We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Estaminet

L'Estaminet
Ranked #19 of 131 Restaurants in Vincennes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Royal Regency timeshare concierge recommended Restaurant L'Estaminet. The restaurant was not open the first night we tried to go, as they open at 7:30. No worries. We returned the next day. The owner/chef Jean Olivier is wonderful. He is entertaining and gracious. The restaurant is small and quaint. It is definitely off the beaten path, but it is a restaurant you would want in your own neighborhood. The meal was wonderful. We started with an appetizer and champagne courtesy of our concierge at Royal Regency. We followed with the appetizer special of the day which was home-made goat cheese baked in phyllo dough on a bed of greens. Amazingly good. Our steaks were cooked to perfection in the open fire, wood-fueled fireplace. Every need was met. We even were given a ride to and from the restaurant by Jean Olivier. We highly recommend this restaurant. It was definitely one of the high points of our visit to France.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    55
    12
    12
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rustic and very quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Jean Olivier welcomed us à bras ouverts considering we had not booked a table. The decor was rustic, the fire alight waiting for some lovely duck and beef to be cooked, and the meal simple but nice. All vegetables however were undercooked for my taste! Jean Olivier had a watchful eye over all his customers and was very engaging, but also quite loud. He did say that he appreciated nice comments on Trip Advisor! But that was part of his warm personality, and if you are in for a quiet evening, you are in the wrong place. If you want atmosphere, quirkyness as well as good food and don't mind smoke, noise and an over the top patron, this could be for you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MillbrookCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky old fashioned and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were recommended the restaurant by our accommodation too and we weren't disappointed. It was a very quiet night due to the Mayor elections but our host made us very welcome and kept us entertained. Our steaks were cooked on the open wood fire and were delicious, my sister even got involved with the cooking. We tried the snails, the mussels and the pork pate plus puddings and wine. I couldn't fault any of it and will definitely be returning on my next trip to Paris. This little hidden gem is worth the journey even if you aren't staying locally.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was enchanting. Everything about it exuded the personality of owner/chef Jean Olivier. Food was great but the ambiance was even better. Make it a point to stop at this restaurant during your stay in Vincennes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lfh0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food speaks for itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Am a huge believer of good food and travel as much as I can looking for that restaurant that will blow my mind off. Yes yes and yes, finally found one. The food was just amazing and the customer service? WOW.

A big thanks to the crew and management of Estaminet for such an amazing experience. Wishing you all the best and see you next time am in Paris

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estaminet also viewed

Vincennes, Val-de-Marne
Vincennes, Val-de-Marne
 
Vincennes, Val-de-Marne
Vincennes, Val-de-Marne
 
Vincennes, Val-de-Marne
Vincennes, Val-de-Marne
 

Been to L'Estaminet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing