We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Borobudur Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I loved this place! highly recommended

Location - its on the side of a mountain, the drive up is really steep. It has views of Borobudur and on a clear day there is Mount Sumbing volcano looming up in the distance. Being 5 mins away from Borobudur helps with the sunrise tour, you can leave as late as 0430!

Service - all i can say is superb. We asked if they had a certain kind of indonesian crackers and the next day were given a container each! Staff are so helpful -although English is not their first language, they do try their very best. The level of service is comparable to the 5 star hotels that you find in Jakarta, or even better. I can not praise the staff more.

Rooms - The rooms have no AC - so it can be extremely hot if you are thinking of taking a nap in the afternoon. We found the pool was more inviting. I did not like the outdoor shower and basins as i constantly got bitten by rather large menacing mosquitoes, while in the shower. Although insect repellent was provided i was bitten at all times of the day.

A downside to this place is all the steps - not ideal for people with mobility issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Lizzie11,
Thank you for your review and great to read you enjoyed your stay so much and really appreciate the Javanese hospitality and service concept. Indeed it is wonderful to visit the Borobudur at sunrise and we put a lot of effort into the language skills of our staff. As we believe in supporting the local communities and offering our guests a truly authentic Java experience (including the jungle surroundings), all staff is local and therefor does not have English as a first language. Some however do also speak Mandarin, Japanese or Malay.
Hopefully we may welcome you again to explore more of the surroundings.
Best regards, Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    38
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
105
139
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is superb establishment set high in the hills overlooking Borobudur Temple. The villas are quite unique, centred around a four poster bed. Beautiful carved timberwork. Amazing shower room with serpent shower head. All meals and non alcoholic drinks are included. Plus laundry. Service is beyond 6 stars.
My husband and I visited for Wesak Festival and the general manager of the resort went out of his way to get all access passes for us ( I'm a photographer ) at no cost and organised a staff member to accompany us. Unbelievable !
The Villa deserves it trip advisor reputation! 6 stars!

Room Tip: All suites are lovely. But if you can't climb lots of steps ask for a lower villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Teticat,
Thank you very much for your review and rating, we have passed on your compliments to our staff with pride. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests over Waisak, as it is such a special time in the area. If you have some great pictures we would be delighted if you could send them to us. Hopefully we can welcome you again some other time.
Best regards,
Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

There is not a lot of upmarket choice around Borobudur, which is a great 2-night destination. Villa Borobudur offers packaged service including all meals and non-alcoholic drinks (food is very good). Service, like all decent Indonesian resorts, is impeccable. Rooms fit well with the local environment - room showers are great, good wifi.

Visit the Prambanan temple on leaving the Yogja airport, choose the sunrise temple tour one day and watch the sunrise from the hill-side room on the other (Best time of year for the temple views is apparently July). The early morning view is spectacular, but this is the only quiet time - sleeping was a challenge for us (and our neighbours) as there are no ceiling fans in the rooms (only portables that don't quite do the job given the humidity), music from a wedding in the valley below on the saturday continued to 2 am with the local call to prayers at 4 am, but The lap pool was great for our noisy children, fortunately there were not too many other guests at the time !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baidun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Eigenaar at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Baidun,
Thank you for your review and the compliments about the food, the impeccable service and the amenities of the hotel such as the wifi, the rooms and of course the view. I am so sorry too read your sleep was disturbed by a wedding celebration in the valley and the music kept you awake too late. And wonderful your children could make their own noise in the pool and had a great time. Hopefully we can welcome you and your family again some time soon at a more "quiet" time.
Warm regards, Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Me and my husband stayed in the Siddharta villa - it was amazing. The view was gorgeous and the villa was beautiful. We were really lucky as we had the whole complex to ourselves - it was like we had our own home in the mountains. The surroundings and view were amazing - really let's you get back in touch with nature. I can't say enough about the staff - super friendly and endlessly helpful! They made everything so easy. They organized every one of our excursions and were so flexible. We often just booked things the night before or the same afternoon - they always had a driver on standby waiting for us. Even the night we arrived, we thought it would be too late to book the sunrise Borobudur temple tour for the next morning - but despite it already being 9 pm, they said no problem and arranged everything! Besides the sunrise Borobudur temple (which was spectacular) you must also go on the jeep safari to Mt Merapi, go white water rafting, and take a walk through the rice fields - so much fun with lots of amazing views. The rafting was particularly fun! And some of the staff from the villa even joined us since we needed at least 4 people on the raft. The food was also fantastic! Really got the chance to try a whole range of local food.
One of the best places me and my husband have stayed at, and with one of the best natural surroundings and staff.

Room Tip: Get at least the Siddharta Villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLStraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Eigenaar at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear KLee,
Thank you for your wonderful review and great you truly enjoyed experiencing Central Java and Villa Borobudur. As in our concept the experience is individually shaped we really like to take our guests personal preferences in for example tours and trips and therefor we like to be flexible and anticipating for our guests. The rafting is indeed very much fun and a great way to see local live along the river and very nice you enjoyed the Merapi jeep safari as well. We will pas your compliments to the chefs as well.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope we may welcome you again some day,
Warm regards, Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

My bf and i stayed in one of their private villa 3days and we had an amazing holliday.
They pick us up and took us to the next hostel, they served 3meals a day and every meal was so clean, healthy, and tasty! (Including starter and also dessert)
They did laundry service for free and it was so clean and even ironed each piece!
The private swimming pool was so nice even though i regret it was too deep for me.

Especially the service of the staff was amazing, they even guided us when we climb the little mountain behind the villa and showed us the local village.

The entrance fee and guide for borobudur was included in the price, we were so flexible to set the schedule and they took us to borobudur with their car so we could enjoy visiting borobudur very comfortably. They always asked us our next schedule in advance and moved based on our plans.

The private villa we stayed in didnt have any wall or door on one side so the view was crazy but it was easy for the staff to come inside and i felt a lack of privacy. Their other villas might offer more privacy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaeeun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Eigenaar at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Jane K,
Thank you for your review and wonderful you enjoyed your stay with us. As commented in the reaction to your partners review about the privacy we are currently handling that. Great you appreciated the staff and the way they assisted you in getting the best out of your stay and making it into an amazing holiday.
Best regards, Ingo, Noelle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

After 3 days spent in Villa diponegoro, during which we were the only guest in the whole property, I am facing a dilemma in trying to give it an overall score.

One the one hand:

- the pick-up service and the driver were examplary. Calm, courteous, punctual, and very skillful. We felt we were in safe hands
- the staff was OUTSTANDING, taking care of every one of our many requests very professionally and with big smiles. When we raised the idea of hiking around, 2 staffs even accompanied us on top of a nearby mountain for over 2 hours showing us the various view points, all for free
- the (mostly local) food prepared by the javanese chef was truly delicious. Servings were big and respected our preferences (sent via a questionnaire a few days before our arrival). Last minute changes were always possible
- the view from the villa was breathtaking (although we were quite unlucky with the weather)
- the villa itself was very spacious (could easily accommodate a full family with kids) and absolutely gorgeous. Wooden furniture was plentiful and tasty.
- early check-in and late check-out granted

On these accounts, a definite 5-star experience.

On the other hand, I believe there is a major flaw in the rather unique concept of this property: it gives absolutely no intimacy to guests despite residing in a 'private' villa. The barrack of the staff is located right behind and is acessible by pathways on both sides of the villa. Given that the villa is fully open (no wall, window, etc. on one facade) and that the staff arrives unexpectedtly for a number of reasons (offer a drink, prepare the table for meal, remove the towels in case of rain, if they hear you struggle killing an insect, etc) it makes it very hard to feel at home and not to feel constantly spied on. I cannot blame this on the staff, as they were going the extra mile to make sure we had a memorable stay, but I would urge the management to put a small gate with a bell between the villa and the staff's building. I am apparently not the first reviewer to raise this point.

Other (minor) disagreements included:
- tv but no cable. Only dvds
- very deep swimming pool (my girlfriend cannot swim well, it's a pity she could not go pass the steps in our private private pool)
- internet requires constant relog-in (basically everytime we turned off your ipad or ipod screen)
- the complimentary massage was great for my gf, but very disappionting for me. I highly suspect that mine was perfomed by a staff member rather than a professional masseuse

Given the price paid, a small disappointment.

Overall, I encourage anyone to spend time at the villa borobudur and enjoy the great view with authentic food, although I would suggest couples travelling alone to look elsewhere until the intimacy issue is solved.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eutectique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Eigenaar at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Eutectique,
Thank you for your review and the subsequent email with more feedback on your experience during your stay with us. We are very glad to read you review the service, view, food and the villa in it self as OUTSTANDING and a definite 5 star experience. We will pass on your compliments to our staf whom are always delighted to see their work recognized.
Regarding the privacy issue you raised we are in the process of getting this organized in such a way we keep the openness of the villa, but also let guests know when staff is coming there.
Re some of the other points you raised, we will have satellite - tv during the soccer world championship, as we are high on the slopes of the Menoreh Mountains the telephone lines and cable connection do not reach us.
In order to be able to provide wifi with a reliable speed and access we need the access codes and therefor, regretfully, the needed relogins are an effect of that.
We will also infomr our guests on the website about the depth of the pools. In all pools we have made sure there is a part for children - less experienced swimmers and a deep end for experienced swimmers and guest whom like to really dive into a pool, this way we cater for all options in our pools. Once more thank you for your feedback and for staying with us.
Best regards, Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

There is unlikely to be a better place to stay at Borobudur. We were really carried away by the warmth and the hospitality of the team managing the villas. Right from our initial enquiry to the arrangements, Ms. Noelle was exceptional in looking after my specific requirements (my mother can’t walk long distances so special arrangements & guidance on the right villa for us). Right till the end of our stay, she coordinated with the ground staff to make our stay comfortable (& I owe her an apology for the delayed review).

We stayed at the Villa Diponegoro and it is just great with its own private pool and plunge pool. The view from the open balcony is serene and relaxing, both at day and night. We loved sitting there and enjoying the view, whenever we could. The day bed was great and to sleep in an open villa was a nice experience. Once in a while, we got woken up by the noise on the roof but that is just part of the experience – didn’t bother us that much.

The staff looking after us were very warm and helpful without being obtrusive. Our driver was a great guy, our trips made enjoyable by common love for music. He also went out of his way to find things that we wanted. My mother couldn’t obviously climb beyond the first flight of stairs and there was always someone at her side to give her company while my wife and I climbed up, both at Borobudur temple and at Selogriyo.

The food was great, cooked well and served according to our convenience. We even had a special dinner on our last night. There was always refreshments available and anything else we wanted was there for us to just ask.

The memories of our wonderful stay at Villa Borobudur will always be with us. We are glad we stayed there and would go back again. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashoke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Eigenaar at Villa Borobudur Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Ashoke,
Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience in Villa Borobudur and Central Java, no apology needed ;-) ! It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I will certainly pass on you wonderful feedback to our staff and chefs. The noise on the roof was most likely a gecko wondering around. We hope the wonderful memories will stay with you for a long time to come and when they do fade, please come back to refresh them, it would be very nice to welcome you again.
Warm regards, Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
2.0 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#4 of 10 in Borobudur
204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
284 reviews
2.0 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
22.6 mi away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Magelang
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Borobudur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Borobudur Resort

Property: Villa Borobudur Resort
Address: Dusun Pete RT003 RW 003 | Majaksingi, Magelang, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Borobudur Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Borobudur is a luxury villa hotel in authentic Javanese style. The 6 villas offer the perfect location for a romantic getaway or a family holiday. You can book a Borobudur or Siddharta suite in the 5 bedroom Villa Borobudur or you can also opt for one of the spacious and private villa with 1, 2, 3 or 4 bedrooms. Included in the Javanese inclusive rate are, in accordance with Javanese culture and traditions of hospitality, all meals and snacks - specially prepared for you by our Javanese chefs, non alcoholic beverages, transfers to and from Yogyakarta or Solo, a Boorbudur visit when staying 2 nights or more, free wifi and laundry services. Every villa has it's own staff, chef and a large pool with sun terrace in a large jungle - garden estate. Many excursions and tours available. Experience Authentic Java - Villa Borobudur! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Borobudur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing