We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
317
46
13
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
317
46
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool javanese experience jeep safari lush valley free laundry steep road white water rafting dedicated staff central java an upgrade living area each evening felt like royalty call to prayer four nights mosquito net spent nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 381 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Pros: the property consists of several small wooden buildings instead of a gigantic property. This makes the surroundings feel less obnoxious and private. Beautiful green view! The area is surrounded by friendly locals and we get to see how they live and smile everyday. Food was good and fruits were cut fresh.

Cons: there was noise till late at night from the surrounding area since it's nearing independence day, but not too much. Cocktail was rather weak.

Overall, will recommend anyone to stay here.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Akihiromd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor and we are glad you enjoyed it so much. As you know, it was a pleasure having you and we definitely look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Yana and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Merapi villa, which was hidden in the Indonesian jungle, for a few heavenly days. There were four bungalow-type rooms with private outdoor bathrooms, a beautiful swimming pool accompanied by a fun slide and
a lovely terrasse and living area. Everything was decorated in a traditional Javanese fashion and the villa was overall homely but also classy.

The staff were exceptional. They spoke very good english, took us exciting outings and were always ready to help. I would personally recommend the bike rides as the staff that took us showed us to beautiful and interesting spots where my family and I discovered new skills and views. Cookery classes are also very fun and I (who adores traditional cuisine) enjoyed the new flavours and techniques greatly.

The food was fresh, flavoured and nutritious. We would order it the meal before from a range of different options in a menu and decide what time we wanted it served. The staff were on time, discreet, the food came quickly and we were always pleasantly surprised by the new tastes and especially the scrumptious deserts.

Overall I would 100% recommend this hotel to family, couples and others. We stayed in probably the best place we have ever been to and the experience was definitely worth the price.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank BenjaminJ886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Benjamin,

Greetings from Villa Borobudur! It was a pleasure having you and your family with us. We greatly appreciate the time taken to write your review and we are happy you had such a wonderful stay and do appreciate our service concept of authentic Java and the efforts we undertake to conserve nature and culture in the Borobudur area. We also happy to hear that you could enjoyed the Javanese cuisine.

Hope to see you and the family again, more fun things to do and explore next time!

Best regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

We got a pick up from the train station in Yogya. Then we were very kindly welcomed by the staff. The place looks amazing and has all the kinds of comfort that you need! The staff was very kind and helpfull! This was our best stay during our trip! Would recommend to anyone for sure

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear Sam,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this place on the mountain hill watching over the Borobudur temple and what has been created here is a unique mix of an authentic set of small villas all in wood, a luxury environment without being posh or over the top and some of the best customer service we have ever seen.
Most of the areas are directly connected to the open air, no air conditioning needed, although available in the rooms. The meals offer an Indonesian experience of fine dining quality yet with down to earth dishes.
The swimming pool is beautiful, clean and long enough for a really nice swim.
The hotel offers a driver Service that made the experience even more unique. We visited Jogjakarta, the Borobudur and Prambanan temples and found beautiful wood and stone work.
A real recommendation if you are in for an experience that is clearly off the beaten track and if you can appreciate nature.

A little warning: if you allergic to nature and living creatures or want hamburgers and club sandwiches, this is probably not the experience you are seeking!

If not: indulge and enjoy a unique experience!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Charly_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, Manajer Umum at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear Charly and Arjen,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We very much appreciated your understanding regarding our location. We are glad to hear that you could enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass your compliment to our staff who help you during your stayed. Hopefully we can welcoming you again next time.

Kind Regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

Stayed as a family (4 kids aged 16 to 21) for four nights in a private villa (Marabu) . Fabulous views across the lush valley to the Borobudur temple and volcanoes beyond. The villa has three en-suite large bedrooms, private pool with loads of seating & lounging space and a dining & lounge area.
Being up on the hillside there seems to be a welcome breeze most evenings so it’s a little cooler than on the valley floor.
The villa comes with its own staff who are friendly, charming and so helpful. We chose to eat in the villa each evening and the food was delightful .
There is plenty to do and see in the area and not just the Borobudur temple which is definitely worth a visit as is the village tour finishing off with a cooking lesson and lunch in a local house.
The hotel staff are very happy and able to organise trips. We all went on a jeep safari and the kids also went to see/make Batik and on a trek up the mountain to another village whilst we just relaxed enjoying the pool and view.
This has been a perfect few days.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mbY1968GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanazil L, General Manager at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Dear Bunney family,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you could enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for the compliment for our staff who are able to give the best service to you and your family. It has a pleasure to have you as our guest. Hopefully we could welcoming you again next time.

Kind Regards,

Yana and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews