We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Efficient but sterile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boathouse Bosham
Ranked #1 of 5 Bosham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Efficient but sterile”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The booking was made for me through my business and on checking back I found the detail ambiguous. No towels for a B&B is puzzling and the term "Lite" is misleading. The booking stated breakfast included and £6 plus for a round of toast and coffee is excessive. The self-check in has it's advantages but the self-certification of breakfast time doesn't. If I had pre-paid I could have stayed at this B&B and needn't have even met the owners.

The decking was treacherous as it was an icy morning but it was also slippy in the wet the previous evening. The outside light only works when moving from the car park and not from the room back to the car so you have to negotiate the decking in the pitch black. The wi-fi although advertised as free was not working. I asked about this and it appears to be a regular occurrence which is why they don't charge extra for it.

Once I met the owner she was pleasant enough but I feel that this B&B does not offer value for money and there are better value establishments in the area that I have stayed at and will do so in the future.

It is clean and the room was comfortable and when pushed you can sleep almost anywhere for one night and in that respect it served it's purpose.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the summer the Goodwood Room opens onto the decking and rear aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulyrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosham-Boater, Owner at The Boathouse Bosham, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
I am afraid that we feel this is one of those situations where an individual values themselves more than their company does.

This room was booked by someone else at the office. We state clearly what's for breakfast. We do supply towels and breakfast is included if booked through us and £2.50 booked through an agency, which this company did do.

Breakfast is about the price of a cup of coffee. As a non coffee drinker I am astounded people will pay £2-3.50 for hot water squeezed through a bean and then grumble at £2.50 for unlimited Cereal, Toast, Jam, Juice Tea & Coffee.

This customers company paid £49.50 for his £7000 Tempur Bed + £2.50 for his breakfast of which we received £39.60 because it was booked through an agency.

Come direct to our website. Search for The Boathouse Bosham its even cheaper.

Regards

Kevin & Lorraine
Ps... As this gentleman stayed the one night which was it Icy or Wet? Either way it's best to take our advice and stick to the anti slip areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    33
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
33
150
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I've been here before but that was for a break during the summer. This time my visit was for one night only to attend a funeral next day. I booked "B&B light" so expected some major differences from summer as it was incredibly cheap. I couldn't believe it when I checked in (quite late but as it was self check in there was no stress) The room was beautifully made up lights and radio on Spotlessly clean and very cosy. Bed was superb. We had read our email so knew to bring our towels!! Breakfast in the morning was perfect. Fruit juice masses of cereals different pastries some fruit and as much toast as you could handle. Coffee was filter and there were several choices of tea. I certainly didn't miss a cooked breakfast and neither did my husband So apart from a towel and a couple if eggs the same 5star standard Unbelievable value particularly for this area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Champagne-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosham-Boater, Owner at The Boathouse Bosham, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Wonderful common sense. You're always welcome

Warm regards

Kevin & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Firstly the positives, The rooms were lovely, but at nearly £70 a room for a B&B this is to be expected, all clean, tidy and comfortable. We booked all the rooms for a group stay, and apart from the rooms being nice, it fell short of what you would expect of a quality B&B. Our shower door was broken and no towels are provided (although they do state this when you book...but we still thought it seemed strange) further more the Breakfast was just some cereal a toaster and a kettle that didn't work....!, this was described as B&B 'Lite' however the price does not reflect this!...so in short, nice rooms comfy beds, but non existent breakfast and lack of attention to detail. The experience left us with mixed emotions about our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosham-Boater, Owner at The Boathouse Bosham, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
I have been dying to respond to this.

This is the unfortunate situation where someone booked the rooms on behalf of many others.

They did not read the description of what they were paying for but just saw the price and KERCHING! never mind the rest... the pictures look lovely.

Rather than accepting responsibility to the rest of the group the nest morning they left without trying breakfast because they were expecting a Full English.

They paid £65 for a single Saturday night

Yes we did have the electric 'trip' which took me... oooh I dunno, 30 seconds to flick the switch back. And apparently the curved shower door came off its runner.

Now... When this happens I don't even bend over... I just give it a little flick with my toe but a person with less experience and eh em... less dexterity than me...LoL, may have to bend...
or call me up if it's a major issue and you're looking for your £65 quids worth.

Good luck with the Band

Kevin & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This was a 'spur of the moment' three day break and we basically were not disappointed with our choice! Our room was the Chichester Room; and was tucked away and secluded; with its own private entrance! In season we could have sat outside in our own enclosed part of the garden! The Chichester room was cosy warm and comfortable and suited our needs! We took advantage of the advertised B&B Lite! Our only criticism was it was 'very lite' on imagination! With a little thought it could have been more appetising and remained within the pricing! On two mornings there was only instant coffee although a filter coffee maker was there but not in use! Only on the third morning did it spring to life!! Insufficient butter was provided for the toast! The marmalade and particularly the individual packs of jam we felt were not of good quality! There could have been less choice on these and better quality!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DevonCountryBumkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in the sail loft room which was beautifully decorated and had a very comfortable bed.
Although it's on a main road there wasn't much noise from traffic at all. However we could hear our neighbours talking loudly, but do not know if they were noisy or the walls were thin.
Upon entering the front door, you see the staircase directly in front of you which leads to the loft room. The room is beautifully made up and it is a reasonable size, although you are in the loft as the name suggests and the ceiling is quite low . The space downstairs was a little awkwardly laid out. For instance the shower room is very small with the toilet right next to it and it has a tiny sink. It felt a bit 'fur coat and no knickers'.The overall space of the sail loft room for the price (£220 for 2 nights) was quite disappointing even if it was high season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoutdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a one night and stayed in the Sail loft. Our room was lovely bright, clean and comfortable, the bed was so comfy. We were welcomed by Kevin who was very friendly and would not hesitate to reccommend this B & B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here yesterday and found everything great, easy to find, tidy, clean, clear info and no hassle. Spoke to Kevin this morning and wish him (them) good luck in the next venture.

Two things I meant to say about - but forgot, (helpful criticism) - couldn't get the wifi to work & the overrun on the downstairs fan in the adjacent apartment is noisy / goes on for far too long - especially at 6.00am in the morning.

Other than that - very pleasant and would return again.

Also good recommendation to go to the Berkley Arms - food / service great.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vegieplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosham-Boater, Owner at The Boathouse Bosham, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback.

I just wanted to say one thing for the benefit of anyone looking to stay.

When you rightly brought the fan to my attention I did explain that it had just been replaced and the Electrician had set it all to it's maximum durations. (Which is standard for a commercial application)

I did tell you that I would go round that day with my screwdriver and adjust it down to run for a couple of minutes after the light was switched off. This is exactly what I did do.

I thanked you for sharing this with me.

It's great when a customer lets you know of a problem but as I explained the reason and remedied it within hours of you leaving. Was this really the place to mention it again?

Goodness knows how many people were put off by this. Just a tip for future review writing.

All the best both of you

Kind regards

Kevin & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosham
1.1 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
795 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
530 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
3.7 mi away
Lockgate Dairy
Lockgate Dairy
#1 of 76 in Chichester
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse Bosham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Bosham

Property: The Boathouse Bosham
Address: Main Road, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bosham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Boathouse Bosham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse is ideally situated for exploring and visiting a wealth of local sites and venues. Historical Bosham Church and Quay are within 2km walking distance. Chichester is just a few minutes drive away, or why not take advantage of the bus that stops a few yards down the road? If you are feeling energetic, you might enjoy the local cycle path from Emsworth to Chichester, which passes right outside. This superbly renovated, six-bedroomed house offers 4 guest rooms. All of these ground floor bedrooms are independently accessed and therefore provide private and secure B&B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your The Boathouse Bosham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Bosham Hotel Bosham
The Boathouse Bosham Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing