We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday by the Sea”

Benbow Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bosham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benbow Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Bosham B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday by the Sea”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is one of the finest B&Bs we have ever stayed in. The position is perfect with direct views over the creek and shoreline. The house is beautifully restored and has a great feeling of solid history, tasteful decor and fittings that have been fully modernised. Practical things are excellent - comfortable bed, sash windows that really work and good bathroom en suite.

We arrived at the house from a cycle ride around the harbour. Soaked to the skin and exhausted, but were welcomed in, our wet things were taken and hung on the Aga, while we made full use of the excellent shower. Then Pippa provided us with tea to help us recover. Both Mike and Pippa could not have made us feel more welcome. It really was like staying with friends and we could not recommend it highly enough!

The area is one of our favourites and there is no doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westwoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Beautiful 18th century home, tastefully updated. Both guest rooms have stunning views of the water. Hosts Mike & Pippa and their extremely well-behaved golden retriever "Woodi" really made me feel at home. Bosham is a peaceful and interesting town, with history of its own (don't miss the very old church there) and is near some major attractions. I highly recommend Portsmouth and the Roman ruins at Fishbourne. Millstream restaurant nearby is quite good for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hospitable. Comfortable. Memorable. And a view from the bedroom to die for. Leave the car on the drive (above the high water mark) and walk round the harbour peninsulas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaptainKanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed 2 nights here in Benbow, during our first visit to England. It was the most charming and lovely experience for both of us, to be guest of Mike and Pipa!
The house with the two guest rooms is very pretty and lovely. It is in excellent shape.
A welcome tea in front of the fireplace made us feel at home quickly. Breakfast, very tasty and fresh cooked from Pipa was one of the best we've ever had.
There are much possiblilities for nice walks at the coast.
Also Mike and Pipa gave us much very good hints for activities.
If we are ever in this area we will very much like to stay there again.
Thank you Mike and Pipa for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesbrother928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Bosham is an historic unspoilt village overlooking a picturesque creek.
We decided to try the 'Benbow' despite it not having any Tripadvisor reviews.
Pleased to say we made a wise choice in what is the only B and B on the Creek.
The Benbow is a charming house with 2 guest rooms both with splendid views to the water. The room with the bath is the slightly larger of the 2.
The house and bedrooms were immacculate, with Pippa, the owner, very helpful regarding local information.
Mention also needs to be made of the little 'extra' touches which make for an enjoyable stay :- tea and cake on arrival, mineral water in room, freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast etc.
In summary, an extremely comfortable B and B in a superb location - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
0.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#4 of 4 in Emsworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Boathouse Bosham
The Boathouse Bosham
#1 of 6 in Bosham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lockgate Dairy
Lockgate Dairy
#1 of 4 in Sidlesham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benbow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow Bed & Breakfast

Property: Benbow Bed & Breakfast
Address: Shore Road, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bosham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ONLY waterside property in Bosham. A 1760 beautifully restored Queen Anne house with stunning views across the water to the church and quay which are a very short walk from the house as are the local pub and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benbow Bed & Breakfast Bosham, Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing