We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant memories”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago after a lunch where we met up with some old friends. As usual, the cuisine was excellent and the staff could not have been more charming and helpful. On the downside our suite was somewhat poky and dark and the bed seemed to be made of india rubber. all in all, a pleasant time was had.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    151
    37
    5
    11
See reviews for
93
291
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have known about this hotel for years but never stayed there but have just had a couple of nights and it was great. We had a garden room which was spacious and well equipped with a very good sized ensuite. The rooms was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was better than many much larger hotels we've stayed in and there was an excellent choice of cooked food. The dinner menu had some changes each night with interesting choices and very enjoyable food. All the staff were very friendly and helpful with senior management always remembering our names, which is a sure sign of personal interest in the guests, your not just a room number. The hotel is just a short walk from the harbour and has delightful gardens, which would be nice to sit in in better weather but not in wet and windy October! We'd be happy to stay there again although it's not cheap.

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the other rooms but we were more than happy with the garden room, which had do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I've eaten at this hotel many times over the past twenty years and never been disappointed. This was the first time I have stayed overnight. On arrival we were offered drinks and the receptionist helped us upstairs with our bags. Our room (21) was a decent size, with all the usual things you hope for. Fresh milk in the fridge was a nice touch. Everything was spotless. The bed was comfortable. The décor looks dated but is all perfectly fine. The shower isn't the latest power shower, but everything worked well.

The hotel is well placed to explore Bosham itself, Chichester and the surrounding countryside.

This is really a gem, somewhat stuck in time but none the worse for it. The service could not be faulted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedQuince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Travelling as I was with an older friend, the hotel and its location had a lot to offer us both. Yes, it does feel as if it caters for older people, but the level of service, the rooms and the breakfasts were excellent. I could have a light breakfast in my room, and then go for a long walk around the harbour, gloriously beautiful at low tide, and still get back in time for second helpings downstairs. The local bus service worked a treat, taking us from outside the hotel right into the heart of Chichester and back, making it easy to visit the Cathedral and art gallery without having to deal with car parks and too much walking. An evening stroll took us down to the pub in the old village, also famous for its medieval church. The garden and stream outside the hotel were a perfect setting for a quiet drink or snack. Friendly and helpful staff helped make our stay really pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden rather than the car park. Some rooms have dual aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelhopefulSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived around 8pm after driving straight from work. When we had checked in we were offered a much needed free glass of wine. Help was offered to take our luggage to our room. The room it self was bright with 5 full length windows. There was fresh fruit on the dresser and fresh milk in the fridge along with water. Makes a change to the usual mini pots of UHT milk you get. The bed was super comfy which is good for me as I have just had a back operation. The bathroom was clean with fluffy towels and robes. Nice toiletries too. Had a lovely soak in the big bath tub. So nice was it I fell asleep.
We ate here on the 2nd night in the main restaurant. Service was good and the food was tasty and nicely presented. Staff were kind and attentive. Breakfast on both mornings was fantastic. Again nicely presented and very well cooked. Nice attention to detail with warm full fat milk for the coffee.
We did notice that we were the youngest people here ( I am 38) but this did not bother us in the slightest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kengis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Overpriced, tired decor, looks and feels like a home for OAPs. The air-con unit was noisy and not very effective.Food was OK but the tables in the restaurant were too close together and very formally laid out. I would recommend dining in Marwick's, the bistro next to the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodchopperSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

While the location cannot be faulted and the gardens are lovely this is a rather dated hotel catering for a rather aged clientele. While we are not in the full flush of youth were certainly the youngest guests by a few decades! The decor in both the rooms and the public spaces had the feel of a hotel circa1970, all a bit beige. The restaurant was OK but spoiled by a rather loud maitre d' and the regimented seating table arrangements. A bit more informality would have been welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodloverSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
2.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
9.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bosham Lane, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Millstream Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstream nestles in the heart of Old Bosham, an historic village on the shores of Chichester Harbour, combining the elegance of a small English country house with the character and charm of an eighteenth century malthouse cottage.The Bar offers a cosy fireside setting in which to relax. On warm days a door opens onto the lawns where you can sit beneath a sunshade and listen to the chatter of the ducks. The charming sitting room, with its deep cushioned armchairs, grand piano, bowls of freshly cut flowers and tranquil atmosphere, is the ideal place to meet up with friends over a afternoon tea or an aperitif, to play a quiet game of cards or just settle down and while away the hours with a good novel. The 2 AA Rosette Restaurant, overlooking the pretty gardens, offers a varied selection of modern British dishes, prepared with the best available fresh, seasonal, local produce, which are complemented by a list of fine wines from an established cellar. Each enchanting bedroom has been attractively styled to enhance its individual character and outlook. All have en-suite facilities, flat screen television, wi-fi internet access, radio/CD alarm clock, tea & coffee making facilities, mini-fridge with complimentary mineral water & fresh milk, direct dial telephone, wall safe, trouser press and hairdryer. The Gardens that surround the hotel are carefully tended and provide a wonderful place to relax in the warmer weather. Overlooking the stream in the side garden is an oak Gazebo which was built for a Wild family wedding and which now provides shelter from the rain or sun. In the summer months there are tables and chairs at which you can enjoy morning coffee, a light lunch, afternoon tea, a cocktail before dinner or an al fresco meal as the sun comes down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Millstream Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstream Hotel And Restaurant
Millstream Hotel Chichester
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant Bosham, Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing