We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amberley Castle
Nearby Hotels
Chequers Hotel(Pulborough)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Inn(Fittleworth)(Great Value!)
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Norfolk Arms Hotel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roundabout Hotel(West Chiltington)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Arundel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
$78
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Angmering Manor(Angmering)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveler rating
662
177
79
40
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
177
79
40
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhirlpool bathtasting menufour poster bedgrounds are stunningcastle wallspre dinner drinksrelais and chateauxupgraded to a suitemichelin starwhite peacocksouth downsbirthday treatclassic roomsitting roomchristmas decorationsmodern bathroomcream tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
853 - 858 of 975 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had afternoon tea with 6 family members earlier this week and the attention to detail was poor i.e. had to wait 20 mins before the first service of sandwiches/cakes was served with no explanation of what things were. We fully expected the rest of the food to be brought straight out but we had to request same! There was no clotted cream but there was an explanation of the food! I did complain and the Gentleman in charge did apologise and gave us a bottle of fizz - this was appreciated but the gesture didn't improve the service. We had to ask 3 times for spoons for the small desserts to no avail so ended up using our teaspoons. Little things like the tea not being poured all added to our disapointment - previous visits have always been wonderful. I did feel like we had the 'B' team on duty and at £30 per head felt let down particularly as this was a special visit to celebrate my daughter just getting married and headig off on honeymoon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheresaChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber1103, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Theresa
Thank you for your resent post regarding your visit to Amberley Castle for tea; I will be looking into this and will come back to you directly. If I can be of any further assistance in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me at the castle.
Kind Regards
Oliver Smith
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I can't really add much more than has been said by other guests. Amberley castle really is a very special place to stay.
Try and go in spring or summer to get the most from the grounds as they are lovely.

If you are unable to stay the night as it is rather expensive, it is well worth going for Sunday Lunch to at least get a feel for the place.

Stunning as always and many thanks to the staff - I look forward to seeing the rooms inside the walls when they have been redecorated.

Room Tip: The majority of them are stunning and the hotel is under going a refit in 2013 so many inside the walls will have updated decor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robrigton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

As you drive up to the castle it is simply stunning! Beautiful place, like stepping back in time - they even close the gates at night!
Dinner was lovely, in a gorgeous room upstairs - Sommelier was fantastic, try and have a chat with him he is very knowledgable. Slightly slow service before dinner and at breakfast, but didnt really bother us as we werent in a rush.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinyUmbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a fairy tale castle which does not disappoint. The grounds are superbly kept and the standard is very high. The hotel is clean and well looked after and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is good. My only slightly negative point was that, on occasion, the reception desk was under staffed which meant that service levels slipped. However, overall a very positive experience which lived up to our previous stay.

Room Tip: The Amberly or Arundel suites are both excellent and quirky. They overlook the courtyard gardens and are bright.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We treated ourselves to a day at Goodwood races and decided to make a weekend of it by staying at an hotel in the area. Amberley Castle is set in beautiful grounds. Our room was very comfortable, with a lovely, traditional bathroom ensuite. The staff were helpful, polite and attentive and we were made to feel very welcome. Dinner in the restaurant was a highlight - the menu was traditional, but included some very interesting combinations. The wine list is extensive including many good value wines as well as fine vintage wines and Champagne. We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay and would definitely consider another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MFogwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews