at times were literally running in the restaurant carrying treays of hot food and drinks. We made the mistake of not ordering 2 fried breakfasts the first day and opted for boiled eggs (this was a menu option). We waited over 30 minutes for this to arrive and watched whilst 6t other guests who arrived after us were served fried breakfasts. I had to ask for our boiled eggs as we got fed up waiting. IT was also noted that the large golfing groups were given preference over 'normal' guests.

Sad to say we made the same mistake of going for boiled eggs again the 2nd day.....should have known better...waited 30 mins again whilst others were served first even though they arrived after us.

I tried to have a bath after a long day and when I tried to let some hot water out the tap would not work.

Although fridges are in each room they are all turned off as they don't offer a mini bar service anymore.


We had gone out for the day and rang up to request if we could have a bucket of ice for our room to chill some wine. We arrived back 2 hours later and there wasn't any ice.....they forgot!

We ordered room service....communication was difficult ..but I thought I had ordered a prawn sandwich and a club sandwich....we got a ham sandwich and club sandwich.

Drinks are v expensive...but only for guests as golf club members get a discount.


In summary this isn't a hotel but is basically a golf club with some rooms to let out. It may well have over 170 acres of landscaped grounds...but this is all set aside for the golf course. Staff were baffled when I asked if there was anywhere we could go in the grounds to walk and sit in the sun. I was advised we could not walk on any parts of the grounds as it was all in use by golfers. We were told we could sit in the patio outside the golf club bar. We decided to walk around the edge of the course and found a safe spot alongside a small copse that wouldn't intrude on the golf course.

I would say this is one of the most inadequate hotels I have stayed in for many years .....and it isn't cheap......no chance of a 2nd visit....give it a miss and stay in a proper hotel and save some money.

Room Tip: stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 54BJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last night. We booked the Peppa Pig package which included dinner, bed and breakfast and park tickets. Upon arrival at 10.30am one of the 2 interconnecting rooms were ready for us the drop the luggage before our adventure to Peppa Pig world. The room had a small fridge in which we stores the childrens milk and food. The food in the evening was excellent with the staff superb, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless and the beds comfortable. The travel cot provided was first class. Breakfast this morning again superb - everyone's needs catered for. It is not easy travelling with two children under 4 but the staff at the hotel made it simple. Thank you for a lovely weekend-we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieBattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
3.1 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,069 reviews
6 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range: $89 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing