We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, delicious and excellent value”

King's Country Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Botley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Different, delicious and excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

A midweek supper with friends. This restaurant has a lovely relaxed atmosphere anyway, but with the log fire alight and the Christmas lights blinking, the ambience was perfect. There were not many other diners, sadly. The food is hearty in both ingredients and portion size. I had pigeon breasts wrapped in bacon, with lovely fat sausages in Yorkshire batter, with delicious creamy mashed potato and heavenly sweet onion gravy. Yum. The hearty portion size meant that I could not eat the second sausage! Nor could I manage a pudding, I settled for coffee instead. The other meal we sampled was roast belly pork with caramalised pear & mustard mash. My friends had room for puddings: brandy apple crumble with custard, and a chocolate & raspberry tart. Both were polished off without delay. And the special-offer house red wine was very good value. I thoroughly recommend this restaurant; it is attached to a horse riding school, which is very different environment, but in the summer the view of the paddocks is delightful and there is an indoor arena where you can watch lessons.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    51
    27
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Outside of restaurant doesn't do the inside justice. Once you have forgotten about the slight smell of horses you can really relax and enjoy a great atmosphere. The staff are welcoming and very helpful. A good range of food and prices to suit all. Being able to book a table is a great advantage.
I would visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing send off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

All staff very attentive, buffet food plentiful, hot and fresh - vegetables and gravy delivered to each table in a timely manner. Atmosphere appropriate for our situation (the passing of a friend) - a very fitting tribute that everyone attending has commented on favourably.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KickingKAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
654 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,142 helpful votes
“Warm room with open fire, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We visited in a group of four on a cold Friday night in November. The restaurant occupies the same premises as a riding school, sharing the same entrance at the end of the long car-park.
The bar/restaurant was very warm and welcoming with a log fire in the far corner. We sat on the edge of the restaurant that adjoins the riding area and could have watched proceedings there (which would have been rude to our fellow diners) had we drawn the curtains.

I ordered prawn and crab tian (£6.75). This was a surprisingly large portion, held together by mayonnaise and served with a freshly made glazed bread-roll and a dressed salad. It was an enjoyable starter, although the prawns predominated rather than the crab. My wife's starter, from the specials board, was deep-fried brie with cranberries; it was fractionally overcooked. For the main course I chose slow roasted belly pork (£16.95), served with mashed potato containing cabbage, a stewed pear and a rather good sauce made from pear, cider, mustard and cream. There was also a dish of three vegetables (beans, carrots and manges-touts). The piece of pork was much better than is usually served for such a dish, with a heavy meat content rather than the normally interleaved fat from this cut. It was a very tasty and enjoyable dish, expertly cooked.

We drank London Pride beer and Chilean sauvignon blanc by the glass, both of which were fine. The service was excellent and very friendly, despite (or perhaps because of...) the youth of the servers.

I barely noticed any whiff of horses from the nearby horse facilities. No doubt it is more apparent on a warm day. All in all, we had a very enjoyable evening and enjoyed some good food. The only weak link was the coffee, which was a small portion, not particularly hot and probably filter coffee from a jug rather than freshy made on top-class equipment, but this is only a small gripe.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Yes,yes,yes,yes etc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yes,you can get a whiff of the riding school, --but--that's where it is. Yes, you always get a pleasant greeting from the staff which includes the owners---lovely guys. Yes, the menu is great--- so many choices of favourite dishes but with a twist, e.g. "Flying toad in the hole" sausage with pigeon breast in yorkshire pudding. On offer, at the moment, a bottle of wine with your meal for under £10. Yes-- we have dined here at least 7 or 8 times in the past 5 years, family celebrations, plus cosy twos' and never been disappointed. November-- a roaring log fire,, in the summer a pleasant outdoor patio with open aspect across the horse fields.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bojangles381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Country Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Botley, Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Botley, Southampton
Botley, Southampton
 

Been to King's Country Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing