We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you are having a short break around the Chichester area then you can base yourself here in a friendly relaxing and quiet hideaway. You must not however, forget to walk down the street to the harbour to see if anyone has left their car parked whist the tide comes in! The rooms are typical English old hotel style clean but not lavish. The restaurant is very good even if the actual set up wouldn't lend you to believe so, however the food more than makes up for that. The service is very good all staff were very attentive if on occasion a litle hard to track down but that is being a little too harsh as it was a busy Sunday lunchtime when this happened. Just off the back road between Havant and Chichester you are very well placed to explore this lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WozThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 585 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night in February. The well reviewed hotel and restaurant were what made it appealing to us.

What you don't see from the photos is that behind the beautiful old part of the building is a more modern (perhaps 80s) extension where most of the rooms are housed. We were a little worried as we arrived. Checkin was fast, friendly and efficient despite the hotel being busy and the reception are small, the free welcome drink a really nice touch. Our room, in the new wing, was well sized, comfortable and clean. A plug in air freshener was installed in the room and was pretty over-powering though.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The average age in the restaurant/lounge (around 50) and the "musac" being played by a pianist in the lounge/restaurant area worried us a little. The restaurant manager was really friendly and helpful in welcoming us, showing us to our table and making us feel comfortable.

The amuse bouche was served, a mushroom soup, it was under-seasoned and worried us again. We had nothing to worry about though - the mains and deserts that we ate were divine. My wife had a melt in the mouth beef fillet with puree of parsnip, girolles and a smoked bone marrow. I had lamb on a bed of spinach with amazing falafels, and a feta mousse.

The banana mille fouille with caramel and popcorn icecream was good as was the lemongrass pannacotta with (coconut milk) rice pudding spring roll.

We really enjoyed our stay with the evening meal being the highlight and no complaints about the rooms. Bosham is a lovely setting and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 15 had a banging door (I think to the kitchen) on the floor below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webmonkeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have just had a lovely mid week break at this hotel, the food was again superb and the ambience quiet and relaxing, whatever you do tell nobody about this hotel, as I do not want to many people to know about it and spoil it for me, worth doing dinner bed and breakfast on a del price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasar2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We made an overnight stop with dinner on our way to a visit in nearby Fareham. We were most pleased. The staff were well trained and thier motto must have been -- nothing is too much trouble if it pleases a guest. It is hard to imagine a hotel guest who would find fault. The decor is traditional or dated if you like.

The dinner was fine and two courses were quite enough. The menu is extensive and about half of the items were for that day only. The variety must delight the longer staying guests. The price for 2 courses was about £27 which we found to be good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WineTester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a 2 night break at this very comfortable hotel. The decor is good not exciting and there is no lift. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom excellent. There is no view but that is not their fault! The dinner was of a very high standard though the service was slow on one night. The menu is varied and very well presented. We had a walk round Bosham which is picturesque and a visit to West Wittering for an exhilaratingly breezy walk along the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed Sat night but arrived early in the day. Car in carpark, we then went for a long walk beside the shore in the sunshine. Explored the area and visited the church. Lunch in a lovely waterside pub and then another walk, arriving back around 4.00. Had a hot back and went into lounge around 8pm. It was lovely listening to the pianist and having a pre-dinner drink. Meal was good and there was a nice ambience in the room.Bed comfortable and breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennimag53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Went to the millstream for my birthday ...sunday lunch . The service was the best thing about it ...food was fairly cold . Mind you we chose the scallops and as we hadnt eaten them before we wernt sure whether they were meant to be served that way . We both chose the roast beef ...which again was cold as was the yorkshire pudding ...the roast potatoes tasted re-heated but the vegeyables were fine ...the best bit of the meal for me was the chocolate brownie
We have had roast dinners out for a lot better value and its alk been piping hot ....i dont think we will visit again especially if you want somewhere special . Going to try goodwood hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank fryrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARWallace, General Manager at Millstream Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear frytr
Thanks for your kind comments on the service you received at the Millstream when you came for Sunday lunch. Aris, our Restaurant Manager, remembers you well and what a lovely time you seemed to be having with us. He said that you were really happy about everything on the day and how much you appreciated the special birthday plate our Chef had prepared for you. I'm really sorry that the food wasn't as hot as it should have been. My only request to you or anyone else that has a problem with their food, or any other aspect of their experience, is to tell us at the time - as we can rectify almost any situation. We really do want to make our guests happy and I'm disappointed that we let you down. I do hope that you will try us again and we will make sure everything is piping hot for you. Kind regards Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
2.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
922 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
6.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
636 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
11.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Bosham Lane, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bosham
Price Range: $133 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millstream Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstream nestles in the heart of Old Bosham, an historic village on the shores of Chichester Harbour, combining the elegance of a small English country house with the character and charm of an eighteenth century malthouse cottage.The Bar offers a cosy fireside setting in which to relax. On warm days a door opens onto the lawns where you can sit beneath a sunshade and listen to the chatter of the ducks. The charming sitting room, with its deep cushioned armchairs, grand piano, bowls of freshly cut flowers and tranquil atmosphere, is the ideal place to meet up with friends over a afternoon tea or an aperitif, to play a quiet game of cards or just settle down and while away the hours with a good novel. The 2 AA Rosette Restaurant, overlooking the pretty gardens, offers a varied selection of modern British dishes, prepared with the best available fresh, seasonal, local produce, which are complemented by a list of fine wines from an established cellar. Each enchanting bedroom has been attractively styled to enhance its individual character and outlook. All have en-suite facilities, flat screen television, wi-fi internet access, radio/CD alarm clock, tea & coffee making facilities, mini-fridge with complimentary mineral water & fresh milk, direct dial telephone, wall safe, trouser press and hairdryer. The Gardens that surround the hotel are carefully tended and provide a wonderful place to relax in the warmer weather. Overlooking the stream in the side garden is an oak Gazebo which was built for a Wild family wedding and which now provides shelter from the rain or sun. In the summer months there are tables and chairs at which you can enjoy morning coffee, a light lunch, afternoon tea, a cocktail before dinner or an al fresco meal as the sun comes down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Millstream Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstream Hotel And Restaurant
Millstream Hotel Chichester
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant Bosham, Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing