We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil getaway with total privacy, surrounded by natural landscaping, opening up to an awesome view from the hill.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Borobudur Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A tranquil getaway with total privacy, surrounded by natural landscaping, opening up to an awesome view from the hill.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

There's no denying that one has to live with "uninvited" but harmless creepy crawlies, however, Villa Diponegoro is definitely value for money. The privacy and full panoramic view it offers is more than you could ask for. The whole team servicing the Villa demonstrates humility and sincerity in their service. Try to speak English slowly and be mindful of the fact that English is a foreign language to them. They are mostly from the villages in the hills - they are gentle and so well mannered. We left Villa Diponegoro with a memorable experience and a lasting impression.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philomena2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Philomena,

Thank you very much for your review and so well explaining some important parts of our concept. The local staff are an important part of the authentic Java experience and they are genuine in the hospitality, respect and friendliness towards other people.

Wonderful they, and the view of course, made up for a lasting impression. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again,

Warm regards,

Ingo, Noëlle and all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    39
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
107
140
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This summer we decided to visit different parts of Indonesia and our first destination was the villa Borobudur, which was recommended to us by several friends from Singapore. With a group of four adults and four children/teenagers we lived in four villas built in a typical regional style. The extraordinary part of this stay was definitely the way the four villas were built in the hillside in the middle of the jungle. From our location we couldn't see the temple but we had a beautiful over the valley and the volcano Merapi at all times. The staff was extremely friendly and likable, as they were open-minded and interested without being imposing. There was plenty of private space for everybody and still there were lots of opportunities to meet either at the wonderful, private pool with waterside or for dinner in the dining room. The food was excellent and was prepared only for us in a kitchen located next to our villas only for us. We met the owner, who took care of us and gave us good advice about exploring the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for your review and lovely you enjoyed your stay in Villa Merapi so much. It was great having you all as our guests and hopefully you will visit again as there is still more to see an do. As you also enjoyed the walks in the area, there are some favorites still to discover!

Looking forward to meeting again,

Warm regards,

Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Rémy de Provence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The nicest staff we had in a hotel, dedicated to our well-being and satisfaction. The food is delicious, the premices are beautiful.The staff organized a very special birthday party for our daughter which was a surprise for all of us: wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Alain,

Thank you for your review and wonderful to read you and your family had an unforgettable stay. It is always nice to be able to surprise with a special birthday party or something like that and we are glad you al enjoyed it. hopefully we may welcome you again some day soon.

Best regards,

Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

It is really a very beautiful place with a view to die for. I could just lie in bed to watch the sun rise and set, the mist come and go each day. A peaceful quiet place for rest. Surprisingly the morning prayers did not disturb me but my husband. I am not a deep sleeper but it must mean the ear plugs work! The period we visit was after Ramadan and you could hear fireworks set off throughout the day and night but I am fine with it. Beware of mosquitoes and bugs. I returned home with big itchy bites all over my arms and legs. There is no air con but a fan. Morning and night are cool enough even cold. Afternoon if you stay in room can be quite hot. Staff is polite and honest. They emptied money from my laundry and returned to us. For the price to have all meals included plus laundry and wifi and sunrise Borobudur tour, it's not bad. The resort has no main reception. They will drive you up the mountain right up to your villa and each time there will be staff there to greet you with cold towels.

What will make it perfect:
- devise a way to call for assistance instead of having to climb up and down the steep stairs each time sometimes in the dark
- better command of English for the staff. Once I asked for black tea, I was served coffee
- provide sanitary bag in bathroom
- water pressure in shower very weak but perhaps it is difficult to bring water up the mountains
- was booked massage but staff forgotten about it
- manager has better command of English but hardly appeared though I was told she will each night at dinner time to arrange for next day tour
- supposed to have a mini bar stocked to my specifications but I never saw it
- staff did not offer to ask if we need to pack snacks for our excursions

Overall I am still quite happy to try it and will probably return to try other villas with larger family groups.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WanderLSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Dawn,

Thank you for your review and the feedback for improvements, as we are working continuously to improve we welcome your suggestions.

- We put small simple phones in the rooms with which you can call service staff
- We have a continuant english learning program so all staff english skills are improving
- At check in they should have explained where the minibar is, as it is in the cupboard of your room and of course the massage appointment should not have been mixed up.

Hopefully you do come back with friends and or family as I think you still wanted to visit the Jomblang Cave and some other sights in the area.

Looking forward welcoming you again,

Best regards,

Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Of course, the location is great with outstanding views over Borobudur temple and the volcanoe . Of course the villas are very nice Java style Joglo with wood carving , including shower tap, nice pieces of furniture, ...The staff is so so kind and make every effort to try and help ... Of course, the management claim they are hiring and helping locals, which is great. BUT there is a But , even several ... First you should know "as you may guess from the website", that there is no AC in the room, and it may be very hot despite the fan provided ... First night, we were not able to sleep at all... Therefore we decided to stay only 3 out if the 4 nights we originally booked (we struggled not to pay the last night after arguing with the manager... but finally we only pay the 3 nights we stay). The food is good without being exceptional. But moreover, and before all, the so kind staff is left on their own facing the guest request with difficulty to communicate. We struggled to get shower gel in our room ( no one could understand), the minibar was never refilled and we were left with no water during the night, although the staff is taking orders for the breakfast the evening before, on 2 occasions we did not get what we asked for ... The staff was coming to our room at several occasion ( laundry return,..) without caring for privacy ... The room do not have keys ( which was a bit surprising at the beginning ... But the staff struggled to explain that !)... Around the pool, no one would come to propose you a drink or si ... and you have to climb back the stairs to get something if you need ...There was a dance show one night and several guests came also to the villa to attend the show... however, for us to take the dinner, we had to sit on a table on the side of other people just sitting for a drink after the show... not very pleasant ( tables for dinner should have been set on the other areas...) Of course, these are minor things ... But when you pay more than 450 $ per night, authenticity should not turn to amateurism. The staff would need to get a lot more direction from management (as it is in any accommodation of that range) and there should be someone fully English conversant at all time to avoid these difficulties ...This would not remove any authenticity from the location ... but it would make the overall experience much more pleasant for all and at the right price for value. Finally I read a comment also stating that this location , despite being great, is lacking spirit and atmosphere ... I fully agree with that statement... But this is probably due to lack of experimented staff ... Management would probably claim it is the natural " reserve" of Javaneese!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Philippos26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Philippos26,

Thank you for your review although, regrettably, you were not happy with your stay. It is a pity you did not discuss some of these points with the manager, as he is fluent in English as well as some of the other staff members are. Indeed all our staff is from the local area and we do have an English teacher on our payroll to improve the level of english of all employees, besides English we also have staff whom can communicate in Japanese, Chinese and Malay.

Regretfully you do not mention the upgrade to your private villa after the first night. We got the impression you were both enjoying your stay in the villa after the first night. The upgrade also explains the mentioned lack of refilling of the minibar, as you changed from the suite to the villa, where all water and all other drinks are always ready available including your own coffee machine.

I am not sure what you mean by "lack of experimented staff", nevertheless the Javanese people are famous for their genuine hospitality - they will always go out of their way to make people feeling welcome and at home. It is only too bad this authenticity of the people and our concept was not appreciated.

Best regards,

Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just back from honeymoon where we travelled to Singapore, Java and Lombok, purposefully choosing the best hotels we could, none of which disappointed (so I'm writing this as one of four reviews) but Villa Borobudur really is magical.
We wanted to find that unique mix of luxury and rustic charm and wow did we find it.
We stayed in the Dioneggoro Villa. Private pool and jacuzzi, sun loungers, dragon head shower (!), as well as your own private chef and maid on hand makes you feel very special but the real impact that sets it apart is that view. It's the enduring image of an amazing honeymoon for me.

Staff were so efficient, friendly and discrete (they only come down when you bang a wooden horn on another piece of wood). Likewise the owner was there at the same time and she was a perfect balance of showing an interest and engaging with you but not imposing in the slightest. As for the food- it was delicious, varied and mainly local dishes which given the setting really makes you feel like you are experiencing the real Indonesia.

Plenty of trips to do including of course Borobudur at sunrise (well worth the 4am start) but my favourite was gentle cycle round the village. It's so off the beaten track and you visit where they make tofu and pottery. You feel privileged to see it so unspoilt by tourism.
Obviously being a bit rustic there's a few creepy crawlies but only geckos and grasshoppers really, and for the real biters you are provided with a mosquito net and sprays.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Luke,

Thank you for your great review, we do appreciate it very much that you take the time to write a "magical" review just returning form your honeymoon. It was great having you as our guests and despite or maybe because of the rain you had both, the time to relax as well as to go on several tours like Selogriyo, the cycling and the sunrise visit to Borobudur. So glad we have made part of your honeymoon so special for you!

Warm regards,

Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The staff went out of their way to make our stay special from the get-go -- we had a room upgrade (to a gorgeous villa with a private pool and panoramic views) -- they laid out a welcome message in flower petals, and had a special meal prepared for the occasion. And even a birthday cake!

(They also bake the best ginger cookies I've ever had anywhere -- we had them as snacks, thoughtfully prepared for our day trips, in case we got peckish.)

The place itself was of course stunning -- we wanted to spend as much time in our Villa as outside sightseeing. There was a minor problem with the plumbing and towels which they addressed as soon as we pointed it out to them.

It felt like we were staying with warm, generous friends rather than at a hotel! Please send them our thanks and regards if you read this and decide to go!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfpoetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Alfpoetic,

Thank you very much for your great review and the beautiful pictures you added as well. It was a pleasure having you as our guests, it is always great if our concept of authentic Java is really appreciated by our guests. Hopefully we may welcome you again some time soon and we will have your favorite cookies ready!

Warm regards,

Ingo, Noëlle and all staff of Villa Borobudur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
2.0 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
215 reviews
2.0 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
986 reviews
22.6 mi away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Magelang
449 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Borobudur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Borobudur Resort

Property: Villa Borobudur Resort
Address: Dusun Pete RT003 RW 003 | Majaksingi, Magelang, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Borobudur Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Borobudur is a luxury villa hotel in authentic Javanese style. The 6 villas offer the perfect location for a romantic getaway or a family holiday. You can book a Borobudur or Siddharta suite in the 5 bedroom Villa Borobudur or you can also opt for one of the spacious and private villa with 1, 2, 3 or 4 bedrooms. Included in the Javanese inclusive rate are, in accordance with Javanese culture and traditions of hospitality, all meals and snacks - specially prepared for you by our Javanese chefs, non alcoholic beverages, transfers to and from Yogyakarta or Solo, a Boorbudur visit when staying 2 nights or more, free wifi and laundry services. Every villa has it's own staff, chef and a large pool with sun terrace in a large jungle - garden estate. Many excursions and tours available. Experience Authentic Java - Villa Borobudur! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Borobudur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing