We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherry Tree House
Ranked #1 of 1 Southbourne B&B and Inns
Dortmund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed two weeks at the lovely Cherry Tree House for visiting an English course. Maxine and Phil were very friendly, helpful, considerate and open minded hosts and made me feel heartily welcom, just from the beginning. The house is quiet and modern refurbished and furnished, nevertheless the charme of the 1920s has been conserved a little bit. I like that very much. No problem with parking. My room, better said: little apartment, was comfortable, clean and tidy. Shower and bed were excellent as well, everthing was perfect. I wish them both all the best for the future and many more happy guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this lovely B&B twice this summer and hope to visit more often next year. Maxine and Phil are such lovely people who make you feel very welcome in their gorgeous home that from the moment you arrive nothing is too much trouble. Their house is situated on the corner of a quiet residential road just a few minutes walk from Southbourne beach with plenty of on street parking. The garden is lovingly tended and immaculate as is the interior of Cherry Tree House which is beautifully decorated throughout. Every detail in the two bedrooms are thought of with everything complimenting the room's decor (even down to the cups) and all good quality from the furniture to the glasses and towels. Both rooms are a good size, bright and airy, having large very comfortable beds with quality linen (providing an excellent nights sleep), a wardrobe, chest of drawers, full length mirror, bedside tables/lamps, extra seating and luxury full length curtains to keep out the early morning sun. A welcome tray with a variety of teas (including herbal), coffee, biscuits and bottled water is provided along with fresh milk in a small flask that Maxine delivers to your room (so much better than those awful UHT cartons!). A hairdryer is also available for your use which is stored in the wardrobe. The spotless ensuite consists of toilet, wash basin, excellent power shower, heated towel rail, good quality towels and complimentary toiletries for your use. Everything looks and smells so fresh and clean in Cherry Tree House! The Lily Room overlooks the front garden and the Lavender Room the back.

Breakfasts here are a pleasure; from the attention to detail in the light and airy dining room to the fine quality bone china, cutlery and of course the delicious food itself. You choose from a menu the night before which includes plenty of choice ranging from a light continental breakfast, to scrambled/poached eggs, to a full English. The food is good quality, tasty, well cooked and nicely presented and if I recall correctly, served between 8.30-9.30am (times are fairly flexible). Maxine really knows how to lay a table well and present everything to look so appealing; a large dining table is laid out with good quality produce including: Dorset cereals, chilled yogurts, fresh fruit salad, chilled fruit juices in antique glass jugs and a variety of delicious homemade preserves (lemon & lime marmalade being my favourite). It really is the little details that make this B&B special and stand out from the rest, such as the small slices of butter served on a plate for your morning toast rather than those miniature catering packs of butter/preserves. Aswell as preserves, Maxine also makes her own bread and always asks if you would like extra toast, tea or coffee. Breakfast can be as leisurely as you wish and you never feel rushed, in fact, Maxine enjoys chatting with her guests and takes a genuine interest.

Maxine and Phil are kind, friendly people who will happily chat and make you feel totally at home and although we only stayed one night on each occasion, we really felt like we got to know them. They are perfectly suited as B&B hosts because you can tell they like people and this makes you feel both relaxed and welcome. Maxine is front of house while Phil tends the beautiful garden (as I'm sure Maxine does too when she's not busy hosting) and we look foward to staying again next summer and hopefully trying one of Maxine's afternoon teas. After staying at various Southbourne B&B's, this will be our first port of call when visiting in future as it feels more like staying with friends than at a B&B and you only have to read the TA reviews to see how much Maxine and Phil put into making their lovely home so welcoming to their guests; it's the hosts and little details that make Cherry Tree House special and for this, they fully deserve their 5* rating!

Room Tip: There is very little to choose between the rooms as both are bright, very comfortable and quiet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Hols_4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Received a really warm, friendly welcome from Maxine and Phil. Our room was immaculate, shower excellent, bed comfortable and the breakfasts were of a very high standard. All our needs were catered for in a really thoughtful manner. In addition it was very handily positioned for the various beaches in the area. We would certainly use this B&B again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbage, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Although we only stayed 1 night, that was sufficient to realise how lucky we were to find Cherry Tree House. Beautifully decorated, friendly owners, well laid out bedroom, very clean and tidy, home made bread and jams with breakfast, quiet location and walking distance to the beach. What more could you ask for? Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I spent two weeks in Maxine and Phil's beautiful house, while I was working in a school in town. They have been very welcoming with me and I really felt home as soon as I arrived. I was treated with great food, home-made bread and jam, and even more important to me, nice moments of chat with my hosts! The rooms and the whole house is very clean, lighty, and nice, and the area of Southbourne is a good place to stay, I had good walks on the close beach, took a bus to pretty places around, etc.. Definitely and adress to recommend. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellville
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I have just spent 12 nights at Cherry Tree House B&B. When we arrived Maxine welcomed us at the door and we entered to the smell of freshly baked bread. Maxine had the room ready for us early as we came from Canada and needed a nap to recover from jet lag. We have stayed at other B&Bs in the area over the years but Cherry Tree House is by far the best. Our room was spotlessly clean and for the first time ever we had enough hangers and storage space for all of our clothes. In addition there were little lavender bags in the dresser drawers and hanging from closet hangers so everything smelled lovely. Cherry Tree House is located on a very quiet street and so we awoke every morning to the sound of birds singing. The bed was always made up with fresh, crisp, white bed linens with pretty coloured trim that were changed regularly and the matress was very comfortable. There were sheer white curtains over the windows for privacy in the daytime but also heavy curtains we closed in the evening so the room was dark for sleeping. The window was a big bay window so by opening the side windows we had a lovely fresh, cool breeze in our room overnight. All of these things resulted in us sleeping very well every night. The bathroom had all new fixtures, was spotlessly clean, the shower had lots of water pressure and hot water and there were large, soft, absorbant fluffy towels for our use. Maxine serves a full cooked English breakfast but we prefer lighter breakfasts. We had granola, yogourts, orange juice, fresh fruits, toasted homemade bread, homemade jams/preserves, fresh coffee and peppermint tea each morning. Maxine treated us to different homemade breads (with different seeds, nuts and dates etc), a variety of fresh cut-up fruits (melons, strawberries and pineapple etc) and about 5 different homemade jams (her lemon & lime marmalade is "to-die-for") throughout our stay. We felt like we were a part of their family and Maxine actually gave us a jar of her homemade lemon & lime marmalade to take home with us. We were welcome to enjoy their lovely back garden and we saw both Maxine and Phil meticulously caring for the many flowers and manicured lawn throughout our stay. Suffice to say, we will certainly try to stay at Cherry Tree House on all of our subsequent visits to the UK. Our only fear about Cherry Tree House is that since this B&B is so very perfect in every way and combined with the reasonable tariff, that it may be difficult to get a reservation the next time we return to the UK! Maxine and Phil, many thanks we hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: We looked at both rooms when we arrived and they were both lovely. We chose the Lavender Room as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay_in_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just spent a lovely time in Cherry Tree House, Maxine and Phil were great hosts and there fresh baked bread was wonderful. A very clean and comfortable stay, immaculately turned out room, quiet surroundings, would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbourne
0.8 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#10 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Guest House
Beach Lodge Guest House
#2 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waters Reach Guest House
Waters Reach Guest House
#3 of 32 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree House

Property: Cherry Tree House
Address: 23 Douglas Road, Southbourne BH6 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Southbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Southbourne
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing