We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
317
45
13
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
317
45
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool javanese experience jeep safari lush valley free laundry steep road white water rafting dedicated staff central java an upgrade living area each evening felt like royalty call to prayer four nights mosquito net spent nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 380 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2018

My wife and I are experienced travelers, especially around South East Asia (we are based in Vietnam) and this resort is the best place we have ever spent a night in.
It is located in Borobudur's mountains, the view from the hotel is unbelievable, just breathtaking.
We stayed in a beautiful villa with swimming pool, private and quiet.
The service at the hotel is superb, first class, matching the level of the venue. The staff was warm but super professional.
If you want to stay at an unforgettable and special hotel, this is the one!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mario O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2018

Dear Mario,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and sharing your experience of Villa Borobudur.

We are delighted and proud to read it was one of your most memorable stays ever. And we gladly pass the compliments to our team. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Once again thank you for staying with and hopefully we may welcome you again some day.

Kind Regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2018

What can I say about this hotel? It's Paradise in Central Java. Seriously, no kidding. We spent there one of the most memorable nights of our lives!
You might think that I am exaggerating, but when you are on top of a mountain, watching the sunset from your bed, listening to the chants of the imams all over the valley, seeing the fog rise with the nightfall... This description in words doesn't even come close to the feeling, but it might give you the idea!!
The staff of the hotel was amazing, so helpful, so nice and polite. They gave us privacy but they were there when we needed them.
The villa itself is a blast. The rooms are lavishly decorated, with Javanese art on the walls, wood carves and traditional statues all over the place, so tasteful, classy and charming. We also had a private swimming pool that we enjoyed a lot.
We had dinner there too, and the food was really good. Great presentation and quite affordable!
Overall, a 10/10, the best place to rest and enjoy an amazing stay in Borobudur. By the way, you can see the temple from the lookout!!
Don't hesitate and book this place for a special and unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ichabodcrane8621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2018

Dear ichabodcrane8621,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. It was very nice having you as our guests as it is always nice to see our guest enjoy and appreciate their Javanese experience. We will certainly pass the compliment to our staff.

Hopefully we can welcoming you again someday soon.

Best Regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

I really don't know how this place is still open. The view is amazing but thats about it. Booked for 4 nights but checked out after 1 night. Firstly you need to drive through a village on a very rough road, then our driver could only take us so far as we had to change vehicles to go up a very steep road very inconvenient. We checked into a wooden hut type of room, no phone no tv no wifi, great if thats what your looking for. Also be prepared to be eaten alive by mozzies they r everywhere. Also no western food at all and must order 1hr before u eat or wait an hour after u order, very annoying after climbing the temple and come back hungry to be told food takes an hour to prepare. Again if your in to that type of stay its good but none of this was mentioned when booking online. Great view thats it.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, General Manager at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear Mr Ayoub,

We regret you are disappointed with you stay in Villa Borobudur Resort. You should not have been surprised, if you had indeed checked the resort and it's facilities online. All information is provided.
The reason you had to change cars, is to ensure that you are safely transported to your villa. As you mention; the views are great.

The 'wooden hut' you refer to, is an authentic Javanese 'joglo', made of teak wood, by Javanese craftsmen, according to the highest standards. We regret, you cannot appreciate our concept.

The Queen of Denmark and other VVIP's also stayed in our resort, their feedback - including about the accommodation - was always very favorable.

Kind Regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in the hotel. We kindly got an upgrade as the hotel was not full. The hotel is not a luxury hotel at all but the accommodations looks really typical, all in wood, simple but very charming. Located on a hill, rooms have an amazing view. Staff is very friendly and always available even if not very experienced. The hotel is very quiet, the only thing you hear are the muezzins in the area. The only negative note is about food. We had dinner there once, we had to select our food in the afternoon and they prepared it specifically for us. Unfortunately quality was very poor and we couldn’t get anything that we didn’t order hours before. We were the only table, basically there’s not a real restaurant.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mauriziob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2018

Dear Bobbio,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review on your stay at Villa Borobudur. As you know, it was a pleasure having you and we definitely look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Yanazil and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Pros: the property consists of several small wooden buildings instead of a gigantic property. This makes the surroundings feel less obnoxious and private. Beautiful green view! The area is surrounded by friendly locals and we get to see how they live and smile everyday. Food was good and fruits were cut fresh.

Cons: there was noise till late at night from the surrounding area since it's nearing independence day, but not too much. Cocktail was rather weak.

Overall, will recommend anyone to stay here.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Akihiromd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor and we are glad you enjoyed it so much. As you know, it was a pleasure having you and we definitely look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Yana and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews