We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good villas, excellent service, *almost* perfect!”
Review of Villa Borobudur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Borobudur
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good villas, excellent service, *almost* perfect!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very unique experience - in a brilliant way!

Villa - Diponegoro villas have private pools with breathtaking views overlooking the valley including the Borobudur temple in the distance as well as the volcano mountains. Villas incorporate local wooden architecture which has a rustic appeal. There are no fans or air conditioning - but even in the peak summer when we went the weather was pleasant and there was no need for either! You are literally in the middle of a forest, at night the sound of insects gets so loud the villa provides ear plugs to cope! We used insect repellant but still got bitten plenty, but this is all part of the experience! All food and non-alcoholic beverages are complimentary but their wine list was a bit limited so for the next trip we plan to bring our own wines.

Service - Each villa has your own personal wait staff who take care of all your needs. There is no phone in the villa, you call them by hitting a small wooden gong! We had an early morning Borobudur sunrise tour and they prepared a small picnic for us to take along which was very thoughtful. All meals are included and after every meal they ask for the next meal's menu - you can choose from a selection of local dishes but they are happy to accommodate if they can any off-menu requests you may have. Always smiling and helpful, nothing was ever too much trouble.

They noticed from our passport that one of us was celebrating our birthday during the trip and surprised us with a flower decoration, special dinner and a cake! It was really amazing!

Downsides: 1. While the villa aims at rustic luxury, it lacks that luxurious touch you feel in Banyan Tree or Aman properties. Towels are not that great, shower isn't that great neither are the pillows. These things didn't bother us very much but are easy to fix and would take the property to a different level. 2. Not all the staff speaks proper English which can be a bit frustrating sometimes. We were supposed to visit the Prambanan temple and only discovered after reaching there that it was past the visiting hours! They were kind enough to reimburse us for the tour but misunderstandings like this should not happen on your holidays.

All told, this was a stupendous holiday and in large part it was due to the brilliant service and lovely villa. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you want more direct views of Borobudur temple, choose Villa Borobudur. If you want a private poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear HabsJ, Thank you very much for your review as well as the feedback with suggestions for some improvements. We will surely follow up on those. As mentioned before in our mail, we hope you will visit us again and we will make sure you have a wonderful visit to the Prambanan as well.
Looking forward welcoming you again, best regards, Ingo & Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    38
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
104
137
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

we had just two nights at the villa. selection was made based on other reviews. the villa is definitely not the usual large luxury asian style hotel...a la Shangri la etc. however, the villa provides you with a real Javanese experience. the villas are well appointed with stunning wood work. lunches and dinners are classic javanese ....basic but tasty and 100% local....no club sandwiches / burgers here!!!

Staff utterly super. polite, helpful and always happy.

temple visit was included as were our transfers to / from Solo. the temple is quite simply beautiful. particularly at day break. the drive from Solo is a long one but the driver stopped for photo ops whenever asked and pointed out lots of interesting stuff. possibly the most picturesque car journey i have done in Asia.

finally the staff organised an impromptu afternoon out for us. we watched local pigeon racing...sounds dull but was actually rather exciting, pottery and art galleries.

In all a magical experience for a short break. do not expect lavish.....but you will be pleasantly surprised.

oh and btw...views to die for!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfulli007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear JFulli007, Thank you for your review and great to read you enjoyed our concept of getting to experience Central Javanese hospitality and culture. With our small authentic and traditional Javanese setting we aim for a different "unique" experience, indeed not as in the "standard" large deluxe hotels. Hopefully we can welcome you again so you can experience more of the activities in the area and of course also to enjoy more of the very beautiful view. Best regards Ingo and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Incredible staff, great food and you are pampered at every step. It's an amazing location that incorporates traditional Indonesian architecture. The staff greet you with a smile and there is no detail left unattended. There is even bug repellent in each room! We had massages, enjoyed the pool with a mountainside view, had a private yoga lesson for 5 and a private tour of borobudur. We were picked up at the airport and even offered a tour of Prambanan since it is only 15 minutes away from the airport. The drivers then waited for us to finish our tour before going to the hotel. There was even a dance show during one of the evenings.

The outdoor shower with a dragon shower head was pretty cool. You're surrounded by nature at all times, but still have the amenities of first rate accommodations. The GM came to greet us at the end of our stay to assure that we were satisfied with our stay. The staff provided breakfast boxes for our early wake-ups and snacks and drinks were readily available.

You will not regret your stay and it's well worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmb243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Vmb243, Thank you for your review and we are very happy you want to share your experiences with other travelers. Wonderful you got to do so much in just a few days and enjoyed the surroundings as well as getting some relaxing time. We would love to welcome you again with your friends and or family. Best regards, Ingo & all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We (family with 3 girls: 13 months, 9 and 11 years old) started our summer holidays here! After a long trip from the Netherlands there was a great welcome by the staff in the diponegoro villa! The villa has marvellous views over the valley (including Borobudur) and the vulcano's (e.g. sumbeng, merapi). Sunrises and sunsets were great from the terrace of the villa (with private swimming pool, from where you also have stunning views over the valley as well). We stayed 5 nights, did daily trips (all well organised by villa Borobudur) and made some very nice walking trips from the villa trough the fields around the Borobudur! Food (great indonesian dishes) was served in the villa. When we made a trip with the older girls the staff looked after our baby (she liked that very much....).
Overall we had superb stay with our family and we can highly recommend a stay at this place!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jaapjanboelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Jaap Jan, Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests. Very nice you had the time to not just visit Borobudur but also really experience some more of the Central Javanese sights including the Merapi Jeep safari. Best regards, Ingo & all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was a totally different kind of experience. Firstly, being a relatively small resort, you'd feel very well taken care of, from the point of getting picked up at the airport, with the thoughtful cold towels and drinking water, all the way till departure. Going to the villa, felt like being transported into another world (partly because it is so secluded, and it is high up on the hills)

Everything is done with the extra touch that makes you feel that every possible concern of yours is well looked into. In the rare moment when something might not be up to expectation, measures are being taken to make things even better.

The villas are very clean, spacious and well maintained. It is modern, yet primitive at the same time (there is no TV and no phone in the room). The facilities and amenities in the room were adequate. My only grouse was that i kept getting kicked out of the wireless connection whenever i stayed off the internet connection for a short while. And that it can get really quiet and dark at night (a little too quiet sometimes).

The food is nothing short of fantastic. Because of it's location, it is not feasible to go look for food outside (imagine a trek down the mountain in the dark). The food is always prepared fresh and hot. There was a good variety, and there are always surprises. They were also very generous in sharing their recipes, and sharing with us about the finer points of preparing the food. Food is also always available whenever you need something to eat/drink.

Despite it being secluded, there will not be a shortage of activities, with transport readily available from villa, you can expect to be easily transported down the mountain for things like cycling, trekking, visiting Borobudur temple, and simply for a walk in the nearby town.

I can go on and on about the place, but on a whole, it has been a really wonderful holiday, to be away from the usual way of life, and being treated like a family guest with lots of care. The staff really pay attention to your needs and were very appreciative of feedback, and they really put in a lot of effort to help with the celebration of special occasions.

looking forward to visit villa borobudur again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seow T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Seow, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We will certainly pass the compliments to our chefs and service staff. It was very nice having you as our guests as it is always nice to see our guest enjoy and appreciate their Javanese experience. Hopefully we can welcome you again some day soon. Best regards Ingo & all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had an amazing stay here, the staff could not do enough for you. The food was all indonesian and so good and fresh - one would never starve here. There is so much to do in this region. The staff are all clearly very proud of the villa and the area and cannot do enough to ensure you enjoy it and make the most of your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassijac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Cassijac, Thank you for your review and we already look forward to your next visit! It was great having you and next time we will get you some more tips and trics of the Javanese/Indonesian cuisine. Best regards, Ingo, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After our absolute fantastic stay at Villa Borobudur two years ago we decided to return this year. By now they have finished more villas at this wonderful villa hotel. All villas are completely secluded and have their own facilities and staff. Although this is a hotel you just experience your stay at a private villa as Villa Merapi can only be booked exclusively as a villa (In another villa you can also book single rooms). Villa Merapi consists of 5 separate bungalows. One bungalow is the living area and the other four bungalows are the bedroom bungalows, all of which have a sleeping area with a terrace and a bathroom downstairs. The view is absolutely spectacular. On clear days you can see the volcanoes, and a good view on the Borobudur is part of the package from this villa hotel. Villa Merapi is the ideal location for a family or a group of friends. Although keep in mind, that the bedrooms are separated so very young children don't sleep very near by their parents if in a different room. But the hotel staff is always willing to place an extra bed for a child in your bedroom on request. We have stayed at the villa with four children aged 5-11 years old. And the children just loved it! The private pool has a waterside and the children spent hours of fun in and around the pool. As for the activities, two years ago we already visited the borobudur, which of course is a must-see. We also did the horse-carriage tour through lovely, small villages, where the children could also do pottery with local people. This time we chose for a more active program: rafting and a jeep safari around the Merapi volcano. I would strongly recommend both activities! Both are a combination of wonderful nature and some adrenaline. The jeep safari also shows the nightmare of the volcano eruption some years ago, still very visible in the surroundings.

The service at Villa Borobudur deserves a section itself. The service level of the staff is extremely high and they all try to adjust everything to your personal needs. In advance they already ask for your favorite drinks and special wishes. I have stayed in very good hotels, but a personalized service like this I have rarely experienced.

As this hotel is an absolute gem, it deserves a second review from my side, especially because we have stayed at a different villa this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nynke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noëlle H, Owner at Villa Borobudur, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear DutchMom and family,
Thank you very much for your review and so wonderful you came to stay with us again. It was wonderful to see how much the children enjoyed their stay again, this time in Villa Merapi, as well as the trips you did. We will certainly pass on the compliments regarding the service to our staff. And as you did not visit the beautiful Selogriyo and you wanted to go hiking as well, we do hope we can welcome you again in another summer holiday. Warm regards from all of us to you ad the children, Noëlle and all Villa Borobudur staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borobudur
2.0 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#4 of 10 in Borobudur
196 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
281 reviews
22.6 mi away
MesaStila Resort and Spa
MesaStila Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Magelang
438 reviews
2.0 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Borobudur

Property: Villa Borobudur
Address: Dusun Pete RT003 RW 003 | Majaksingi, Magelang, Borobudur, Magelang 56553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Borobudur 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Borobudur is a luxury villa hotel in authentic Javanese style. The 6 villas offer the perfect location for a romantic getaway or a family holiday. You can book a Borobudur or Siddharta suite in the 5 bedroom Villa Borobudur or you can also opt for one of the spacious and private villa with 1, 2, 3 or 4 bedrooms. Included in the Javanese inclusive rate are, in accordance with Javanese culture and traditions of hospitality, all meals and snacks - specially prepared for you by our Javanese chefs, non alcoholic beverages, transfers to and from Yogyakarta or Solo, a Boorbudur visit when staying 2 nights or more, free wifi and laundry services. Every villa has it's own staff, chef and a large pool with sun terrace in a large jungle - garden estate. Many excursions and tours available. Experience Authentic Java - Villa Borobudur! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Villa Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing