We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BEST”
Review of Netley Abbey

Netley Abbey
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Netley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These romantic ruins dating from the 13th century have been a source of inspiration for many 18th-century writers and poets such as Horace Walpole and Thomas Gray.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

England has many fine old ruins of castles, keeps and abbeys but Netley Abbey would have to be up there amongst the best on offer.

Unfortunately we went in the middle of the week and it was closed so we had to go back on the weekend but it was well worth the trip. It is a fine example of ancient history and even though it is in ruins you could still feel the majesty of the place. If you stood in the centre of the Abbey and closed your eyes you could just imagine and hear the chant of the monks as they went about their daily rituals.

I am not sure if they would allow it but it would be a great place to get married at, especially in summer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    45
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
229 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“relax”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Medium sized Cistercian Abbey close to Southampton & Country Park (English Heritage sitre).
Ruins has good walls & arches far more than just floor plans Nice grounds to picnic or relax in

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonUKAndy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Netley Abbey”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

It's a nice experience to wander around the ruins and imagine how it was before.. It's very peacefukl there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of history”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Loved being able to walk in and out of the ruins. perfect on a sunny day

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

What a gem! My husband and I ended up visiting Netley Abbey simply because it was one of the few completely free trust properties within our usual "picnic distance" range. We arrived with very few expectations outside of a pretty building, and we were so pleasantly surprised with what we found instead.

Netley Abbey has a long history - too long to really go into in detail on a review of the property. Signs here or there throughout the property explain in detail what certain rooms were used for, when, and how. More than this, however, we were fascinated with the architecture. The lines and arches, the old friar's building, the open sanctuary - Visiting Netley is a spiritual experience in itself, and we left feeling completely renewed and refreshed just for having sat within it for a hour or more.

My only note for potential visitors: most is accessible with a wheelchair with the exception of a few gentle steps here or there. These can be avoided by other entrances to the same rooms, though. Also, there are no lavatory facilities on site, food, or lock facilities. Parking is limited to about 4-6 cars, dependent on how one parks, but is only a few metres away from the abbey itself.

If you're on a budget but you still want to experience a beautiful bit of English history, we'd recommend Netley Abbey to anyone. Pack a lunch and pop down!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Madison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Netley Abbey also viewed

 

Been to Netley Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing