We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub restaurant - plenty of choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Berkeley Arms

The Berkeley Arms
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Berkeley Arms is a great pub in the heart of Bosham. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming, and the local people of Bosham are always happy to include visitors into their cheerful circle. In summer, the beautiful garden in front of the pub provides sun almost until sunset. Wooden benches and fireworks of flowers overflowing the hanging baskets create a wonderful homely setting. In winter, guests of the Berkeley Arms are warmed by a roaring log fire in the bar and resturant. The interior is light and tastefully simple. Good pub food is served here, with light bite portions for the small appetite. But what makes the Berkeley Arms special is the team who genuinely cares for their guests and makes sure that everybody is happy and enjoying themselves. I can recommend the Berkeley Arms for its warm atmosphere, great food and drink and pleasant company.We are open for food and drinks 7 days a week.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice pub restaurant - plenty of choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very nice relaxed dining area, lovely waitress, good selection of dishes, great starters - the only thing that let this pub down was that the burgers were too salty.
Live music Friday and Saturday so worth a visit - just avoid the burgers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ginnyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan f, Owner at The Berkeley Arms, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we are glad you liked our pub. Our apologies for the burger being too salty for your taste, usually we get nothing but the highest compliments as they are all home made. Next time your in let us know and we will be happy to arrange a small discount for you and ask chef to be light of finger when seasoning your meal. Hope to see you soon, The Berkeley Arms Team (shirt sponsors of Bosham FC)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    65
    18
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good reasonably priced pub grub with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Called into the Berkeley Arms for an evening meal as it is located close to our B&B and we had heard that it changed hands since our last slightly disappointing visit in 2012.

We had a warm friendly welcome and our drinks order was taken and quickly brought to the table with the menus - it was helpful to be given sufficient time to read the menu. The food was well cooked and was excellent pub grub. It was great to have some nice touches like 'home-made Tartare Sauce' which we thoroughly enjoyed

Would have given overall score of 4 stars because of a slight disappointment with the sweet menu as there was nothing suitable for a diabetic on insulin e.g. Unsweetened fresh fruit salad would have been fine,

We'd definitely visit again but 'phone in advance to ask about a diabetic sweet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trainerdave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan f, Owner at The Berkeley Arms, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your meal. Next time please let us know of any dietry requirements and chef will be more than happy to make something for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice pub, good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This pub has recently changed hands and the food and service has not suffered. Visited there with my Mom and Pop, who live nearby. We had fish and chips and chick pee stew - both good portions and very tasty. My wife had the lamb shank which was tasty but maybe a little tough.
The waitress and waiter were very pleasant and helpful; we'll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tianti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan f, Owner at The Berkeley Arms, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal, we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WORST PLOUGHMANS EVER”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My partner had the fish and chips which was average, and had two mini bowlls on the plate, one containing mushy peas, and in the other, a horrible sauce, which didn't taste like Tartare, if it was, it was mass produced. I ordered a ploughmans, and was asked what I wanted. There was a choice of 3 cheeses, two I didn't like, so was left with chedder. My plate contained a piece of cheese about the size of a matchbox, one slice of slightly dry bread, cut in half (where was the crusty bread?), 2 pickled onions, a slice of ham cut in half, a mini bowl of pickle and some salad, mostly lettuce with mayo on it, no Apple. Not one bit enjoyable, definitely the worst ploughmans i have ever had. Our bill had a pound item added to it for miscellaneous, we had no idea what it was for, we had asked for no extras. By then our waiter was serving in the bar, so we didn't query it, just paid and left, never to return.Glad to leave the live music behind.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Disillusioned82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan f, Owner at The Berkeley Arms, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are very sorry you didnt enjoy your experience with us, our food is all home made and usually receives the highest compliments. If you are willing to give us another try we would like to offer you desserts on the house by way of an apology. Please call and speak to Steve to book a table 01243 573167, we look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Superb lunches on a very busy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Four of our family visited Bosham for their open gardens day (in aid of Leukemia research) so the village was buzzing and everywhere was extremely busy. The young and enthusiastic staff were very friendly and efficient and the food and the drinks were first class.
The rest of the family enjoyed breaded Whitebait, Lime & Ginger Fishcakes with a superb Sweet Chilli Sauce and Garlic Bread. I had a lovely Bacon, Brie and Avocado sandwich. The bread was excellent and although I would have preferred my bacon a little more crisp, the whole thing was delightful. OK, I admit it - I had some garlic bread too!
We sat in the lovely garden in the sunshine while there was, understandably, a little delay with the food but we people-watched. We had a few beers to start with and then some wine, both rose and red. All were well kept, nicely presented and good value.
We will definitely return and I highly recommend this lovely pub in this beautiful village.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dayash86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan f, Owner at The Berkeley Arms, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed yourself, we try hard to make your experience as good as it can be. Hopefully see you again soon....maybe at our summer real ale and music festival?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Berkeley Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Berkeley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing