We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vincennes
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel du Chateau on several occasions. I enjoy the hotel because it is quiet, quaint, and extremely clean. The hotel is only 3 or 4 stops away from the Gare de Lyon on the Yellow Metro line, and directly across the street from the Chateau de Vincennes. Although the hotel is a little out of the way at the end of the yellow line, it is extremely affordable and the staff is great.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that the twins beds are right next to each other in a small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdeaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    71
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
24
39
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I agree with the previous comments. This is a great little hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Room 24 has a small balcony and a nice view of the Chateau.

The main road is very busy in the day but the double glazing was more than adequate to keep out the noise. It's a safe, chic area of Paris with everything from a huge martial arts gym to local boutiqes.

When I return to Paris next year I will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This a great little hotel in the Paris suburbs. It is about a five minute walk from the RER station.
It is simple, clean and very good value.
The staff are very helpful and if like me, you don't speak much French, they all speak English.
One word of advice, if you have a heavy or large suitcase, there is no lift and circular, medieval style stairway, so if you are on the top floor, beware :)
However, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and we be using on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

It's a pretty good hotel. It was very small but clean. It also had a comfortable bed and a bathroom. It was fine for one person, for two people it might be a little tight. However, if traveling alone, I would recommend it. It was very close to the Vincennes Castle and the metro. The free internet connection was also a plus. I didn't like that I constantly had to give the key when going out, but other than that everything was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a great little hotel in a nice area opposite the Vincennes Castle. There are plenty of shops and restaurants near by and it is only a 2 minute walk to the metro. The rooms are recently refurbished, clean and adequate with comfy beds. My room (no. 43) was on the top floor (4th) overlooking the castle which was lovely - however, this did mean walking up a winding staircase to get there (there are no lifts in the hotel). The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast consisted of croissants, bread, cereal and yoghurts - plenty to keep you going throughout the day. Would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodieG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a small hotel in a beautiful area. The hotel has been recently remodeled and is very clean and well maintained. It is right across from the Vincennes castle (the king's hunting castle). The area has numerous places to eat and the metro is nearby (the nicest metro in the city). The rooms are small to medium (I saw 5 of them), the beds are doubles (American Doubles so a bit small for two people) and the bathroom was small. But everything was very clean. There is no elevator but for me it didn't matter.

I would consider twin beds for a couple if the bed size matters.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very friendly owners. Clean rooms, good beds, good sound insulation to the street, could need a little more upper corner dusting but still acceptable. Be careful on the stairs - it's tight. Breakfast baguette is one of the best I ever had.

Nice surroundings - clean area. Shopping for food and clothes is possible. The view to the Vincennes Castle from the room is unique.
Good access to city center.
I would visit again l'Hotel du Chateau :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schum352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vincennes hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Donjon Vincennes
Hotel Donjon Vincennes
#2 of 9 in Vincennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Hotel Daumesnil-Vincennes
#1 of 9 in Vincennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Adagio Paris Vincennes
#3 of 9 in Vincennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Saint Louis
#4 of 9 in Vincennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Hotel Le home
#6 of 9 in Vincennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Hotel Le Blason
#8 of 9 in Vincennes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 1 rue Robert Giraudineau, 94300 Vincennes, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Val-de-Marne > Vincennes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vincennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing