We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

manohara is located on the grounds of borobudur and makes it an excellent venue for a sunrise tour of the temple...the room was spacious and the bathroom good...the audio-visual room prepping for the temple tour is well done and the a-v itself is very informative...a small shopping area provides postcards and some clothing...nice buffet after a sunrise tour...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the only resort/hotel in Borobudur. The accommodation includes the entrance ticket of Borobudur, so it is worth value. The surrounding was magnificent, especially in sunrise. The room is large and clean. The breakfast is great. If you have time, you may stay here for 2 days to have more time visit Borobudur.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with the experience my traveling companions and i had here. The hotel was rather expensive by indonesian standards, but the experience of being able to be a the top of Borobudur at sunrise totally made it worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jllizzi814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I went with my hubby n two boys during the first week of June. As our baby was traveling with us, I requested for a room in a secluded corner n the hotel staff has kindly helped to arrange it.

This is the place to stay for unlimited access to Borobudur, which is a short walk away. The best times to take photo is during the early morning and dusk. The beauty and tranquility of the place should be enjoyed without the hordes of tourists and touts that descend after 9am.

I would highly recommend doing the sunrise tour. The hotel gives a nice souvenir after returning the torch, which was loaned to us. During breakfast, an extra treat of fried bananas is served for those who booked the sunrise tour.

We also went to the Lumbini Park in the temple surroundings, the museum as well as the library inside the hotel itself. Totally enjoyable for a truly Borobudur immersion experience !

The hotel staff also helped us to arrange for a horse cart tour around the villages and the other two ancient temples. My boys loved that experience !

The food from the hotel was nothing to shout about. However, we went to Paksi Cafe which was along the road, by the exit of the Manohara premises. Different types of authentic Indonesia coffee was served there. I also had my best gado gado - Indonesian salad - there.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mereytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. I was not expecting much compared to the price of other hotels in the area.
It is a lovely hotel. Very peaceful and tranquil.
Rooms are clean nice and modern. The hotel is right at the bottom of the temple. Can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAgent2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Staying in Manohara Hotel, first impression was tranquil, feeling relaxed with a nice park surrounding. Just a few minutes, may be 10-15 minutes by slow walking, direct access to Borobudur temple. Hotel even provide free sunset tour and discount rate for sunrise tour. We had a wonderful dinner in Manohara cafe, delicious, with the 'light up' Borobudur.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hendryschan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here a week before the wesak celebarations in May 2013.
Tents were already begining to be set up around the vicinity of the complex.
My second visit to Borobudur, but doing the sunrise for the first time.
Staying at this place makes it easier to get up early and walk to the top to catch the sunrise.
It was wonderful to see the stupas and Buddha statues with the sunrise as a backdrop.

The last time i came here there was no need to wear any sarongs.
But this time all foreginers have to wear the sarong, even if we are dress modestly.
The sarong was a batik cloth with Borobudur design.

The rooms were huge and comfortable.
No complaints on breakfast.

I believe this resort is now called Manohara Resort Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.1 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 11 in Borobudur
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#5 of 11 in Borobudur
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shankara Borobudur
Shankara Borobudur
#14 of 23 in Magelang
18 reviews
21.2 mi away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#5 of 23 in Magelang
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manohara Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manohara Borobudur

Address: Jl. Badrawati | Komplek Taman Wisata Candi Borobudur, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Borobudur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range: $50 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manohara Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manohara Resort offers beds with front-seat views of one of the globe's most amazing destination, The magnificent Borobudur temple, UNESCO World Culture Heritage from your own intimate balcony. Inspired by javanese traditional living, the warm colors of the cozy interior is combined with modern amenities for an enlightening sleeping experience. Manohara Resort has 35 javanese contemporary designed room, each rooms comprises you a generous living area, providing the perfect space for an unforgettable stay. From achieving a peaceful state of mind combined with state-of-the-art facilities, leave the outside world behind! Embrace the biggest Buddhist temple in the world, Borobudur Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manohara Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Manohara Hotel Borobudur
Manohara Hotel Magelang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing