We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location and beautiful villas”
Review of Villa Borobudur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Borobudur
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and beautiful villas”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here with another family of 4 over a long weekend. From our pick up at the airport to the organising of all our activities and trips the staff at the villas were excellent. Very professional, very accommodating of special requirements relating to the children and so willing to please.

The villas are beautifully presented and positioned with amazing views...the attention to detail is evident in the wood carvings, art works, bedding and bathroom facilities - just excellent!

The food was lovely every mealtime...very local so perhaps not to everyone's tastes but we enjoyed all the meals were were presented with. We did have to be very specific about what we would like prepared for the children and that did take a bit of negotiation and explanation but as I have said the staff were so willing to please and did a great job!

It is true what other reviewers have said about the prayer call, very very loud - you cannot get away from it. We did feel tired the whole time we were in Java because of it. It was a sacrifice worth making though because the memory of the prayer call and the dawn with the view of Mt Merapi will stay with me forever! As will the memory of the traditional massages in the huts with the views and the sound of all the forest animals chirpping and buzzing all night.

We loved it! Go and book it now!!

Room Tip: Steps up to the villas are very very steep, perhaps not the best for small children/toddlers so mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speaktojulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Julie, Thank you for writing such an extensive review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Although the memory of the view and the massages will stay forever with you, we do hope we can welcome you again some day as there are still more beautiful "memories" to be collected in and around the Villa. Warm regards, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    36
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
104
132
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Villa Borobudur for 3 nights this August and would have loved to have stayed longer!

Lovely small boutique hotel, we were very comfortable from airport pick up to departure. Fabulous service from staff all around.

Just one thing to mention if planning a visit. The majority of the villas require you to go up the beautiful stairs. We had no problems but if you have difficulty with stairs it might be worth mentioning when you book to ask for a villa closer to the dining area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank divergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Divergurl, Thank you for your "wonderful" review, we will pass on the compliments of fabulous service to our staff. It was very nice to have you as our guests and please do come back and stay longer! Best regards, Ingo and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Villa Borobudur in July. We arrived just at the beginning of Ramadan. First let me say that the location of the VB is stunning. Nestled in a teak forest high up on a hill that requires a four wheel drive to deliver you to this destination. The views from our room, and all other areas of the Villa, were hypnotic - gazing out across the village below to the temples and the volcanoes in the distance. The volcanoes are still active and you can see the smoke billowing out of them. We stayed in one of the five joglos in the main section of the hotel. The room was beautiful and the outdoor bathroom (complete with dragon head shower) was quite special. No aircon, no fans (there is a plug in fan available if needed), no screens on the windows. Very open and airy. I never wanted to shut the windows or doors. My only very small criticism of the room is that there is no place to just be... to read a book or hang out... except on the bed. There was a bench/daybed just outside our room but it was very narrow and the bench was bare - no cushions - so not comfortable or practical. The public areas were open and spacious and all with views. The pool setting was also beautiful even though we never actually had time to use it. Our main purpose of the visit was to see the Borobudur temple but we had hoped to see Prembanan as well. Our trip was very short and after contacting the hotel before our arrival we decided we could not work Prembanan into our itinerary due to it's location - a couple hours from the Villa. Therefore I was very impressed when our hotel driver picked us up from the airport and suggested he could take us to Prembanan now as it was just around the corner from the airport. So, because of his initiative, we were able to spend a few hours at Prembanan after all. We did a mid day tour of Borobudur with a guide, which I would highly recommend, as there is so much history to be told. After our time with the guide we were able to continue wandering around on our own for as long as we liked. We also did the sunrise tour of the temple which is not to be missed. The food at VB was excellent. I read one review where the reviewer complained about the fact that you were asked what you wanted to eat for your next meal before you had finished the meal you were eating. I found this charming, and also quite practical. It is a small place and obviously they go shopping before each meal so as not to waste anything and to ensure the freshness of your meal. Noelle, the owner, and all the staff were so friendly and accommodating. I have spent many years traveling in Asia so personally I can do without any more cultural dancing during dinner but I do understand the novelty for those who have not experienced it before. In this case I thought the dances were too loud, too long and I thought the boys were a bit disrespectful as they were giggling and being silly throughout their performance. Much has been made in other reviews about the noise and the complimentary ear plugs. Yes, there are ear plugs on your bedside table! If you are the type of traveler who likes to be cacooned in your hotel room with blackout curtains and lulled to sleep by the monotonous whir of your aircon - this is not for you. It's a jungle out there! The birds and the insects are LOUD! On top of that, as I mentioned earlier, we were there during Ramadan and all the mosques in the village below were broadcasting their prayers simultaneously, literally competing for airspace. It went on all night and I loved it as it was all part of the experience. Waking up early to see the sun rise above the village and watching as the sun set each evening - breathtaking. I don't go back to many places as there are too many more places to see but this was a special place for me and one I hope to get the chance to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memyselfandiPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear MemyselfandIpad, Thank you very much for your wonderful review, so nice you enjoyed your stay and the experience of Central Java so much. It was wonderful having you as our guests and we do hope you will be back, let me know when, so we can organize some other interesting trips and excursions for you and with enough time to enjoy and relax at the poolside! Thanks again and warm regards, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were a party of 3 families consisting of 7 adults, 2 kids, and 1 infant. I booked us a 1 night stay in late August at Villa Merapi.

I am torn about this property. Service was consistently excellent and sincere from my first email inquiry to the moment we departed the Villa. Especially Ibu Yohana was so very patient in her email back and forth with me. Price was a wonderful value for what you get. The ambiance of being up there in the mountains was pure bliss.

Here are the buts. Villa Merapi was sold as a 4bedroom villa so we naturally thought it was housed in 1 big building. I even asked for pictures. I was only told that the location of the bedrooms were not that close. Our jaws dropped when we arrived at the location to learn that it was 4 separate villas spread out over hilly pathways. Not only that, each villa was a duplex with the bathroom located down a steep staircase. In our case, we had my inlaws who were around 65 years old as well as a crawling infant and a 4 year old. So this meandering hilly pathways and steep staircase came as a bad surprise when we first arrived.

We could see neighboring Amanjiwo from the pool at Villa Merapi. The slide at the pool is quite dangerous as the distance between the end of the slide and the wall of the pool is not far enough. The Javanese doors to the room look nice but were quite difficult to keep close...we ended up sliding a spoon on our door handles so that it would stay close (don't want mosquitoes to come in).

We were shuttled to the main complex 3 minutes away for a pre-dinner show. The show consisted of 2 dances. The first one was absolutely too loud while the second one was very enjoyable. During this visit, my impression was that the finishes on the main complex felt slightly more high end and decorative. Villa Merapi felt more like a jungle camp.

WIFI connection was free and good but we were sorely missing some sort of board games to while away the night. Food was plentiful, but for my taste was just so so. Service was uniformly excellent and gentle and is the best aspect of the stay.

Overall, we had a very relaxing time in this villa, but wish we were clearly informed about the 4 villa situation.

Room Tip: I'd pick main villa, not Villa Merapi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigletthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Pigletthepug, Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay in Villa Merapi. We are delighted to read you regarded our service as excellent and are happy with the suggestions you made. Villa Merapi has, besides the amazing views to the Merapi and the valley, indeed another lay out, soon it will be more clear on our website as well. Villa Merapi is ideal for families with children over 6 years old or a group of friends, whom want to enjoy the privacy of a private villa with our normal standard of services but at a lower rate than in the other villas. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon in one of the other villas? Best regards, Ingo and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Villa Borobudur is an exceptional hotel on many fronts:
- Rooms are beautifully designed in wood in an Indonesian style, very clean with nice outdoor bathrooms
- Location provides a beautiful view on the valley and on Borbudur temple
- Dining area, swimming pool and living room give the impression to be at home
- Service is discreet and efficient
- Activities are organised based on client's request
We've stayed in 4 different hotels in Indonesia and Villa Borobudur was clearly the best value for money.
I recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Francois, Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted you liked your stay with us so much. It was very nice to have you as our guests and to see how you enjoyed your visits to the Borobudur and Yogyakarta. Hopefully we can welcome you and your family again. Best regards, Ingo and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very unique experience - in a brilliant way!

Villa - Diponegoro villas have private pools with breathtaking views overlooking the valley including the Borobudur temple in the distance as well as the volcano mountains. Villas incorporate local wooden architecture which has a rustic appeal. There are no fans or air conditioning - but even in the peak summer when we went the weather was pleasant and there was no need for either! You are literally in the middle of a forest, at night the sound of insects gets so loud the villa provides ear plugs to cope! We used insect repellant but still got bitten plenty, but this is all part of the experience! All food and non-alcoholic beverages are complimentary but their wine list was a bit limited so for the next trip we plan to bring our own wines.

Service - Each villa has your own personal wait staff who take care of all your needs. There is no phone in the villa, you call them by hitting a small wooden gong! We had an early morning Borobudur sunrise tour and they prepared a small picnic for us to take along which was very thoughtful. All meals are included and after every meal they ask for the next meal's menu - you can choose from a selection of local dishes but they are happy to accommodate if they can any off-menu requests you may have. Always smiling and helpful, nothing was ever too much trouble.

They noticed from our passport that one of us was celebrating our birthday during the trip and surprised us with a flower decoration, special dinner and a cake! It was really amazing!

Downsides: 1. While the villa aims at rustic luxury, it lacks that luxurious touch you feel in Banyan Tree or Aman properties. Towels are not that great, shower isn't that great neither are the pillows. These things didn't bother us very much but are easy to fix and would take the property to a different level. 2. Not all the staff speaks proper English which can be a bit frustrating sometimes. We were supposed to visit the Prambanan temple and only discovered after reaching there that it was past the visiting hours! They were kind enough to reimburse us for the tour but misunderstandings like this should not happen on your holidays.

All told, this was a stupendous holiday and in large part it was due to the brilliant service and lovely villa. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you want more direct views of Borobudur temple, choose Villa Borobudur. If you want a private poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear HabsJ, Thank you very much for your review as well as the feedback with suggestions for some improvements. We will surely follow up on those. As mentioned before in our mail, we hope you will visit us again and we will make sure you have a wonderful visit to the Prambanan as well.
Looking forward welcoming you again, best regards, Ingo & Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

we had just two nights at the villa. selection was made based on other reviews. the villa is definitely not the usual large luxury asian style hotel...a la Shangri la etc. however, the villa provides you with a real Javanese experience. the villas are well appointed with stunning wood work. lunches and dinners are classic javanese ....basic but tasty and 100% local....no club sandwiches / burgers here!!!

Staff utterly super. polite, helpful and always happy.

temple visit was included as were our transfers to / from Solo. the temple is quite simply beautiful. particularly at day break. the drive from Solo is a long one but the driver stopped for photo ops whenever asked and pointed out lots of interesting stuff. possibly the most picturesque car journey i have done in Asia.

finally the staff organised an impromptu afternoon out for us. we watched local pigeon racing...sounds dull but was actually rather exciting, pottery and art galleries.

In all a magical experience for a short break. do not expect lavish.....but you will be pleasantly surprised.

oh and btw...views to die for!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfulli007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear JFulli007, Thank you for your review and great to read you enjoyed our concept of getting to experience Central Javanese hospitality and culture. With our small authentic and traditional Javanese setting we aim for a different "unique" experience, indeed not as in the "standard" large deluxe hotels. Hopefully we can welcome you again so you can experience more of the activities in the area and of course also to enjoy more of the very beautiful view. Best regards Ingo and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
2.0 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#4 of 10 in Borobudur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Magelang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
12.6 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Borobudur

Property: Villa Borobudur
Address: Dusun Pete RT003 RW 003 | Majaksingi, Magelang, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Borobudur 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Borobudur is a luxury villa hotel in authentic Javanese style. The 6 villas offer the perfect location for a romantic getaway or a family holiday. You can book a Borobudur or Siddharta suite in the 5 bedroom Villa Borobudur or you can also opt for one of the spacious and private villa with 1, 2, 3 or 4 bedrooms. Included in the Javanese inclusive rate are, in accordance with Javanese culture and traditions of hospitality, all meals and snacks - specially prepared for you by our Javanese chefs, non alcoholic beverages, transfers to and from Yogyakarta or Solo, a Boorbudur visit when staying 2 nights or more, free wifi and laundry services. Every villa has it's own staff, chef and a large pool with sun terrace in a large jungle - garden estate. Many excursions and tours available. Experience Authentic Java - Villa Borobudur! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing