We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We came here for the may bank holiday weekend as we were taking our little girl to peppa pig world which our daughter loved and would defo go back there and would recommend it, the hotel was lovely and made us feel very welcome, the only negative thing I have to say is that the bed gave me terrible back ache so struggled to have a goods nights sleep apart from that we had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    769
    450
    202
    109
See reviews for
602
814
33
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

From the minute you walk into the hotel the staff can't do enough to make your stay an enjoyable one. We had a meal in the restaurant (it was a bit pricey) however the quality of the food was superb. The hotel room was clean and had everything you would expect to find. We had a ground floor room and the only thing that bothered me was the lack of natural light due to the size of the window. As I requested a family room they were in fact two ajoining rooms which my children loved. The swimming pool was just a bonus to top off our overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkilianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived and checked in without problems, room functional but small and the double bed tiny.
Room clean and everything functional but without character.
The pool area is poor very dark and not particularly welcoming and the changing rooms are not up to spec.
The evening meal was good generally the food and service was OK but nothing special
Generally felt quite expensive for our stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londoner
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of the peppa pig package through paultons park so I expected something very child friendly. The reality was that they don't have cots big enough for a two year old, dinner time in the evening didnt start til 6.30 (too late for most toddlers I know), dinner was ridiculously overpriced for very average food (for kids and adults), the 'kids corner' consisted of a broken wendy house and other bits of broken toys you could not play with. Plus points were the swimming pool and our room being on the same level as everything else. All the staff were very lovely and accommodating. Breakfast was good :-).
I wouldn't go back for a kids / family break but can see the appeal if on a golfing break. The area is lovely and the nearby village is fab with a great italian restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leelee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

we have been in this hotel 2 times the rooms are clean and decorated with sobriety the hotel has a great availability to accommodate children, staff It is very professional and helpful we received an excellent treatment in the restaurant of the hotel which has accommodated to end the evening without reserve a table with a really excellent service especially from the waiter that Damian thank you very much for making us feel really welcome ...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcgmagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although the hotel was good - excellent evening meal, our one night stay plus golf was spoilt by the very poor state of the course. Many greens were covered in sand, and two were temporary greens, but the staff had not mentioned this before our round. We had already changed venues when our original choice had the good grace to inform us they would be working on the greens at the time of our stay.
Overall the course is flat and uninteresting and not a place to visit if looking for something a little special. However, the hotel was very good with the staff most helpful. The only downside, which has been mentioned before, is the ridiculous price of drinks which just cannot be justified. We were staying outside Southampton - not in the centre of London.!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin whalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Macdonald Hotel at Borley as we were taking my 2-year old girl to Peppa World not too far away.

Positive's - Pool was lovely, was exactly what me and my little girl needed after a walk around Peppa World. Very child friendly size and nice temperature. Bar staff nice & friendly

Negative's
1. We had a bar meal in the golf lounge area as we didnt want to annoy 'proper' diners in the restaurant (little girl too hyper) I had a curry and my wife the burger - with a small kids meal on the side. Food was OK and reasonabally priced (£33 for just the food). Once we aded on the drinks however (1 x Heiniken and 1 x Vodka/Mixer) the price rocketed up by £16 (an eye watering amount for which would usually charge £7 in central London). Disgraceful.
2. Breakfast cost was £15.50. We did buy vouchers but slept in and got this refunde. On this trip we stopped in the Radison in Liverpool - £10 each for breakfast - which although expensive is much more realistic than this scandalous amount. £15 is awful but adding an extra £0.50 to this amount is another disgrace.
3. We booked ealy via Late rooms - £101 for a 'spacious and luxurious' superior room - savouring extra comforts like (small) complimentary wine and (6) chocolates. For clarity, whilst nothing wrong with the room, it was nothing exciting and it certainly wasnt spacious (grd floor room)
4. My wife booked a treatment that was supposed to last for 1h 30m (£50). This lasted for 50 minutes. Treatment was nice but clearly didnt meet what was advertised so again, dissapointing. Overall I wouldnt stay in any Macdonalds hotel ever again mainly as a result of the rip offs and perceievd mis-information.

Cheers

Room Tip: dont stay on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homersimpson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Botley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botley
1.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,097 reviews
3.2 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
881 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,711 reviews
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton

Property: Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa is one of the finest ----four-star hotels in Southampton. Set in acres of beautiful countryside, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to Southampton airport, Eastleigh, Portsmouth and the M3, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. And if you are setting sail at the nearby port, then we're an ideal stopover destination before your exciting holiday begins. When the business or adventure of the day is done, unwind in our swimming pool or gym or thrash it out on our tennis or squash courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing