We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you plan to spend long hours visiting Borobudur or plan to view the sunrise there, I would say Manohara Resort would be a great place to stay. You might find that the rate maybe higher compared to others but it would be worth staying. It is located next to the temple, in fact in the same park, just a gate off. For sunrise experience, you would not have to travel early in the morning (if stay somewhere else) and entrance ticket is available from the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiakChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Yes, this hotel is the only one situation in the park of Borobudur offering a nice view on the temple from its restaurant. The rooms are clean and the hotel quite nice, but the service, the quality of the rooms are not in link with the price. I would rather stay in another hotel and come to have diner in Manohara.
They offer the possibility to visit the temple for sunrise and sunset but prices are prohibitives : 240.000 IDR when you are one of the hotel guest!
They are also apparently a center of research on the temple, and therefore you do not always feel to be in an hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexisscheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in Manohara for two nights. Staff was very polite and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable (TV, air-conditioner, double bed). Only one remark about cleanliness: on grass of our backyard was a little heap of cigarette ends (by the way, backyard is great place to sit there in the evening, drinking tea, looking at stars, etc.). Also, we had a problem accessing our room, but it was solved in 5 minutes by staff. Everything else was just great:
• tamarind squash as welcome drink;
• restaurant with a lot of tasty food (peppermint coffee especially);
• nice musicians in the reception place;
• nearness of Borobudur Temple and Museum - 5-10 minutes by foot and you're there;
• beautiful and quiet hotel territory.

Summing up, this hotel is great place to stay, to rest, to eat, and, of course, to see the Temple and Museum. Maybe a little expensive, but its worth it. We even have played with gamelan orchestra!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teqX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

we stayed here for a night and we made a right choice.
the location is perfect, you cannot get any closer than this with direct access to Borobudur.
currently, the hotel is undergoing renovation so the room is pretty good.
the cleanliness is meet hotel standard.
highly recommend to do the sunrise tour, totally worth the money. it just so peaceful

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night earlier this month. The location on the grounds of the Borobudur temple are superb. The rooms were not fancy, but I has a very spacious room with a terrace, which made it nice for just relaxing after touring the temple complex. As other readers mentioned, you get free entry to the complex during the day and a discount for the sunrise ticket entry, making it a very good value. The food at the breakfast buffet was fairly good, but not great. If I were to return to Borobudur, I would stay here for two nights and see some of the surrounding areas as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights.

The Good:
* The hotel was in green, lovely, sprawling grounds, with a wonderful view of the magnificent Borobudur temple.

* The rooms were large, clean and comfortable with air-con.

* The main advantage of staying here is that you don't have to travel from some distant hotel early in the morning (before 5am) if you wish to do the Borobodur sunrise visit, since the entrance to Borobudur is from within the grounds of the hotel, and the tickets for the sunrise visit are purchased from the hotel counter itself.

* The Spa provides a very good, reasonably priced massage service at your room - you just have to make a reservation at the front desk. This was the best part of our stay here!!

* The entry ticket to Borobudur (20 USD per foreigner) is included in the room rates.

The Not-So-Good:

* The dinner was organized in the open-air gazebo with a Javanese dance performance, and a free helping of mosquitoes to boot.

* The breakfast was of average quality - it had some Western and mostly Asian options. But many of the dishes had gone cold by the time we arrived (around 9am), and none of the staff even offered to heat them up. The service here was rather lousy - we asked for an omelette of 2 eggs, and since it was nearing the end of the buffet breakfast, the cook made the omelette but then gave us only half of it and gave the other half to another guest who had also ordered an omelette - instead of making 2 separate omelettes !! Even the tea and coffee were cold and there was no one there to help with anything. The staff present were simply uninterested or chatting away.

* We ended up visiting Borobudur (and hence paying USD 40 for entry tickets) before we checked-in to the hotel. Since we only discovered later that the entry ticket to Borobudur is included in the hotel room rates, we asked if they could waive our Borobudur ticket fee (USD 40 for 2 of us) from the room charges - but they did not understand what we wanted, and kept insisting on informing us what the rates were. It seemed they were not willing to accede to our very reasonable request. Very poor service overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slurpingSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Located within the archaeological park, well maintained property and grounds and comfortable rooms [bit dated though].
Great views of the monument from the restaurant, live play of the gamelan orchestra, soft lighting all added up to make dinner a pleasant experience.
Great value for money considering the fact that stay in the hotel entitles you to free access to the archaeological site.
Food while not bad,could probably be better, probaly they are complacent because there are not any other dining options nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BasudevBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.1 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#2 of 11 in Borobudur
243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#5 of 11 in Borobudur
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shankara Borobudur
Shankara Borobudur
#14 of 23 in Magelang
23 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Puri Asri
Hotel Puri Asri
#13 of 23 in Magelang
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manohara Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manohara Borobudur

Address: Jl. Badrawati | Komplek Taman Wisata Candi Borobudur, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
#4 Family Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range: $50 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manohara Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manohara Resort offers beds with front-seat views of one of the globe's most amazing destination, The magnificent Borobudur temple, UNESCO World Culture Heritage from your own intimate balcony. Inspired by javanese traditional living, the warm colors of the cozy interior is combined with modern amenities for an enlightening sleeping experience. Manohara Resort has 35 javanese contemporary designed room, each rooms comprises you a generous living area, providing the perfect space for an unforgettable stay. From achieving a peaceful state of mind combined with state-of-the-art facilities, leave the outside world behind! Embrace the biggest Buddhist temple in the world, Borobudur Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Manohara Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Manohara Hotel Borobudur
Manohara Hotel Magelang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing