We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere”
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed January 5, 2013

They know what they are doing at this pub/restaurant, good food with an excellent choice of dishes and very well priced. The drinks were reasonable priced too. The waiting staff were excellent and I hope this fine pub blossoms after the set back of being flooded last year, it deserves to do well. It is good to know that they source food locally including there speciality sausages. Ample size portions and served hot says everything about The White Swan. The decor is a modern blend with the old, and by old it still has an old bread oven set in the wall which was part of the local bakery many moons ago.
Make sure that you book as you could be disappointed.

We will be back, again and again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FirstStrategy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

We are so pleased that you have taken the time to come back and write a review for us - thank you. We and our staff work incredibly hard to make sure your visit is enjoyable and we take great pride in sourcing our produce locally, thus supporting other local businesses.

We really tried to make our refurbishment modern but respectfull to the history of the property. The Baker's Oven was one of the things that most attracted me to the building in the first place and we are very lucky that it was hidden behind a wall for so many years as this preserved the oven for many a generation to come.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon First Strategy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 225 of 239 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went with friend in December, and had a very enjoyable evening. The atmosphere is good, the waitress was excellent, and we both had good meals. I had liver and bacon, and it was as good as I ever remember eating! My friend had gammon and eggs and he was very pleased. These were both very fairly priced, as was the wine. Nice selection of board specials, and friend had some very nice sorbet for puddling. All round, an excellent pub meal. We have already booked for 6 of us in January -- hoping that the road outside does not flood again!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your visit and your comments -they mean a lot to us and we are pleased that you like what you find -especially the liver and bacon!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited the White Swan a couple of weeks ago had a great dinner and came back again the next evening ,just as good.

The biggest attraction to us was that Gluten Free items were highlighted on menu and it was made clear that it was possible to adapt some other dishes to suit.The fact the GF is highlighted gives one confidence that the Chef will be careful with ensuring only GF ingredients used and contamination issues reasonably taken care of. It also removes the worry of having to have the discussion about what Gluten is with untrained staff ,How often having been through it all have coeliacs reading this ,just when they think staff got got it right, are asked ,with best intentions , is it ok for you to have cheese ? I . believe they would help one sort other dietary needs also.
they said they normally stock GF bread but were out of it when we were there > suggest pop some in the car just in case .

Putting above aside this is not a special needs menu (GF food is fine anyway by the way, my wife is coeliac I am not ) we found the food to be good quality and reasonably priced .Staff were outstanding and very friendly. The menu is not huge mixture of regulars and specials ,I always think this is a good sign .

Great beer from local breweries and again Coeliacs take note proper cider from the barrel.

NB the chef likes to sprinkle the parsley a bit of a pet hate of mine but when asked to leave it off they remembered (That's a 1st PF and GF great spot)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thanks for the review - we try really hard to cater for different diets and to offer great choice -whether vegetarian or GF. As we prepare most dishes at the time of ordering we are always able to adjust recipes when necessary - eg dairy free

Apologies that we had run out of GF bread - we are now fully stocked again - promise x

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great vegetarian choices - the chef is a vegetarian herself, so this went far beyond the standard pub vegetarian choices, a very pleasant environment, friendly staff

1  Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Glad you enjoyed the vegetarian choices and the amount of selection - we are also trying to make sure that there is a vegetarian special on in addition to the main menu choices. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Visited here yesterday and had a great meal. Service was friendly and attentive. Food was everything we could wish for. Will certainly come back next time we visit Bosham

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank portlorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your review - we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Bosham, Chichester
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing