We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Borobudur Temple
from $40.00
More Info
from $113.80
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
Reviews (7,334)
Filter reviews
7,334 results
Traveler rating
5,067
1,753
375
69
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,067
1,753
375
69
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunrise tour largest buddhist manohara hotel an umbrella top level take your time stone carvings a unesco world heritage site bucket list early in the morning entrance fee ticket price central java take photos watch the sunrise local guide beautiful sunrise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 7,334 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Horrible horrible horrible - no need for elephants to be here full stop let alone be chained and held as tourist attraction! do not visit it is not worth adding to the tourism money here when it's being used in such a cruel way. Avoid at all costs - go to other nearby beautiful and ethical temples instead where there are no animals like Sambisari or Plaosan (both MUCH cheaper in costs and absolutely stunning and quiet)

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank JandATravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Once in your life (at least) one should visit this place. Very early in the morning took the sunrise entrance of the temple location where you can find your way to the temple in the dark. The sunrise ticket includes a torch, which is necessary to find the path.
You should come here early to find a good spot to see the sunrise, especially when you want to try to make good photography. Why? Because you will not be alone. Especially the girls in red/yellow/green/white dresses with silly straw hats will demand much space for their instagram photography. This phenomenon becomes to be a real plague at this type of cultural locations!
Anyway, the Borobudur is still a sacred temple location. From that point of view, in combination with the sunrise it is a real magical experience!

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Martijn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Momentya, Staff of Marketing at Borobudur Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We were pleased when for receiving your beautiful and kind note of encouragement and support. Thank you for supporting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

We got to the temple site for 6am as it opened and it was the right choice - it was calm and peaceful with the sun rising and clearing the morning mist. We felt so lucky to really enjoy it before the huge crowds arrived and I would really recommend it. Stunning structure with so many interesting carvings. Do bother to go up the hill opposite to see the temple framed by the mountains - no one else seemed to bother but it was an amazing view!

One huge negative - the chained elephants that have been mentioned seem to live in appalling conditions and I am seriously unhappy that my ticket price contributes to that cruelty. Not good enough!

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank JessieAnne92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

This is a really stunning temple - we spent about 2.5 hours visiting. There are many levels, each with different relief sculptures, worth very careful scrutiny, and great views of the countryside. We did the sunset thing arranged by our hotel, arriving at the temple before 5 am. After climbing with flashlights with the crowd to the top, we spent about an hour jostling with others peering towards horizon, everyone taking selfies. Good views and sights only emerged around 6 am, which we could have been there for even if we had bought a regular entry ticket instead. The "free" breakfast after the temple was not very interesting and was redundant since breakie was waiting for us back at our hotel.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank ditchnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Momentya, Staff of Marketing at Borobudur Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your experience! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019 via mobile

We visited the temple at sunrise, walking back to the cafe for breakfast we walked past chained elephants! They were hanging their heads and clearly disturbed. Their life is appalling. If I’d have known, I would not have visited at all. You visit the temple for the temple not chained elephants!! It was so upsetting to see. I looked for a petition to sign online , there was one which was closed as they had managed to secure ‘better’ conditions for the elephants ie they no longer use a hook, they are not used for rides, apparently no longer chained, which is not true!

GET WITH THE TIMES!!, this is not what the visitors want to see, look after these beautiful creatures, they do not need to be on display!

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank sally r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews