We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
317
46
13
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
317
46
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool javanese experience jeep safari lush valley free laundry steep road white water rafting dedicated staff central java an upgrade living area each evening felt like royalty call to prayer four nights mosquito net spent nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 381 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2019

this place is very quiet, and it's a good place to just relax and enjoy the nature around.
They also provide us with our own butler which very helpful because we're basically up in the mountain and it's hard to get food from outside the villa.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank fwirawan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2019

Dear Ibu Felita,

Thank you very much for your review and letting other people know about the concept and services of Villa Borobudur Resort.

Kind regards,
Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Borobudur over Chinese New Year in the Villa Merbabu. Spacious, private, comfortable accommodation with spectacular views. Top class service and enjoyable food really made for a great holiday. We were there with two kids 10 and 12 and we had plenty of daily activities to keep them entertained, batik class, bamboo leaf weaving, pony trap ride, rafting to name a few. Special thanks to Nana our driver who was so gracious and accommodating. The kids miss you! Also thanks to all of the villa team who looked after us so well! It is a holiday we won't forget.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank SingaporePoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2019

Dear Pascale,

Thank you for choosing us to spend your special family holiday! What a pleasure to hear you had the experience of a lifetime during the batik class, rafting, pony trap ride and also coconut leaf weaving.

Thank you very much for your kind review and for praising our staff to be the best you've ever experienced, we will gladly pass your compliment to our staff and especially to Nanang. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Kind regards,
Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2018 via mobile

I chose this villa resort because it was located on a hill with breathtaking view of the mountains and the village of Magelang. As it is in the middle of a jungle surrounded by many trees, insects, flies, bugs and critters are expected, so be prepared with lots of mosquito repellents and have your dinner early at 5 pm.

6 of us - include 4 kids stayed at Villa Merbabu for 2 nights. We love this 2-storey charming Javanese villa resort so much. The ride up and down the hill to and from Villa Merbabu was very steep but I enjoyed it so much every time and the drivers are very experienced.

What I like so much about this villa resort are:

1) very friendly, happy and accommodating staff
2) very safe, friendly and experienced drivers
3) very yummy good food - we all love the deep fried Tempe, nasi goreng and mee goreng so much. In fact kids menu offers very delicious western and Indonesian food too!
4) very picturesque swimming pool
5) very quiet and private premise
6) lovely comfortable Javanese bedroom and bathroom

I enjoy sitting on the sofas and looking out at the mountains with a hot cup of freshly brewed coffee.

I find it remarkable to get clear water, uninterrupted electricity, air con and wifi up here.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JennyGoh2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, General Manager at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

Dear Jenny and family,

Thank you for your review and wonderful you took the time to tell others about your experiences at Villa Borobudur. It was very nice to see how you and the children thoroughly enjoyed the activities in the Villa and in the area. Thank you also for the wonderful compliments and for appreciating our concept and staff so much. We have gladly passed on the compliments to them.

Hopefully we could welcoming you and your family again in someday.

Kind Regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018

We originally booked the villa menoreh but was upgraded to Villa Kayangan which had even better views, you could actually see Borobudur from the room. The Kayangan was a lovely two bedroom wooden villa that was absolutely amazing. One of the restroom was outdoors. The staff was absolutely friendly and service minded and ensure all our needs were met. We stayed for two nights and booked the Java Inclusive which covered breakfast, lunch, dinner, borobudur VIP tickets, and transfers to the airport which was quite a deal.

However, do bear in mind that given the location some things are quite limited inclusing food options which only had local cuisine available which was nice but home made quality so don't expect Hilton sized spreads. Keep in mind you are also sleeping in the middle of a jungle so insects are quite plentiful, keep that repellent handy. Also, note that it is a very steep climb up the mountain by car so only hotel cars would work. Don't expect a 5 star chain hotel resort standard.

Despite this, with the amazing views and beautiful villa all was worth it!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2018

Dear Kritana,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other future guest.

We are happy that you could accept our concept ; authentic Javanese, that means our architecture, our staff and also our food. We would like the guest to feel Javanese hospitality during their stay.

We do hope to welcoming you again to Villa Borobudur Resort.

Kind Regards,

Rohmatul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2018

My wife and I are experienced travelers, especially around South East Asia (we are based in Vietnam) and this resort is the best place we have ever spent a night in.
It is located in Borobudur's mountains, the view from the hotel is unbelievable, just breathtaking.
We stayed in a beautiful villa with swimming pool, private and quiet.
The service at the hotel is superb, first class, matching the level of the venue. The staff was warm but super professional.
If you want to stay at an unforgettable and special hotel, this is the one!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mario O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2018

Dear Mario,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and sharing your experience of Villa Borobudur.

We are delighted and proud to read it was one of your most memorable stays ever. And we gladly pass the compliments to our team. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Once again thank you for staying with and hopefully we may welcome you again some day.

Kind Regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews