We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great views!”
Review of The Sportsman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sportsman Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Amberley B&B and Inns
Calne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food, great views!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were staying in Amberley whilst walking the South Downs Way and came for an evening meal.
The staff were pleasant and friendly, the views spectacular and the food was tasty.
This is a pub so don't go expecting restaurant service i.e you have to order your food at the bar and despite booking a table and being given a reserved one by the window we were then asked to move to a table that wasn't reserved because it was reserved by soneone else.
The only gripe we had was asking for a mixed salad to share and being given a tomato and onion salad which was tiny and cost £3.00!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Troll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    65
    20
    18
    8
See reviews for
38
114
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at the Sportsman with my friend as were were visiting friends in the area. We were overwhelmed with everything from the service, to the food, to the overall ambience and the view...wow what can I say, it's ever-changing from sunrise to sunset, you are offered a visual spectacle at every hour of the day . We left feeling extremely happy and satisfied. I had baked spinach eggs for breakfast, it was simply the breakfast of champions, mouthwatering and cooked to absolute perfection. The landlord and landlady are welcoming, friendly and very interesting to talk to.
I would definitely come back with more people next time, to show this amazing place off!

Room Tip: Try and get room number 2, breathtaking views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Today travelled from Surrey for Sunday lunch -what a disappointment. We have been to the Sportsman before,(last summer) and loved it. Now the menu for Sunday is basic, poorly cooked and overpriced. Do not know if it has a new licencee or they have cut back on quality, but will never go there again!

The only thing that was good about it was the view and location.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SurreySparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here as a stop over on a bike ride across the South Downs Way from Winchester to Eastbourne. I didn't have any expectations as it was all organised in haste but...wow! The view from the balcony at the rear is hands down spectacular. A beautiful flood plain that was a bit like the serengeti! I half expected to see a gazelle or Zebra : ) Dinner was good - my companion enjoyed the chicken and spaghetti. I had fish which was OK - could have been tastier but rest of the meal made up for it. It came with a very nice salad. Ice cream desert was fantastic. Beers very nice (local bitter). The newish landlord was a very nice guy with good stories about the place - he clearly loves it. The village was a good half way point and set us up well for the harder second half of the ride. Room was good - better than expectations for the price. Nice shower. Breakfast was superb (baked eggs with spinach and tasty bacon). I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for a one night stopover on our South Downs Way trip from Winchester to Eastbourne. As weary travellers, albeit self inflicted, we looked forward to good, friendly service, delicious food, and a comfy room. This, I am happy to say, The Sportsman delivered magnificently. Paul, the landlord of just 6 weeks was helpful and friendly, as indeed were all of the people working there. It really seemed like they were all enjoying themselves. I know, imagine that in your average English pub... The menu was interesting without being daunting, and sensibly limited - you knew that everything was freshly made. The pub itself is unassuming from the outside, but inside it's utterly charming and very traditional with tiled floors and oak beams. However, the view from the dining room is simply breathtaking - hundreds of acres of Sussex countryside from the South to the North Downs. Just beautiful. The room was simple, clean and quiet - just what we were looking for. Breakfast was yum, so nice to be offered something a little different - baked eggs & spinach anyone? Altogether a really lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Well we used to be regulars and we hadn't been for a while and again it has changed licensee. The food is expensive and the menu not inspiring.. No real pub grub for hungry ramblers. Only one cider and no J2Os. Landlord had a really thing about picking everyone up on the fact that they were Cheddar cheese and chive crisps not Cheese and onions as Walkers had the copyright or something. The portions of food were not great and the pub lacked a good atmosphere. Bring back the old grub. You had to wait a while for your meal too

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

If you are not familiar with the geography of this area then the surprise that awaits you upon entering The Sportsman is very pleasing on the eye indeed. If you are two then try, and I mean try, to book table 3 in the "shed". Enter via the white porch entrance at the front.

The surprises don't stop there though.

The staff are fantastic. Especially the genial landlord. Nothing is too much trouble.

And then there's the food.

This is great pub grub.

Generous portions and well priced. Hot, tasty and more sides included that you would expect.

If you're after a dessert I would recommend the vanilla cheesecake with caramel sauce.

Yes, it could do with a lick of emulsion but I know the recently arrived landlord has a plan with that.

So overlook it.

Did I mention the view?

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bruce8691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
3.4 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
139 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
622 reviews
3.4 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
984 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
0.8 mi away
Amberley Castle
Amberley Castle
#1 of 3 in Amberley
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman Inn

Property: The Sportsman Inn
Address: Rackham Road, Amberley BN18 9NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Sportsman Hotel Amberley
The Sportsman Inn Amberley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing