We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went straight from the airport, pick up, to this hotel. Great spot, entrance ticket included, you can go to the Borobudur as much as you want. We did a sunrise trip, very beautiful. Coming back a good buffet breakfast. Staff very nice and helpful. Clean rooms. Very quiet place.

Room Tip: Close to the parking little more noise because of buses. But not during evening/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenUbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

As an Indonesian, I have visited Borobudur many times before. However, staying at this hotel for the first time, makes a whole different experience.

First, staying just beside the temple itself is a unique experience. The hotel is practically next to Borobudur, and you can see the temple clearly while you are having dinner, breakfast, or take a relaxing walk in the hotel garden.

But the biggest benefit is you can actually visit the temple ahead of eveyone else. The price of this hotel (around 750,000 rupiah) already includes entrance fee to Borobudure, twice a day. Due to its location, you can easily visit the temple as early as it opens in 6 in the morning. Borobudur temple is about 2 hours drive from Yogyakarta, and most of daytour from the city started at 6 or 7 in the morning, so most people will start arriving at Borobudur around 8 or 9.

It takes just about 5 minutes from leaving my room to get the first step of the temple. There was a special entrance gate for the hotel guest, so I can skip the long walk through souvenir shops and sellers before entering the temple. When I arrived, there were only small number of people and the air was still cool.

Without people crowded the temple, I can take more beautiful pictures at temple. I can even managed to take some pictures of the temple without anyone on it. I could also take more times to enjoy walking around the temple and admiring the reliefs and statues.

The hotel also has special video about history of Borobudur and stories about the philosophy of the temple and its reliefs. This also provides great insight which made my visit to Borobudur this time more interesting.
You can watch this video at the screening room or your own room. There was also a nice little library with many books about Borobudur and other javanese culture.

The room in this hotel was just OK and feel rather old. But it was clean and has a large porch with beautiful garden in the back. There was no resort facilities such as swimming pool or health club, and it only has one restaurant with average food. But it was not really a problem, since everyone stay at this hotel just want to visit Borobudur.

Very recommended if you really want to have complete experience of Borobudur.


Dinner tips: If you fancy an authentic local dinner, there was a small restaurant near the hotel called "Bakmi Pak Parno". It serves the most delicious Javanese Noodle I have ever taste. Actually it look more like a house than a restaurant, because Mr. Parno uses the terrace and kitchen of his house to serve the guests. It only serves two types of dishes, boiled noodles and fried noodles. But it is said that many foreign tourists staying at Manohara and even Amanjiwo Hotel were interested to try the noodles. Just ask the hotel staff about "Bakmi Pak Parno", and they will happily arrange the transportation to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Y_Karfili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had been to Dieng Plateau earlier in the day & had arranged to be dropped off here (instead of heading back to town). We got here about 5.30pm & we were pleased at sight that greeted us - well manicured lawn, the simple yet well landscaped gardens, the inviting lobby, the smiling staff & their warm reception.There were traditional Indonesian musicians playing relaxing (Balinese spa-like) music at the lobby when we arrived, which we enjoyed as we waited to be checked in & sipped on our welcome drink.

We were a group of 4 (gals) & here's why we reckon staying here was worth our while..

1. Borobudur is some 40+km from downtown Yogyakarta, which will take about 1.5 hours by car & the best time to visit is in the morning, the earlier the better before it gets hot & crowded.. If we stayed in town, we's have to depart by like 5.00am! So, staying in the vicinity would be best. This hotel is a big plus as you are already within the temple's compounds & literally minutes away from the temple - we left our rooms at slightly past 6.00am, took 3 minutes to get to the entrance gate, another 5 minutes up the shady path & we were there! It was still cool & it hadn't begun to get crowded. Talk about advantage!

2. As a foreigner, we would have had to pay the Rp.190,000 admission fee anyway. We stayed here for 1 night & got our room for Rp.745,000, which included 2 admission tickets to the temple (valid for 1 day but multiple entries is allowed) - minus the admission fees for 2 & the room works out to be Rp. 365,000 (USD38) meaning it's only Rp.182,500 (USD19) per person! And, it includes breakfast.

3. After almost a week of staying at guest houses & budget places, this was a welcomed change & a bit of luxury even! Our room was nothing fancy but we did have clean sheets, comfortable beds, flat screen TV with many channels, adequate number of plug points, coffee/tea making facilities, a nice bathroom with good water pressure, a patio with a little garden which looked out to the well maintained hotel grounds, free WiFi in there room (tho' better at the lobby).

4. Is this the best/nicest hotel in the area? Probably not, but it is pretty, pleasant, quiet & peaceful, the staff are pleasant, service is good & the location to & the view of the temple is unbeatable!

Since we'd had a big, late lunch, by 8+pm we still weren't ready for dinner. So, we decided to walk to the near by village to get some snacks for later. The staff at the reception told us that we'd have to walk 1+km, which really wasn't too far, & gave us directions & was even kind enough to lend us a flashlight. However, after venturing about 30 meters out of the main gate, we changed our minds & headed back to the hotel as the road was deserted & rather dark in areas. We'd earlier checked out the room service menu - it has a good selection & the price wasn't too expensive but the tax is 17%. Unfortunately, the restaurant closes at 10pm & the room service ends along with its closure.

For the sunrise tour, you have to pay an additional Rp.230,000 & have to be at the lobby at 4.30am. Tired from the day's outing, we opted to skip the sunrise tour to get a couple of extra hour's sleep & save the Rp.230,000 for shopping/massage/pedicure back in town (it can go quite a long way here)! After speaking to one of the other guests, we found out that there was a group of close to 40 people that had gathered at 4.30am for the sunrise tour, which isn't really a tour - visitor were given flashlights & just led to the to the temple where you're pretty much on your own unless you engage a guide, which will cost you extra. Then, it's just stay put & wait for the sunrise. However, since it'd been cloudy, it wasn't a brilliant sunrise. So, in hindsight, we were glad that we'd decided to give it a miss.

We woke up at about 5.00am, hung out in the garden (which was really nice at that time of day), had a cuppa coffee, got ready & left our room at slightly past 6am. Got to the gate & found out that you need to put on a sarong to visit the temple - fortunately, the hotel provides the sarongs (on loan for no extra cost). From the gate, we could already clearly see the temple & we reached it via the footpath in no time. I shan't go into details about our visit as I'll cover it in a seperate review.

Once done at the temple, we returned to the hotel for breakfast, a decent buffet spread of local & Western food (ratio was like70:30) served at the Coffee Shop. For me, what make a good breakfast is an egg station - yes, there was one & I was plenty happy! It was really nice having breakfast there surrounded by all the green of the garden, very relaxing.

All in all, we had a good time there & it was certainly worth our while!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPenaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stay here if you are visiting Borobudur as it's only 5min walks. I suggest guest to join their sunrise package at 4.30am which cost only rupiah 230,000 per person and the space are all yours when on top Borobudur. Hotel will provide sarong for their in house guest when going up to Borobudur.

Normal entry fee is rupiah 380,000 per person but the moment gate open for visitors at 0700 the crowd is really really too much and walking around the area is a bit tight.

Room is OK and we love the balcony area which is spacious and you can enjoy the ambiance.

When at resort, please arrange for reception to book Andong(rph 150,000 per Andong) for sight seeing of the village nearby. You can witness all kinds of plantation and padi field plus making of rice snacks and bean curd. We also stop by local market to see how their markets looks like and buy Gula Jawa (brown sugar) and local snacks. I guarantee you will love this experience :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night over the Easter weekend.

This is the only hotel INSIDE Borobudur Park, and temple entrance is less than a 5 minute walk. Room rates include breakfast and multiple entrances to Borobudur. This makes it very good value for money considering entrance fee for foreign nationals is IDR 190,000 per adult.

Rooms are modern, well equipped and comfortable. Hotel grounds are beautifully landscaped. WiFi is free and worked well in the rooms and common areas.

Dinner at the main restaurant was average. There was a reasonable spread at breakfast, with the usual mix of Asian and Western options.

I would highly recommend purchasing the sunrise 'tour', which leaves the hotel at 04:30, reaching the top of Borobudur at 04:45. While it does not come with a guide, there are not too many other people until 07:00, so you get a chance to view the sunrise at 05:30 and explore Borobudur before the crowds come in.

Staff are polite and helpful. We left a bunch of clothes in the room before checking out and headed out to explore Borobudur around noon - staff neatly packed them in a laundry bag and came rushing to our car to hand them to us when we were leaving.

Do note there are renovation works taking place on some guest rooms, which does make it a bit difficult to sleep after completing the sunrise visit. Best to ask for a room that is away from the works.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the restaurant, they overlook beautifully landscaped gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just 1night here for RM250 or approximately usd80. The distance from yogya town is roughly one half hour. So for those who wishes to go for Borobudur sunrise tour it wud be advisable to stay here so that u don hv to wkeup extremely early to travel from town n furthermore its cheaper for hotel guest to buy the package @Rp230,000.

The room has a porch overseeing a beautiful garden n the rest of the facilities are pretty basix for a 4star hotel. However the food n souveniers here are more towards the costly end.

For guest stayin here,there's a private pathway directly to Borobudur which is great.

Overall a hotel slightly on the pricey end but is worth every penny to live in as one cud save a considerable amount of time in travellin

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanleyipkiss86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you love Borobudur, this would be the best hotel for you to stay on as you do not need to pay any fee for multiple entry to the beautiful Unesco site. However, there would be additional charges if you plan to see the sunrise there.

The hotel is surrounded by greens and peaceful with birds chirping. Although the rooms might be a little low in maintenance with dim lightings, we have enjoyed our stay there. The Borobudur Sunrise Tour was exciting and we took a short walk from the hotel to Borobudur. Glad that we booked the hotel as it is totally worth the money you have paid and we will definitely stay in this hotel again!

The breakfast was simple but yummy and we enjoyed our meal surrounded by greens.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegeneLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.1 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#2 of 11 in Borobudur
242 reviews
11.2 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#5 of 11 in Borobudur
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
0.5 mi away
Shankara Borobudur
Shankara Borobudur
#14 of 23 in Magelang
23 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Puri Asri
Hotel Puri Asri
#13 of 23 in Magelang
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manohara Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manohara Borobudur

Address: Jl. Badrawati | Komplek Taman Wisata Candi Borobudur, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Borobudur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range: $50 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manohara Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manohara Resort offers beds with front-seat views of one of the globe's most amazing destination, The magnificent Borobudur temple, UNESCO World Culture Heritage from your own intimate balcony. Inspired by javanese traditional living, the warm colors of the cozy interior is combined with modern amenities for an enlightening sleeping experience. Manohara Resort has 35 javanese contemporary designed room, each rooms comprises you a generous living area, providing the perfect space for an unforgettable stay. From achieving a peaceful state of mind combined with state-of-the-art facilities, leave the outside world behind! Embrace the biggest Buddhist temple in the world, Borobudur Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Manohara Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Manohara Hotel Borobudur
Manohara Hotel Magelang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing