We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working towards being an Aman junkie ?”
Review of Amanjiwo Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanjiwo Resorts
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Working towards being an Aman junkie ?”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As soon as you enter to the entrance to the lobby area you will have a clear sight of the Borobudur. The terrace where the dining is has an arresting view of the borobudur at dawn and dusk ! Service is excellent, they are there and yet not there (if you know what i mean) There are 4 villa types to choose from – garden suites, borobudur suites, pool suites and dalem jiwo suite. We took the borodubur suite as we wanted to have a good view of the borobudur so we thought. Technically if you stand outside the patio and stretch your head out to the left you might see it on a clear day ! For a property that is more than 10 years old its well maintained but for today's comfort, certain renovations would be required. All amenities were good, with easy wifi connection (but signal was weak at times). Note to TV addicts - NO TV (which i did not missed at all)
My favourite was the 40m pool, which allows you to work on your laps (sans the descending stairs on both sides of the pool which will irritate swimmers who are looking to do their fast flip turns) Food was ok. The Aman team was at its best to please your every whims and fancies. Though i spotted inconsistency in its service rendered but good try though. Overall, good experience. If this was 20 years ago, I would have said the best ever hotel experience, but in these times, there are many other resorts that would provide similar experience hence, it need to look to differentiate again !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saxonewoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    58
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
137
261
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have stayed at several Aman resorts in Asia. With the advent of new luxury chains they no longer always have the " knockout" visual impact but they still offer a level of sophisticated engagement with their community and surroundings that is unique.
We took the advice of other travelers and booked a Borobudur Pool Suite and I asked for one in the low 20s( which means you look out directly onto a serene vegetable garden and on towards the temple)
We stayed for seven days which is probably longer than average. It is a wonderful place to relax if you have the time; I think 4 days really is the shortest in order to avoid the feeling you are racing between attractions. The traffic can be overwhelming and I suspect some guests try to cram too much into a short stay.
We loved the warmth and friendly welcome of villagers as we cycled with Poyo through the fields and communities around the resort. The staff are fantastic and combine low key professional service with a sense of humor which is unusual in many Asian resorts.
Mark the manager is fantastic and I would recommend spending time with him to plan your stay. He arranged a private tour with Dr Oel the owner of a wonderful contemporary Art museum.
Java was very different to our expectations; amazing temples and towering volcanoes but far more friendly and engaging than we had anticipated.
Fitness centre adequate but cycling in the fields much more fun!
Make sure you use all three menus to choose your meals as the main menu can feel limited

Room Tip: Pool suite numbered 20 to 25. Gives you a wonderful sense of peace overlooking the fields and across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UluruAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for the end of our honeymoon for our trip to Java and was very pleased with the experience. Gorgeous location, attentive staff, and great food. Our activities included a morning sunrise to Bourabodour (a must if you are in Java though not as special now that most hotels are allowed morning access to BoraBodour whereas before it was only the Aman. Also hiked the Menorah Hills.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Two nigh stay to see Borobudur and Prambanan. Could not place the hotel in a more beautiful location. Located at the base of mountains and can see Borobudur in the distance. The lower end of the resort rolls into the farm fields and while the resort maintains luxury, it does its best to blend into the local surrounding.

The staff was willing to deliver breakfast earlier than the scheduled breakfast to allow my wife and I to see sunrise at Borobudur. We enjoyed the Indonesian food off the menu for lunch and dinner – more than the Western cuisine. Amanjiwo maintains a small hotel feel with attentive staff and had a great interaction with Mark, the General Manager.

Beautifully manicured and maintained resort. Amanjiwo service is always working behind the scenes. We had one evening with rose pedals adorning our bed. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The location is beautiful, not far from Borobudur temple that you can see from the lounge/dinner area. I would recommend a 2 night stay there. We stayed 3 nights and found it a bit long. The food is OK. Nothing out of the ordinary. Not a lot of food choice and atmosphere especially at dinner time was quite boring... We did not get the chance to have a local dance during our dinner etc.

Rooms are nice and big like most Aman hotels. Although we do not quite understand the outdoor bath concept when mosquitos are flying around like crazy. It is the same architect who built Amankila where we stayed just a few days before. Hotel pool is huge but the facilities around it still a bit boring.

Spa. We hated the Amanjiwo massage... I think we were unlucky with the masseuse but it was so strong! the more we asked to reduce the pressure the stronger it would get! really not the type of massages we have been used to in high end resorts. Quite disappointing.

Outside activities:
-Borobudur Temple. definitely worth doing the sunrise ride (wake up very early 4.30am) ask for breakfast with the view of Borobudur arranged by your guide; if you are looking for a guide we had an AMAZING guide throughout who speaks perfect English (also German). His name is Soni ask for him! More than 20 years of experience and very interesting to speak to. As the traffic is pretty bad around there it is better you spend time with someone you are happy with!
- Danar Hadi Batik Museum appart from the site which is nice the museum is really boring. Not worth going.
- Prambanan very nice, worth also visiting
- Dr Oie Modern art museum. OK... if you have time...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I didn't know about this hotel until our driver bring us there. Sukir suggested after Borobudur sunrise, we (my hubby and friends) should check out this place and have breakfast. Thanks to him, we had breakfast in heaven.
Egg Benedict=IDR 181,000
Tea=IDR 67,000
Experience= Priceless!
The view is awesome. Straight, facing the Borobudur. Makes me feel as if I am an angel looking down from heaven above.
One day, I will come back to JOGJA and stay here!

I hope they could improve on the food tho. The street food in Jogja taste better, seriously!
I mean for the price that we pay....come on~

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirniong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We booked the Amanjiwo for three nights. Although we know Indonesia quit well and the Borobudur was not new to us we decided to go again to see how the Amanjiwo was.
We were upgraded in the resort to a room with view on the Borobudur. This was an real extra.
We have been to many Amanresorts and we found at Amanjiwo exact what we like so much about them.
Location : outstanding nothing alike
Resort: incomparable with any other resort.
Staff: we where at home from the first minute.
Food: excellent .
So if you can afford hotels in this category, go here.

Room Tip: Room with view on Borobudur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pim1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
1.9 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
207 reviews
1.9 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
973 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
15.5 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanjiwo Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanjiwo Resorts

Property: Amanjiwo Resorts
Address: Ds. Majaksingi, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Borobudur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Borobudur
#3 Spa Hotel in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanjiwo Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanjiwo (peaceful soul) overlooks Borobudur, the world's largest Buddhist sanctuary, in the rural heartland of Central Java. Located in one of the most scenic parts of the country, the Menoreh Hills rise up behind and no less than four volcanoes grace the horizon. Amanjiwo provides the opportunity for immersion in Javanese culture, offering trips to ceremonies, temples and antique shops. Private dawn and sunset visits to Borobudur and other archeological monuments in the vicinity are the highlight of a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amanjiwo Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjiwo Hotel Yogyakarta
Amanjiwo Resort Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing