We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big improvements”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Big improvements”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Used to visit the white swan previous to the flooding which these guys unfortunately suffered. After hearing of a reopening went back for lunch with family late Jan.
General presentation and food has improved vastly from before (i.e what was sliced sandwich bread is now big crusty fresh bread). I had a warm ciabatta which came with fresh salad/garnish and chunky chips - tasted great.
Really impressed with a generous roast dinner my Dad had for sub £8, glasses of wine and beers also very reasonable.
Waitresses friendly and attentive.
Will be back! Competition should watch this one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks for your review - really pleased you like the new menu - we just wanted to change the style of our lunch menu from the 'ordinary' so glad you like it. We look forward to your return visit soon.
Regards
Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    57
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Better than previous owners but...........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This pub has seen some changes, it was opened up my new owners, sadly flooding destroyed their hard work but they fought back bravely, first visit for a quick lunch last week, friendly service, speedy service, reasonable prices. Sadly a drinks rep turned up and the attention of staff was lost. Not sure I would rush back, always been a fanny pub looks like it remains so. Lipstick on the glasses not a good sign either. Maybe one day I would give it another try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VexedFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for your time.

Obviously pleased that you found our service speedy and friendly but apologies that you felt 'ignored' once the rep turned up. We have no control when reps turn up and I was there actually that day and was the person talking to the rep but hadn't actually been the person to serve you. I did ask the bar manager for her help with the diary to put in a meeting with him when Nick was next in (3 small children causes havock with meetings!) - it was a new brewery business and we try to support as best we can in this current climate.

We also had a visit that day from our wine supplier as our house wine has just changed due to supplier issues and we found out selves multi tasking somewhat. It is worth noting that we try to be friendly and attentive to everyone who walks through our door, whether they are customers or reps, as manners cost nothing at all. Apologies though if you felt you did not have our undivided attention - I am sure the girls felt that you had everything you needed at that time as your meal was finished.

Not sure what a 'fanny' pub is though and not sure whether to be offended at that! We work very hard to be everything to everyone - a true local community pub and we have very hgh standards - not sure I like being compared to the previous owners at all as we are not!

Have fedback the lipstick remark to staff and although a rare occurence we will do better next time promise x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely pub but average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Came here the other day, and the pub is absolutely beautiful. However, I feel the prices are quite expensive for what they are. I asked for a pudding at 2.20pm and was informed that they had turned off the ovens so could only have the cold puddings. This was disappointing as I had only just finished my main meal and wanted the crumble. However, the food was nice and I will try the pub again soon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank shills_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi we have had chance to chat via private mail on this - thank you for your comments and for getting in touch.

Just to clarify - obviously as a matter of course we do not normally turn off our ovens before the end of service but as you were a guest at a funeral wake and we had delivered all that had been prerranged and requested by the family we thought we were at liberty to do so 10 mins early. Apologies that you did not get the pudding choice you wanted, and in future we will certainly check with the family that we are 'safe' to turn off anf that guests do not want pudding.

We hope to offer you crumble on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

They know what they are doing at this pub/restaurant, good food with an excellent choice of dishes and very well priced. The drinks were reasonable priced too. The waiting staff were excellent and I hope this fine pub blossoms after the set back of being flooded last year, it deserves to do well. It is good to know that they source food locally including there speciality sausages. Ample size portions and served hot says everything about The White Swan. The decor is a modern blend with the old, and by old it still has an old bread oven set in the wall which was part of the local bakery many moons ago.
Make sure that you book as you could be disappointed.

We will be back, again and again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FirstStrategy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are so pleased that you have taken the time to come back and write a review for us - thank you. We and our staff work incredibly hard to make sure your visit is enjoyable and we take great pride in sourcing our produce locally, thus supporting other local businesses.

We really tried to make our refurbishment modern but respectfull to the history of the property. The Baker's Oven was one of the things that most attracted me to the building in the first place and we are very lucky that it was hidden behind a wall for so many years as this preserved the oven for many a generation to come.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon First Strategy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Very pleasant with a good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went with friend in December, and had a very enjoyable evening. The atmosphere is good, the waitress was excellent, and we both had good meals. I had liver and bacon, and it was as good as I ever remember eating! My friend had gammon and eggs and he was very pleased. These were both very fairly priced, as was the wine. Nice selection of board specials, and friend had some very nice sorbet for puddling. All round, an excellent pub meal. We have already booked for 6 of us in January -- hoping that the road outside does not flood again!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your visit and your comments -they mean a lot to us and we are pleased that you like what you find -especially the liver and bacon!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Bosham, Chichester
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing