We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous in lots of ways” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amberley Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amberley Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous in lots of ways”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booking into Amberley Castle was a most pleasant experience, the staff were so pleasant and positive. Arrival at the castle was equally pleasant with staff offering to park the car and to help us to our room. Unfortunately we couldn't have the room we had booked because there were too many stairs and no liftHowever they most courteously showed us to another room with no stairs whixh was smaller but very comfortable. We went to the lounge and had a pre-dinner drink, no drinks list or prices!!! Later when we received our final bill we found that they charge £16 for an ordinary double scotch (Grouse) and £8 for a single gin and tonic. The meal was very ordinary although dressed up to be fancy and very expensive. At all times the staff were exceptionally helpful and polite
The grounds of the castle were sensational and the views outstanding.
The moral is that it is well worth a visit but eat and drink elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    150
    62
    37
    13
See reviews for
96
548
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

A Magnificent 900 year old castle set in extensive immaculate grounds. Some of the furnishing a little 'tired" but the new owners (owners of Gidleigh Park) are totally refurbishing after Christmas and judging from the "Gidleigh" experience the new standards are likely to be extremely high. The food was a little hit and miss. Michael Caines has not yet had time to make the necessary changes to the kitchen but I am sure that when the hotel reopens in March the standards will be high. I have booked again for shortly after it reopens ad I am sure that I will see dramatic improvements.
Rooms inside the castle grounds and the main building in particular are most interesting. It is the only place that I have stayed where the Portcullis is lowered at midnight!

Room Tip: Choose a room within the castle for best atmosphere. The restaurant is on the first floor and being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnualOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Amberley Castle was absolutely breathtaking! The grounds and castle were authentic and very well maintained. This place had everything, a mote, swans, distant pastures with grazing cattle, a lake and on and on. You could film a movie here without requiring any additions.
Take a walk to the charming village for tea.
Breakfast in the castle was perfect but I'd say dinner was a bit disappointing. Although the staff was perfectly attentive the food was a bit too rich and heavy for these Californians and expensive. My advice would be to walk into the village for dinner and have your breakfast in the castle.
Definitely worth every penny for a night in a castle.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the rooms inside the castle walls. We had views of the inside grounds and one side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

From start to finish very attentive staff, from email enquiry to dealing with 6 of us for lunch for my Dad's 80th birthday. It is not cheap, but I do believe you get what you pay for and I truly could not find fault today with Amberley Castle!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaw0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

It would be difficult to beat this venue for a Wedding. Absolutely stunning castle and grounds with approx 19 individual rooms/suites for guests to stay in. A marquee was put up in the grounds which was beautifully decorated. The catering was outstanding as was the selection of wines/champagnes served. Could not fault this as a wedding venue - absolutely faultless.

As far as a hotel goes, this is not somewhere that I would choose to just come and stay unless I was attending a function at the castle. There is not much to do here at all unless you are into walking, then this would probably be perfect. No WIFI in most of the rooms or mobile signal which is irritating if you are a city bod, but I guess if you want to get away from it all, then great. No bar in the main hotel which is weird, as you have to order from reception and they bring your drinks to you. Would have been nice to have a central point.

I have a peek in most of the rooms and they were all stunning in their own right. The suites are situated just outside the main castle grounds but literally a 30 sec walk into the hotel reception. We stayed in the Sherbourne Suite which was had 2 floors, so home from home. Would highly recommend this room. The Reeds Suite and Luffa Suite was also very nice as friends are ours were staying here. The Luffa suite had a 4 poster bed and the Reeds Suite had 2 floors. The rooms in the main castle were also very nice - you really can't go wrong. I have attached a few pictures of the Sherbourne Suite as there are not many pictures on the Hotel's website of the rooms.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you can, upgrade to a suite as they are really nice. The Sherborne a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had been here years ago for friends wedding. Recently returned for a romantic night away. didn't hold high expectations as knew it was quite old by now. however I was pleasantly surprised to discover it is still as magnificent as i remembered it all those years ago. From our arrival it was stunning looking up driveway in front of us. Staff greeted us with smiles and took us to our beautiful room outside of the main hotel. Perfect and secluded we both switched off. Then went for walks around as advised by staff. Beautiful areas around. Dinner was lovely with much to choose from. waiting staff friendly and polite. What a place. Recommended for a special night away!

Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you are going to visit Amberley Castle then visit, have dinner and stay elsewhere.
Having been married here 10 years ago, we came back for our anniversary. The grounds are perfectly manicured although the battlements are now closed but still worth a stroll.
The highlight was the dinner service which was fantastic. The food was excellent throughout although my only complaint here was I had too much food! Breakfast the next morning was equally high standard.
So the bad parts, and I will prepend this by acknowledging that I know that it is an old fortified mansion house. The room doors don't protect from noise at all. Our room was on the stair case above the reception and there was no chance of getting any sleep before midnight with all the calls. Then in the morning the cleaner was sweeping the staircase at 7.30am. You would think that sweeping wouldn't be that loud but no, and they carried on despite me bursting out the door to find out what was going on.
As for the bill, when you are paying >£700 for a night you expect, perhaps, the newspaper to be complimentary? No chance.
There are no facilities here that make it worth staying for anything other than the food.
And the general manager needs to learn how to smile.
Sorry, never again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
14.1 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberley Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley Castle

Property: Amberley Castle
Address: Church Street, Amberley BN18 9ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberley Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Orbitz so you can book your Amberley Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley Castle Hotel Amberley
Castle Hotel Amberley
Amberley Arundel Castle
Amberley Castle England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing