We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for Borobodur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place for Borobodur”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is aggod place that we can visit Borobodur as often as we want to. Sunrise , sunset. Very closed , easy to walk to . The hotel is very nice . i like the traditional music playing at the lobby. Restuarant is good , nice food. Room and facilities is convenient. people has good service mind. I lke the sarong that hotel prepare for one to visit borobodur.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julnudda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    461
    163
    28
    13
See reviews for
214
334
153
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It is about the only place to stay for sunrise or sunset at Borobudur, because otherwise, it is not easy to make one's way in the dark to and from Borobudur (anyway, guests here get discount). Everything was OK, except the wi-fi only works at the reception/restaurant. The sunrise tour ticket comes with two stubs, and we guess you get the sunset tour free with the sunrise tour, but since we got the ticket only at 4am in the morning, and left by Noon, we did not bother to find out.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Litesleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel all tired from our Bromo trek that morning and having survived a 6 hr train ride from Surabaya to Yogyakarta in the afternoon. It was a further 1.5hr car ride from the city but when we arrived, it was all worth it!

The driveway was impressive and the staff was very alert and efficient although we arrived at 12.30am in the morning. We were 3 friends traveling and it was nice that we were given a room with 3 single beds. The room was spacious and the beds were nice and clean.

Wanting to catch the sunrise at Borobudur, we realized the traveling the night before was all worth it coz the hotel was situated right next to the temple which meant that we didn't have to wake up earlier to travel to the temple. It was a short 10 min walk from our room to the entrance of the temple.

The breakfast was buffet and had a good spread. Wifi is only available in the lobby but with such a comfortable room, we were fine going without in room wifi.

Highly recommend this place to those who signed up for a sunrise tour to Borobudur!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just next to the temple, clean bed and the staff at the front office was very helpful and friendly.

Many tourists from other hotel who are going to the sunrise have to buy the Borobudur entrance ticket here. So, for those who are staying in this hotel, make sure you get the ticket in advance to avoid the long queue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christineng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is the best choice in Borobudur! locate in the foot of Borobudur, you can walk to the great vestige. When you stay in all other hotel, taxi is needed. Manohara has beautiful garden, helpful staff, tidy room. The only one restraurant also in reasonable price. You also enjoy great discount in Borobudur entrance fee. BUT you need book early early early! This lovely hotel is HOT HOT HOT!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Tidy and neat rooms , friendly staff , nice complementary breakfast and overall much better than expected. The perk of this hotel is definitely the location , and also to mention the tranquility.
I would recommend this hotel for visitors.
The sunrise package is overpriced though, stayin still costs 230thousand Rp.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yu Chun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Lovely hotel with extensive gardens adjacent to Borobudur temple. Our triple room #13 was at the far corner of the property, very comfortable except for the gale-force A/C which sounds like a whine but it was so loud it woke us up every time it clicked on. Other than that, little could be improved upon here, the staff is completely accommodating, the food good, the ambiance superb. It's a little spendy (there are other hotels in the town surrounding Borobudur) but worth it, as you do get the entrance fee to the temple included (but not the pre-6AM fee, which is about $26 extra). This could make a good two or three night stay to just kick back and explore the various ways to take photos of the temple.

Room Tip: #13 is next to the road, but we heard no noise. Probably not a bad room in the place unless your imm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33nora707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.1 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
215 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
14.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
18.5 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 206 in Yogyakarta
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manohara Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manohara Borobudur

Property: Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Address: Jl. Badrawati | Komplek Taman Wisata Candi Borobudur, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
#4 Family Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manohara Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manohara Resort offers beds with front-seat views of one of the globe's most amazing destination, The magnificent Borobudur temple, UNESCO World Culture Heritage from your own intimate balcony. Inspired by javanese traditional living, the warm colors of the cozy interior is combined with modern amenities for an enlightening sleeping experience. Manohara Resort has 35 javanese contemporary designed room, each rooms comprises you a generous living area, providing the perfect space for an unforgettable stay. From achieving a peaceful state of mind combined with state-of-the-art facilities, leave the outside world behind! Embrace the biggest Buddhist temple in the world, Borobudur Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manohara Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Manohara Hotel Borobudur
Manohara Hotel Magelang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing