We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would we go back...........No”
Review of Amberley Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amberley Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Ivinghoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Would we go back...........No”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location, lovely staff, lovely breakfast, lovely room..........except no privacy in the bathroom, no milk for tea and coffee.

We have stayed in nicer hotels which are better value.

If you did the 4 in a Bed rating system.......... It wouldn't get 10/10 for cleanliness.

The prices charged are for exclusivity, with 2 other couples in the castle not exactly busy.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber1103, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we welcome all guest feedback both complimentary and constructive criticism. I have taken on board your comments and will look into them. Thank you for your kind words about my staff. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at the castle.
Kind Regards
Oliver Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    157
    66
    37
    14
See reviews for
103
585
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinner
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We decided to have an Easter getaway hoping for some nice weather the hotel was wonderful. The staff were very attentive and could not fault them. The food was very good but a little too nouveau cuisine for us. We stayed in Winchelsea room which was very comfortable. The new bathroom was excellent with a double shower. Rooms had complimentary water, fruit and biscuits. Unfortunately could not get the room warm enough as it was -2 overnight. I would recommend the hotel if you like good food and relaxing public rooms

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JONBAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltdean
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had waited many years to stay at Amberley and although the setting is indeed lovely and the staff very friendly we were disppointed with some aspects.Our room was not very comfortable and overcrowded with furniture. The phones were not working and the toiletries and tea/coffee facilities a bare minimum.We had an excellent evening meal but the breakfast was appalling. The service was slow and the food was cold with very little variety eg.one croissant, no cold meats or cheese and 2 glasses of fruif juice.

Room Tip: Pay for a luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saltdeancatlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber1103, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Amberley Castle.
I am sorry to hear that you left disappointed, I have taken on board your comments and will feed these back to the relevant departments. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at the Castle.
Kind Regards
Oliver Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Despite the wintery weather and snow flurries, we enjoyed our stay at Amberly Castle. A few cheerful daffodils and an unfailingly cheerful staff made our visit warm and hospitable. The dinners were first rate and the service perfection. If you visit, after appreciating the grounds, be sure and stroll into the village of Amberly. It has some of the most beautiful thatched cottages imaginable, no shopping, but chatty villagers. Admittedly, the price is high, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noni40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I took friends to afternoon tea on Friday. Horrid weather so we arrived almost an hour early - no problem... Could we sit by a fire? No problem... I see some on here didn't like the cakes... I did, the lovely sumptuous rich carrot cake with its soft icing was super and the lemon cake was heaven. we made sure we left as little as possible as it was all too good to waste. delicious little fruit tartlets... the scones were slightly on the dry side, but that is only to mention the only such comment of the afternoon... lovely pots of fresh clotted cream, and open pots of fresh jams etc.. We liked (and finished) the sandwiches, although with a vegetarian (as well as someone who doesn't like mustard) we did have to ask for a few alternatives, but again - no problem! We were warm, comfortable, served amiably, efficiently and with charm and we left stuffed after about 3 hours! It was a wonderful tea and I can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Enjoyed THE most wonderful afternoon tea @ Amberley Castle.Luxurious but relaxed and comfortable, the food was absolutely perfect, Delicate enough {as it should be} in yet substantial it was faultless..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchard10-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Took up an offer for a set Sunday lunch and was not disappointed. Value for money and a nice treat. Would highly recommend. Courteous staff, excellent food and wine. Coffee taken elsewhere, followed by a stroll around the grounds and the ramparts.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wobblington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
14.1 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,584 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
24.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
10.8 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberley Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley Castle

Property: Amberley Castle
Address: Church Street, Amberley BN18 9ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberley Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Amberley Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley Castle Hotel Amberley
Castle Hotel Amberley
Amberley Arundel Castle
Amberley Castle England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing