We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
544
70
20
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
544
70
20
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool suite ginger beer outdoor bathtub ed tuttle borobudur suite menoreh hills main building borobudur temple picnic breakfast local home aman properties rice fields rose petals central java main pool four seasons room number
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were mislead into spending unnecessary fees for something they knew from the beginning that they couldn’t deliver.

Be aware with all the promise and their condescending nature behind the “fake friendliness”.

Very disappointing.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Melissa_LA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiwo_Management, Direttore at Amanjiwo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your time in reviewing us. However, I would be grateful if you could be more specific in regards to this incident - by reading your review it's not clear what exactly happened. We do not have any records of you staying with us in July, nor any complaints of this kind. I would appreciate if you could provide me with an email or phone number where I can contact you or, alternatively, get in touch with me directly at dtasca@aman.com to discuss it further.

Daniele Tasca
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a long over due review. We visited on end of Feb 2019.

The hotel architecture is stunning. We were blown away when we arrived at the hotel.

The red ginger beer was the best ginger beer i ever had. We had room right next to the paddy field. It was very relaxing and calming by just setting at the pavilion and enjoying the good view.

The hotel organised some history talked by an anthropologist. It gave us a deeper insight of the history of Java.

Good experience and highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiwo_Management, Direttore at Amanjiwo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are extremely thankful for this late yet terrific review. Thrilled to know you particularly enjoyed Patrick's lectures on the history of Java and its temples, the stunning views and the hotel architecture. Thank you also for your comment on our signature home-made welcome drink. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Daniele Tasca
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

Being a huge Aman fan, Amanjiwo was high on my list. My husband and I strayed for 4 nights last week and loved every minute of it! The staff are amazing, very friendly and personable.

Definitely recommend the daily complimentary morning yoga by the pool, the instructor Augustin is lovely and will cater the class to your needs. We were the only 2 people in class 2 out of the 3 days.

I also highly recommend dinner at Pak Bilal's house, picnic by the river and cycling through the near by villages.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiwo_Management, Direttore at Amanjiwo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your time in sharing these wonderful comments - it means a lot coming from a huge Aman fan. Augustine and the rest of the team have read your review and are very thankful. It would be a pleasure to have you back soon.

Daniele Tasca
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

We stayed here on our visit to Borobudur. The hotel is serene and majestic. From our back patio we could see the temple shrouded in the mist. the suite was large and elegant. But beware of the platform bed. If you get up in the middle of the night and forget getting back in you will have very bruised shins. The outdoor bathtub for two was divine. The food is very well prepared. Breakfast was my favorite meal. But if you have any knee issues, the stone stairs are steep and the banisters don't run the full length of the stairways. There is nothing in the immediate area of the hotel, so you will need to discuss with the concierge your options as well as how to get to the temple, which you want to get to before sunrise to beat the heat and the crowds.

Room tip: If you have any ambulatory issues, this is not the place for you. If you are part mountain goat, then come
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Food-Art-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiwo_Management, Direttore at Amanjiwo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for reviewing us. Great to know you particularly enjoyed the elegance of your suite, the outdoor bathtub and the food. Terribly sorry if you found the platform bed not very convenient and thanks again for the constructive feedback. Your Amanjiwo Family would be very pleased to have the chance to welcome you back.

Daniele Tasca
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

High ceilings, garden terrace, secluded. Minibar not free, but jar of cookies and another of chips replaced daily. Bed set on wide platform making getting in and out of bed difficult for normal-height individuals. Toilet low and shallow, fine for midgets. Not within walking distance of Borobudur, but close. Lots of steps to get to restaurant. Water bottles in room of glass, but difficult to open, but great goose-down pillows.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaPaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiwo_Management, Direttore at Amanjiwo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for this constructive yet positive review. We take your comments very seriously and we appreciate the time you took in sharing them with the online community. Glad to know you enjoyed the grandeur of the architecture and our high-quality pillows. However, we are sorry if you found some features of the room and the hotel not very comfortable. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Daniele Tasca
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews